Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: serbaelish

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Search: Search took 0.01 seconds.

  1. Replies
    5
    Views
    354

    I’ve been using the Tarot sleeves by Fantasy...

    I’ve been using the Tarot sleeves by Fantasy Flight, and they’ve been just fine. About $7 for 50 sleeves, should you be Amazon-enabled.
  2. Replies
    6
    Views
    363

    This forum is monitored, but there's no set...

    This forum is monitored, but there's no set schedule for replies.
  3. Replies
    1
    Views
    155

    If you’re on the Facebooks, there’s a regional...

    If you’re on the Facebooks, there’s a regional group you might be interested in: https://www.facebook.com/groups/2008499396146835/.
  4. Replies
    4
    Views
    482

    I’d tend to agree. Jeor’s influence doesn’t go...

    I’d tend to agree. Jeor’s influence doesn’t go away because of WiC, and it states that his unit can’t be affected by tactics cards.

    So he should be able to use orders the turn WiC is active.
  5. Replies
    5
    Views
    656

    From some of the early chatter, Free Folk players...

    From some of the early chatter, Free Folk players seem very happy.

    Am judging a tourney next week, so will be curious to see if there’s any faction shift.
  6. Replies
    5
    Views
    656

    1.5.1 Updates are Live

    The FAQs for the 1.5.1 have been uploaded to the site: https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs.

    There’s also a file just of updated cards, should you want to have them all in one place.
  7. Replies
    9
    Views
    602

    Just so. The FAQ is worded in that fashion (imho)...

    Just so. The FAQ is worded in that fashion (imho) so that it is not seen as an exception to the stacking restriction.
  8. Replies
    9
    Views
    602

    At the risk of being “that guy,” the effect is...

    At the risk of being “that guy,” the effect is not stackable. It’s the same effect, but coming from separate units.

    Ability stacking is still verboten.
  9. Thread: moving and

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    7
    Views
    439

    It is, but if you are undertaking any part of...

    It is, but if you are undertaking any part of that move while on impassible terrain other than the pivot you would be moving through it, which is not allowed.
  10. Replies
    3
    Views
    429

    No. Once you have returned the card to your hand,...

    No. Once you have returned the card to your hand, the trigger window will have passed. .
  11. Thread: moving and

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    7
    Views
    439

    Actually, while you can pivot over impassible...

    Actually, while you can pivot over impassible terrain, you have to be off the terrain when the pivot is finished.

    So both the illustrations you've posted above would indeed be illegal. Your only...
  12. Excellent! Settled. And my next army list is...

    Excellent! Settled.

    And my next army list is going to be called “Bonkers Powerful.”
  13. I’ve not seen the issue come up during play, to...

    I’ve not seen the issue come up during play, to be honest, so either NW players are already assuming they need to shuffle, or are settling the matter with their opponents.

    I tend to lean toward...
  14. Replies
    7
    Views
    404

    Oh yeah, of course. But I was speaking to your...

    Oh yeah, of course. But I was speaking to your question: if you have the Shields card attached and play a second one from your hand. Should be the same window to trigger the existing vow and the new...
  15. Replies
    7
    Views
    404

    Believe this falls under Simultaneous Actions, so...

    Believe this falls under Simultaneous Actions, so both the tactic card and the vow would resolve on the same trigger. So you should be able to block d3 twice.
  16. First, one can’t be “too literal.” It’s a binary...

    First, one can’t be “too literal.” It’s a binary state: you either are or aren’t. :wink:

    But to your point, if there are no other examples of cards that search through the deck and either do not...
  17. Replies
    19
    Views
    1,481

    To tack on to that, once the unit has shifted,...

    To tack on to that, once the unit has shifted, you have moved past the “declare” stage in terms of timing.
  18. Replies
    7
    Views
    549

    I believe Michael mentioned in one of his recent...

    I believe Michael mentioned in one of his recent podcasts that they're exploring releasing updated card packs, but don't recall any firm commitments in that regard.
  19. Replies
    19
    Views
    1,481

    I believe there are some players who fall into...

    I believe there are some players who fall into the "rules lawyer" category who won't bow to the consensus of popular opinion because they don't have the imprimatur of the high court (CMON, in this...
  20. Thread: Scorpions

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    5
    Views
    406

    Wow. :worship:

    Wow. :worship:
  21. Replies
    14
    Views
    584

    Yeah, as Fronx noted, the 1.5 update clarified...

    Yeah, as Fronx noted, the 1.5 update clarified that anything other than the range of a weapon is not considered an innate ability and can be shut off. However, that doesn't mean it can't be fired.
    ...
  22. I've been using the tabletop.to site for...

    I've been using the tabletop.to site for tournament tracking. They're not affiliated, but it's a pretty good alternative until something official gets incorporated.
  23. Assuming you already saw this, but the last...

    Assuming you already saw this, but the last update included the Stormcrows.

    But you've probably already finished painting them... :wink:
  24. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,004

    I'm guessing GWitheUltimate is looking for...

    I'm guessing GWitheUltimate is looking for "official." I'd cast a "Summon Michael" spell, but I'm lacking some of the components.
  25. Replies
    8
    Views
    733

    Even absent a FAQ, I'd be willing to take his...

    Even absent a FAQ, I'd be willing to take his statement as a ruling. :wink:
  26. Replies
    9
    Views
    595

    While not always a perfect solution, I do try to...

    While not always a perfect solution, I do try to find illustrative examples that might help explain a rule.

    For example, rolling attack dice could be equated to shooting your bow, thrusting with...
  27. This is addressed in the Neutral 1.5 FAQ Change...

    This is addressed in the Neutral 1.5 FAQ Change Log:



    So he can either shut off the zone the NCU claims, and not shut off a zone-replacement ability, or he can shut off the ability, but not...
  28. Replies
    27
    Views
    1,340

    Okay, so the interaction there is that Brynden's...

    Okay, so the interaction there is that Brynden's commander card confers the Affiliation, which is only going to be useful since Tully Valor is specific to his tactics.

    In theory, if Tully...
  29. Replies
    27
    Views
    1,340

    Yeah, strike that--reverse it. Specifically,...

    Yeah, strike that--reverse it. Specifically, Tully Valor references a House Tully unit, but I didn't see any abilities that confer that Affiliation to a unit. Which means that it must be innate.
    ...
  30. Replies
    27
    Views
    1,340

    Nope. Unless an attachment or ability grants a...

    Nope. Unless an attachment or ability grants a unit an Affiliation, they do not have one natively.

    Note that this is different from a unit's faction, which is innate and can't (currently) be...
  31. Replies
    9
    Views
    638

    The Lannister 1.5 FAQ has been updated. Tywin is...

    The Lannister 1.5 FAQ has been updated. Tywin is back in.
  32. Well, painted sets generally go for more, so...

    Well, painted sets generally go for more, so...
  33. Replies
    9
    Views
    638

    There would have been a note on that if there had...

    There would have been a note on that if there had been a reversion--1.4 Tywin is still in force.
  34. Although I think there are scattered pockets...

    Although I think there are scattered pockets where they're available, believe those units are still considered as not being released in retail. The Asmodee US store has them listed as being on...
  35. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,004

    I'd say so. Nothing on the cards suggests that...

    I'd say so. Nothing on the cards suggests that one part is conditional on the other.
  36. Replies
    1
    Views
    251

    Yes--that's covered in the Stark FAQ: "It is...

    Yes--that's covered in the Stark FAQ:

    "It is very important to note, however, that Valuable Captive only triggers when the unit is destroyed. If Rickon is killed beforehand, the Ability will be...
  37. Replies
    6
    Views
    515

    Michael addressed this in a thread a bit over a...

    Michael addressed this in a thread a bit over a year ago [http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?66890-Terrain-Questions!!-)]. Relevant bit quoted below (emphasis added):



    So if you...
  38. I agree that there's nothing explicit for when...

    I agree that there's nothing explicit for when that check is made, but I think it's more of a stretch to state that the ability works in a way that's substantially different than other attack...
  39. The rulebook states that "Panic Tests usually...

    The rulebook states that "Panic Tests usually occur after a unit is attacked...".

    Further, there is nothing on Mandon's card that indicates that Vicious would be added at any time other than when...
  40. The former. Will of the One True King (and other...

    The former. Will of the One True King (and other zone replacement cards, for that matter) isn't changing the innate nature of the zone, just the effect that occurs when it was claimed.
  41. I concur with this--you're checking ranks at the...

    I concur with this--you're checking ranks at the time the attack occurs only. You can't retroactively gain Vicious after the attack has occurred.
  42. Replies
    26
    Views
    6,034

    Note that the FAQ docs contain updated versions...

    Note that the FAQ docs contain updated versions of the cards that have been modified. So you can always print those out--of course, you're probably going to want to sleeve those cards.
  43. Replies
    8
    Views
    540

    CMON just posted an article on 1.5 revisions...

    CMON just posted an article on 1.5 revisions that's very relevant to this thread: https://www.cmon.com/news/visions-in-the-flames-abilities-and-adjustments-in-update-1-5.

    The money quote is...
  44. Replies
    8
    Views
    540

    Again, Tactics cards have an effect, as defined...

    Again, Tactics cards have an effect, as defined on page 23. Specifically, "Each Tactics card lists its specific effect." The title of the Tactic card is just that--it's title. It really should not be...
  45. Replies
    8
    Views
    540

    Effects from tactics cards are not considered...

    Effects from tactics cards are not considered abilities in and of themselves; however, they may include an effect that grants an ability. Per the rules (pg. 10), "each Ability is unique and lists its...
  46. Replies
    17
    Views
    3,966

    And perhaps a "Rainbow Guard" version of Brienne?

    And perhaps a "Rainbow Guard" version of Brienne?
  47. Replies
    1
    Views
    283

    I'd lean toward no. If being dealt d3 wounds...

    I'd lean toward no. If being dealt d3 wounds after every melee attack was not dependent on controlling the objective, I believe it would have been noted first (much like the objective that grants an...
  48. Replies
    3
    Views
    779

    I think if you include the Bolton Flayer in the...

    I think if you include the Bolton Flayer in the unit (restore up to 2 wounds per failed panic), the utility of Horrific Visage is upped a bit.
  49. Replies
    6
    Views
    677

    Yeah, I was conflating the two as well. In...

    Yeah, I was conflating the two as well.

    In any case, the hive mind came down on the side of the point you made previously, Dean. Controlling player gets to resolve the two parts of Rain in a...
  50. Replies
    6
    Views
    677

    Interesting question. I don’t know if the two...

    Interesting question. I don’t know if the two parts of the card are considered separate effects or a single effect with multiple parts. Simultaneous Actions would only apply in the former case.
    ...
  51. Replies
    6
    Views
    677

    For reference, the card states "Once per game, at...

    For reference, the card states "Once per game, at the start of any turn, choose 1 enemy Combat Unit:

    "That unit becomes Panicked, Vulnerable, Weakened, and it any any Attachments on it lose all...
  52. Replies
    6
    Views
    702

    True, but the trigger of claiming the zone is. I...

    True, but the trigger of claiming the zone is. I very helpfully didn't include resolving the zone effects in my listing. Believe that should be between 3 and 4, as the rules state they resolve...
  53. Replies
    6
    Views
    702

    Both are triggering as a result of the zone being...

    Both are triggering as a result of the zone being claimed, so it'd fall under simultaneous actions and active player should resolve first.
  54. Replies
    2
    Views
    520

    No mention of it in the FAQ, so assume it's...

    No mention of it in the FAQ, so assume it's intentional.
  55. Replies
    6
    Views
    702

    That's how I'd tend to view it. So, for example:...

    That's how I'd tend to view it. So, for example:

    1. Cersei activates
    2. Wildling Diplomacy played.
    3. Cersei takes zone targeted by WD
    4. Cersei attaches Influence to unit
    5. WD deals damage...
  56. 1. That's a good catch on deployment--first time...

    1. That's a good catch on deployment--first time I'd seen it at least. Comparing the size of the zone with Winds of Winter, it's almost certainly supposed to be Long range.

    2. Units can activate...
  57. Replies
    0
    Views
    571

    Game Modes & Tournament Guidelines

    For those of you who didn't see the post on Facebook (or who don't do the Facebook), CMON has updated both the Game Modes & Tournament Guidelines documents. Don't believe they've hit the War Council...
  58. Replies
    1
    Views
    951

    Hey, just a general note: even though these...

    Hey, just a general note: even though these questions are about a FF unit, you may get a quicker answer if you post similar kinds of questions in the Rules sub-forum. Can't speak for all the...
  59. Replies
    4
    Views
    416

    Pg. 9 of the rulebook defines both the four...

    Pg. 9 of the rulebook defines both the four different Combat Units (Infantry, Cavalry, Monster, War Machine), and also includes this bullet point (emphasis mine):

    "In addition to the 2 trays...
  60. Replies
    8
    Views
    659

    Okay, checking to see if a Tactic card can be...

    Okay, checking to see if a Tactic card can be played based on its trigger condition is not "inventing rules that don't exist." It is, in fact, the initial rule by which you determine whether the card...
  61. Replies
    8
    Views
    659

    f Hey, welcome back Alliser! Understand...

    f

    Hey, welcome back Alliser!

    Understand what you're saying, but I gotta disagree. Including ranks as part of the trigger wording should automatically disqualify units that don't have them.
    ...
  62. Replies
    8
    Views
    659

    Ser Shinall noted this in a discussion about...

    Ser Shinall noted this in a discussion about Northern Ferocity, which I think is applicable here:

    "Rulebook, Pg. 9
    Ranks: While the individual models on a tray represent the unit’s overall...
  63. Replies
    5
    Views
    676

    In my opinion, you can't suffer more wounds than...

    In my opinion, you can't suffer more wounds than you have models left in the unit, so in this case your Final Strike would be limited to 12. In mechanical terms, any result after the one that...
  64. As far as I can tell, they stack. Critical Blow...

    As far as I can tell, they stack. Critical Blow generates two hits for each 6, and Precision Enhancement notes that hits from rolls of 6 don't permit defense saves. So yeah, each roll of 6 for that...
  65. Replies
    6
    Views
    563

    I'd agree. Resolving the check is part of the...

    I'd agree. Resolving the check is part of the action, so Fealty couldn't be played.
  66. Replies
    9
    Views
    633

    I'd be inclined to view it as any other ability...

    I'd be inclined to view it as any other ability that generates a token (Panicked, Weakened, etc.), so two separate things. I think that the explanatory text is there because this unit is the only one...
  67. Replies
    9
    Views
    633

    This is arguable, actually. Since the ability is...

    This is arguable, actually. Since the ability is the generation of the token, not the effect of that token.
  68. Replies
    9
    Views
    633

    RAW, no matter how many tokens the player...

    RAW, no matter how many tokens the player expends, the bonus is only applied once. There is nothing explicitly stated on the card that the bonus can be applied multiple times, or is cumulative.
  69. Thread: Lord Varys

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    3
    Views
    340

    Since Varys's card states "cancel the effect of...

    Since Varys's card states "cancel the effect of the claimed zone," NCUs such as Lady Val, Craster, and Ser Baelish are--as I believe was noted in Discord--hard countered. Don't believe it's a...
  70. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,497

    Ah, this would make it equivalent to the Panic...

    Ah, this would make it equivalent to the Panic Check test--still exists, even without a roll.

    Shoulda known that. Would flaying the pinky be an acceptable punishment?
  71. Replies
    6
    Views
    652

    Michael is referring to an infantry unit in his...

    Michael is referring to an infantry unit in his response, so the two situations are not quite the same.

    The actions are also not simultaneous, as the ability to take a free Maneuver action is...
  72. Replies
    8
    Views
    677

    Yes. In the image you posted, A already has line...

    Yes. In the image you posted, A already has line of sight, so would not have to maneuver around those friendly units in order to charge--you'd adjust alignment for A & B after making contact so that...
  73. Replies
    8
    Views
    677

    Yes, because you can move through both C & D,...

    Yes, because you can move through both C & D, make contact with B, then shift both A & B so that they're engaged and A is not overlapping with D.

    But Fronx brings up a good point--that will work...
  74. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,497

    Oh! Yup, that follows.

    Oh! Yup, that follows.
  75. Replies
    14
    Views
    1,071

    Yes, but this is in the case of Cunning Ploy,...

    Yes, but this is in the case of Cunning Ploy, which you are only resolving before any actions are taken because undertaking any other action would negate it. And since this is something you're...
  76. Replies
    14
    Views
    1,071

    Sorry, the forum crapped out right after I made...

    Sorry, the forum crapped out right after I made my last post in this thread, so I didn't get a chance to edit it.

    I think we're in agreement. The order of operations would be:

    1) Cavalry...
  77. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,497

    Partially. Only rolls of 6 do not allow saves. So...

    Partially. Only rolls of 6 do not allow saves. So if the attacker has scored a hit on a roll other than a 6, I Am the King! can be played.
  78. Replies
    8
    Views
    677

    With D gone, yes, it's possible that A would be...

    With D gone, yes, it's possible that A would be able to pivot and then charge into B (assuming, of course, that A rolls high enough).

    With both C & D present, no. After the pivot there's no...
  79. Replies
    14
    Views
    1,071

    Going to agree with Fronx here. The wording of...

    Going to agree with Fronx here. The wording of the Order doesn't give any clear indication that it takes precedence over the cavalry's activation, so this reads pretty cut-and-dried simultaneous...
  80. Replies
    5
    Views
    515

    Nope, I got it. :wink: You may pivot over an...

    Nope, I got it. :wink:

    You may pivot over an enemy unit during a charge, as long as they are not overlapping that enemy's tray at the end of the pivot.

    But in the scenario you described, you...
  81. Replies
    5
    Views
    515

    If the enemy unit that is "right in front" of the...

    If the enemy unit that is "right in front" of the unit that wants to charge is blocking that unit's Line of Sight, then no. They cannot charge.

    LoS is the first thing you check to see if a charge...
  82. Replies
    3
    Views
    449

    I'd open a ticket with CMON support:...

    I'd open a ticket with CMON support: https://support.cmon.com.

    Not certain if Asmodee is handling that end, but in case you're referred there: https://parts.asmodeena.com/. Note that this is the...
  83. Thread: Surge Forth

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    6
    Views
    612

    FAQs haven't, in the past, had scheduled release...

    FAQs haven't, in the past, had scheduled release dates. We're assuming that one is coming because Michael has noted that certain issues will be addressed in a FAQ. They might want to have the...
  84. Wow--great stuff!

    Wow--great stuff!
  85. Thread: Surge Forth

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    6
    Views
    612

    It is known.

    It is known.
  86. Replies
    5
    Views
    1,368

    That text is in brackets and uses the generic...

    That text is in brackets and uses the generic phrase "game effect" because it can apply to both other skills (Sniper) and actions (Search).

    But it's a skill. It's described in the skills section...
  87. Replies
    5
    Views
    1,368

    Where are you getting that BIA is an effect? It's...

    Where are you getting that BIA is an effect? It's in the skill list of the card--so it's a skill. Now, it has an impact on a game effect, but it isn't an effect.

    So, a literal interpretation of...
  88. Replies
    5
    Views
    1,368

    The skill description in the Z:Invader booklet...

    The skill description in the Z:Invader booklet states:

    Brother in arms: [game effect] – The Survivor can usethis Skill whenever they are standing in the same Zone asat least one other Survivor As...
  89. Replies
    5
    Views
    569

    I'd tend to go with the majority on this one....

    I'd tend to go with the majority on this one. Using the ability in this way feels akin to the early cases of "Can I declare a charge and then miss the enemy?" type of rules lawyering. I'd also focus...
  90. Replies
    42
    Views
    3,900

    Although not explicitly stated, I believe there...

    Although not explicitly stated, I believe there are edge cases where you can be engaged with more than two units at the end of the charge if you're touching two on one facing and an additional one on...
  91. Replies
    13
    Views
    755

    Think that's going to depend on whether "closest"...

    Think that's going to depend on whether "closest" would be before or after the initial charge. You could potentially aim for the outer corner, making that flank closest relative to where the charge...
  92. Replies
    13
    Views
    755

    Agreed. In that example, you would still be able...

    Agreed. In that example, you would still be able to hit either of the units on the end of that line, though. So the card could still be played, just not on the target unit.
  93. Replies
    13
    Views
    755

    Not quite certain about your question. Based on...

    Not quite certain about your question. Based on your illustration, I'd say you'd be able to tuck in at 50% without having to move the target to fit, but you would likely be engaged by their other...
  94. Replies
    13
    Views
    755

    After re-reading the card (specifically, the...

    After re-reading the card (specifically, the "treating for all purposes as if they had charged that Flank), I'm going to say legal charge. You would end up aligning 50% *behind* the other enemy unit...
  95. Replies
    13
    Views
    755

    Yeah, was looking at her attachment card, not the...

    Yeah, was looking at her attachment card, not the tactics card.
  96. Replies
    13
    Views
    755

    If this were the positioning just prior to a...

    If this were the positioning just prior to a charge, then where the impassable terrain and the location of the other unit wouldn't matter: Harma's unit is only in the target's front arc, so must...
  97. I was saving that phrase as a back-up, should...

    I was saving that phrase as a back-up, should there be arguments about "additionally." :wink:
  98. Well, it could be because they don't like the...

    Well, it could be because they don't like the Night's Watch... :wink:

    From the rulebook, pg. 14 (Line of Sight), emphasis added:

    "To check what a unit can see, if an unbroken and unblocked line...
  99. Key word in this, however, is "additionally."...

    Key word in this, however, is "additionally." RAW, that would indicate that it takes place outside the action.
  100. Replies
    3
    Views
    1,536

    There's a fan-created spreadsheet available here:...

    There's a fan-created spreadsheet available here:...
  101. Replies
    4
    Views
    564

    Keep in mind also that the rule for shooting into...

    Keep in mind also that the rule for shooting into melee would apply. The other red unit would have to make a panic check.
  102. Since there's also a thread about this on FB,...

    Since there's also a thread about this on FB, I'll re-post my response from there verbatim (emphasis mine).

    The wording in the rulebook notes that the free pivot is in response to the completion...
  103. Replies
    2
    Views
    491

    Per the rulebook, "Once an Order is used, it...

    Per the rulebook, "Once an Order is used, it cannot be used again that round. Place an Order token on the Ability to show that it has been used, and remove this token during the Clean-Up Phase."
    ...
  104. Thread: Cover

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    6
    Views
    788

    Good points. This could also reflect that the...

    Good points. This could also reflect that the closer you are to an enemy, the better you're able to get a "bead" on them--hence making cover less of a factor.
  105. Thread: Cover

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    6
    Views
    788

    The easy answer: if you shift 2" before you...

    The easy answer: if you shift 2" before you shoot, there most certainly won't be cover.

    I believe that the cover keyword is referring to the Line of Sight arc, as noted in the LoS definition. So...
  106. Replies
    5
    Views
    628

    Each activation resolves separately. Unless there...

    Each activation resolves separately. Unless there is specific language on a card that states it interrupts an action (e.g., Lannister Halbediers Set for Charge), you will activate the Raiders, make...
  107. Replies
    29
    Views
    5,966

    Oh, I hear you--I would dearly love to have WoW...

    Oh, I hear you--I would dearly love to have WoW in my hands before my daughter goes to college.

    In four years.
  108. Replies
    29
    Views
    5,966

    I'd love to see House Arryn as well, but WoW...

    I'd love to see House Arryn as well, but WoW isn't going to be released this year. GRRM isn't done writing it.
  109. Replies
    9
    Views
    723

    Actually, the FAQ contradicts some of what I just...

    Actually, the FAQ contradicts some of what I just wrote. :wink: You *can* be touching multiple units as a result of a charge, in which case the small Stark unit would not be forced to align, but is...
  110. Replies
    1
    Views
    917

    For those of you in the area who haven't seen the...

    For those of you in the area who haven't seen the posting on Facebook, Mythicos is hosting a tournament on July 13th. Details can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/events/2744363438926398.
  111. Replies
    9
    Views
    723

    I'd rule this an illegal charge as you've shown...

    I'd rule this an illegal charge as you've shown here.

    First, charging in a straight line is going to put them in contact with the small Stark unit first. Assuming that they'd declared the large...
  112. Replies
    2
    Views
    508

    Likely not, as they're not listed as an ability...

    Likely not, as they're not listed as an ability on the unit card itself. However, removing a banner causes and effect, so it's possible it could be countered if your opponent had a tactic...
  113. Thread: Bribery FAQ

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    8
    Views
    762

    Yes, given that the FAQ is becoming a FAQ, a bit...

    Yes, given that the FAQ is becoming a FAQ, a bit more narrative around the question itself would be helpful.
  114. Replies
    29
    Views
    5,966

    Gotta disagree with this--I like having...

    Gotta disagree with this--I like having everything I need for a unit in the unit box. I'm not fond of having to buy more cards to use with a unit I already have.
  115. Thread: Bribery FAQ

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    8
    Views
    762

    Despite the "effects" vs. "abilities" incongruity...

    Despite the "effects" vs. "abilities" incongruity in the FAQ, I would take the simplest explanation as the default: attachments are not targeted at all. Otherwise, there would need to be additional...
  116. Replies
    3
    Views
    1,093

    In step 4, you can select any and all armies...

    In step 4, you can select any and all armies you've created. Haven't seen what the export looks like, but it is doable.
  117. If you look at the War Council app and click on...

    If you look at the War Council app and click on the starter set for the NW, it will list each of the units in the box. You can then compare that against what's listed for that faction in the app.
    ...
  118. Replies
    3
    Views
    1,093

    If you're using an iPhone: Go to My Armies...

    If you're using an iPhone:


    Go to My Armies
    Click the Menu option
    Select "Export"
    Select the Army or Armies to export
    Your phone should bring up your export options
    Click the "More"...
  119. Replies
    1
    Views
    314

    For the first, I'd go with the first...

    For the first, I'd go with the first interpretation. The card is allowing you to change the context of a march to allow you to move through your enemy. It does not state that it is allowing you to...
  120. Replies
    3
    Views
    330

    Additionally, if you hang around the forums for a...

    Additionally, if you hang around the forums for a while, you'll note that there are a few posters who frequently address questions whose interpretations tend to line up with official answers, when...
  121. Replies
    15
    Views
    2,931

    You need a Euron attachment for that, I believe....

    You need a Euron attachment for that, I believe. :wink:
  122. Thread: Pivot

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    16
    Views
    902

    Additionally, Palisades, the only terrain piece...

    Additionally, Palisades, the only terrain piece with that keyword, is also destructible. So if you really, really, want to move through it, you can blow an Attack action to remove it.

    After...
  123. Replies
    15
    Views
    2,931

    Dragons! :drool:

    Dragons! :drool:
  124. Replies
    5
    Views
    493

    Since Castle Walls aren't terrain, and thus don't...

    Since Castle Walls aren't terrain, and thus don't explicitly have the Impassible keyword, you should be able to pivot. The Impassible keyword reads (emphasis mine): Units may not move into or through...
  125. Thread: Pivot

    by serbaelish
    Replies
    16
    Views
    902

    There was a very long thread about this pretty...

    There was a very long thread about this pretty recently, so the outcome of this is still pretty fresh in our minds. :wink:

    It's been officially confirmed--impassible terrain cannot be moved...
  126. Replies
    4
    Views
    684

    Me, I keep him in the box. He's more likely to...

    Me, I keep him in the box. He's more likely to concentrate on his work there. :wink:
  127. Replies
    3
    Views
    1,439

    In case you haven't seen it, or aren't already...

    In case you haven't seen it, or aren't already members, there is a FB group for Ohio: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1694894403940510/.
  128. No--the resulting singularity destroys the fabric...

    No--the resulting singularity destroys the fabric of space/time. Game is immediately called a draw.
  129. Replies
    5
    Views
    498

    The card states "It may expend Faith tokens..."...

    The card states "It may expend Faith tokens..." so it is allowed to have more than one at a time.

    There hasn't been any rules released about whether Faith is considered a condition, so I wouldn't...
  130. Replies
    13
    Views
    2,320

    Looks like this has been addressed. Thank you!

    Looks like this has been addressed. Thank you!
  131. Replies
    13
    Views
    2,320

    Glad to see the rulebook and scenarios being...

    Glad to see the rulebook and scenarios being added to the app-- big thumbs up.

    But...

    Everything but the cover and end page of the rule book are being displayed in a 2 on 1 page format. It is...
  132. Replies
    4
    Views
    738

    Could we not have continued this in the original...

    Could we not have continued this in the original thread? I know it was a whole month ago, but still... :wink:
    ...
  133. Replies
    14
    Views
    2,501

    Hey Pugz, if you hadn't seen it already, and are...

    Hey Pugz, if you hadn't seen it already, and are on the Facebooks, there's a group for the Ohio Players: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1694894403940510/.
  134. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,705

    I would go for a very literal interpretation...

    I would go for a very literal interpretation here. The rules specifically mention that units may freely pivot and ignore other trays. There's nothing in that sidebar that states anything at all about...
  135. Replies
    1
    Views
    412

    The first portion is correct--you're performing a...

    The first portion is correct--you're performing a March through an enemy unit. Once you've finished the March, you roll a Charge Attack even if you are not engaged. This is to simulate the damage...
  136. Good point. But who you going to believe, me or...

    Good point. But who you going to believe, me or your lying eyes? :wink:

    I think this is a "Rules as Written" / "Rules as Intended" conflict. By the book, this would make Take the Black utterly...
  137. Replies
    3
    Views
    369

    Jon's bond is conditional (Ghost may...

    Jon's bond is conditional (Ghost may activate...), so if Ghost had already activated that round he wouldn't be able to use it. Besides, since Ghost gets a free maneuver every activation, you're...
  138. Replies
    0
    Views
    412

    Demo in Central/Northern NJ

    If you live in or around central/northern New Jersey (or are in driving distance of same), I'm going to be running a demo of the game at lovely spot called Time Warp Comics and Games in Cedar Grove....
  139. At the risk of mixing game systems, I tend to see...

    At the risk of mixing game systems, I tend to see tactics cards in much the same way as Interrupts in M:tG (are there still Interrupts? Haven't played in a while.) At the time you play the card,...
  140. Yes, once an attachment is "off the board,"...

    Yes, once an attachment is "off the board," they're gone. Not only that, but you can't target a unit or attachment that isn't currently in play.

    So once Theon was killed, he could no longer be...
  141. If you read the other threads in this forum,...

    If you read the other threads in this forum, you'll see lots of "Rules Lawyer" questions. Welcome!

    To your question, if the unit only had Ramsey left when it was destroyed, then he can only take...
  142. Replies
    6
    Views
    713

    I would agree. Not totally certain if "as their...

    I would agree. Not totally certain if "as their activation" is worded that way because the unit isn't on the table when it occurs, but I'd interpret it to mean they burn that activation to do so. As...
  143. Replies
    25
    Views
    5,194

    Interesting. Without knowing what the abilities...

    Interesting. Without knowing what the abilities for the other Kingsguard are, you almost have to take Selmy and Joffrey together. Getting a Panicked token on units could be costly in the Feast for...
  144. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,286

    I'd agree. Otherwise, you're negating that...

    I'd agree. Otherwise, you're negating that ability retroactively, since Influence is already in play.
  145. Replies
    25
    Views
    5,194

    I'm hoping that Ser Loras is held in reserve for...

    I'm hoping that Ser Loras is held in reserve for a Tyrell faction, although there could certainly be a Tyrell version and one for the kingsguard. And speaking of Tyrells, since the books are the...
  146. Replies
    3
    Views
    1,496

    #3 is an easy one, as it's covered in the...

    #3 is an easy one, as it's covered in the "Clean-Up Phase" on page 8:

    There is no limit to the amount of Tactics cards a player may have in their hand, but they will only draw additional cards at...
  147. Replies
    2
    Views
    837

    Rules & Errata v1.2 Available

    For those who haven't seen an announcement elsewhere, the Rulebook and Errata have both been updated: https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs.
  148. Replies
    13
    Views
    2,535

    Hmmm, don't know how I feel about this. I'd...

    Hmmm, don't know how I feel about this. I'd certainly think this would be fine in tournaments, but I'd rather Neutral units have a "suggested" faction than a mandatory one.
  149. Replies
    6
    Views
    860

    Yup, that's pretty much spot on.

    Yup, that's pretty much spot on.
  150. Replies
    3
    Views
    326

    To add on to Alliser's explanation, the "d" in...

    To add on to Alliser's explanation, the "d" in the notation does in fact stand for "die" or "dice." So you'd either be rolling a three-sided die or rolling a three-sided die and adding 1 to the...
  151. If you haven't already, open a support ticket,...

    If you haven't already, open a support ticket, which you can do using the "Submit a Request" link here: https://support.cmon.com.
  152. Replies
    5
    Views
    971

    Fantastic!

    Fantastic!
  153. Replies
    5
    Views
    924

    Obviously, the Netherlands struck a devil's...

    Obviously, the Netherlands struck a devil's bargain: get the faction now, wait for the sub-forum until it's available in the US. :wink:
  154. Replies
    5
    Views
    924

    Based on the timing of when the other sub-forums...

    Based on the timing of when the other sub-forums were created, I'd expect we'll see that once the set is actually released. :wink:
  155. Replies
    3
    Views
    816

    Battle of the Whispering Wood!

    If you didn't see the post on FB, CMON has released their first "Special Scenario" for the game, which you can download here:...
  156. Replies
    2
    Views
    706

    Doesn't appear to be a sub-forum, but I'm sure if...

    Doesn't appear to be a sub-forum, but I'm sure if you pose your questions/issues here there's probably somebody who knows the answer.

    For example, Commanders that are also attachments won't show...
  157. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,363

    Yes! And I'd be willing to bet a wooden nickel...

    Yes! And I'd be willing to bet a wooden nickel that we'll eventually see a unit that has an order/ability that will allow just that.
  158. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,363

    I'm not certain what you're objecting to here....

    I'm not certain what you're objecting to here. "Resolve Attack" is the last phase of the Charge action. It would be step 10 in the points I listed above. Nothing is being repeated.

    The Outriders...
  159. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,363

    Sorry, post-script. I should also note that...

    Sorry, post-script.

    I should also note that the rules also occasionally state "Charge attack," with capitalization as presented. I believe this might lead to conflating a "Melee Attack with a...
  160. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,363

    The entirety of the first sentence of the Resolve...

    The entirety of the first sentence of the Resolve Attack bullet for the Charge action states:

    "Once in their final positions, the attacker will then resolve 1 Melee Attack against the defender...
  161. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,363

    Snipping for clarity... There is some...

    Snipping for clarity...



    There is some inference required here, because Ride-by Attack is specifically superseding the rules in two ways: it is allowing you to move through an enemy unit,...
  162. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,363

    Not sure how much I can add here without benefit...

    Not sure how much I can add here without benefit of an official response, but I don't think you can make a melee attack if you are not engaged unless your unit has an ability that would make that the...
  163. Replies
    23
    Views
    3,351

    I would tend to agree with TGW. Plus, Cover is a...

    I would tend to agree with TGW. Plus, Cover is a modifier that specifically applies to the defender, so I don't think it'd be appropriate for the bowmen to be able to negate that effect.
  164. Ask and ye shall receive!

    Ask and ye shall receive!
  165. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,219

    I would say you continue to use them, as the...

    I would say you continue to use them, as the rulebook does not state that they must be removed.
  166. Replies
    3
    Views
    567

    Applying a penalty to each die during a Morale...

    Applying a penalty to each die during a Morale test would be pretty overpowering (you would be subtracting a total of -4 if you attacked a unit from behind), so I'm pretty confident it's only...
  167. I'd agree with your interpretation of Gregor's...

    I'd agree with your interpretation of Gregor's card. Whether or not his attack generates any hits, or if those hits are then all blocked, he has still made the attack. So the additional wounds are...
  168. Replies
    45
    Views
    3,077

    Yeah, I'd agree. Regardless of how you pivot,...

    Yeah, I'd agree. Regardless of how you pivot, you're going to come into contact with C before B. And it looks like you'd better make it a good charge, 'cuz it looks like B is going to charge into...
  169. Don't know if you saw it (or maybe posted the...

    Don't know if you saw it (or maybe posted the question there yourself), but this question was just asked and answered in the FB group. Looks like I got this one right--communal deck, and missions are...
  170. Since the rules note that the Open Mission can be...

    Since the rules note that the Open Mission can be scored multiple times, I would assume that this would not be applicable for secret missions. I would also believe (though the rule doesn't...
  171. Replies
    14
    Views
    5,397

    Agreed, really well done!

    Agreed, really well done!
  172. Replies
    3
    Views
    793

    Couldn't say for certain--are you a member of the...

    Couldn't say for certain--are you a member of the group? I'd definitely post it there.

    Also, if you feel like making the haul out to Hoboken, I'll be running some demos this upcoming Thursday,...
  173. Replies
    0
    Views
    764

    Kickstarter Army Lists

    I had originally posted these lists (which were included as updates during the Kickstarter campaign) in the "Others" category, so am including a link here:
    ...
  174. Replies
    3
    Views
    793

    Hey Biasco! Am also in Jersey, but a bit out of...

    Hey Biasco! Am also in Jersey, but a bit out of range of Succasunna (I'm a few miles away from Elizabeth). I'll be scheduling demos in my neck of the woods as well (I'm a Legion member), if you feel...
  175. Replies
    1
    Views
    2,818

    I've only started one thread, but stuck it in...

    I've only started one thread, but stuck it in Others for now.
  176. Starter Set Tactics: Stark Lists

    Starter Set Tactics: Stark Lists (30 pts) - Posted by Michael Shinall

    Standard Combat List


    Commander: Robb Stark/Greatjon Umber
    1x House Stark Sworn Swords + Sworn Sword Captain/Umber...
  177. Starter Set Tactics: Lannister Lists

    Starter Set Tactics: Lannister Lists (30 pts) - posted by Michael Shinall

    Tactics Board Control


    Commander: Jaime Lannister/Gregor Clegane
    1x Lannister Guardsmen (5 Pts)
    1x Lannister...
  178. Brynden's Outriders (40 pts)

    Brynden's Outriders (40 pts) - Posted by Michael Shinall

    The List


    Commander: Brynden Tully (Outrider Commander)
    Cavalry Unit: Stark Outriders (7pts)
    Cavalry Unit: Stark Outriders (7pts)...
  179. The Blackfish (40 ptts)

    The Blackfish (40pts) - posted by Michael Shinall

    The List


    Commander: Brynden Tully, the Blackfish
    House Tully Sworn Shields + Sworn Sword Captain (8 pts)
    House Tully Sworn Shields +...
  180. Gregor Clegane (40 pts) - posted by Michael...

    Gregor Clegane (40 pts) - posted by Michael Shinall

    The List

    Commander: Gregor Clegane, The Mountain
    Lannister Halberdiers (+ The Mountain) 6pts.
    Lannister Halberdiers (+ Sandor Clegane,...
  181. House Bolton (60 pts)

    House Bolton (60 pts) - Posted by Michael Shinall

    The List
    We have two options when it comes to Neutral Commanders: Roose Bolton (NCU, Lord of the Dreadfort) or Ramsay Snow (The Bastard of...
  182. Fear the Lion (60 pts)

    FEAR THE LION (60 pts) - Posted by Michael Shinall

    Commander: Tywin Lannister, Lord of Casterly Rock
    Lannister Guardsmen + Dreadfort Captain (6pts)
    Lannister Guardsmen + Dreadfort Captain...
  183. Forgot to include attribution for that first...

    Forgot to include attribution for that first list. Crafted by Michael Shinall!
  184. WINTER IS COMING(60 pts) Commander: Eddard...

    WINTER IS COMING(60 pts)


    Commander: Eddard Stark (Lord of Winterfell)
    Eddard's Honor Guard (7pts) + Eddard Stark (7pts)
    Stark Sworn Swords (5pts) + Robb Stark (The Young Wolf, 3pts) (8pts)...
  185. Song of Ice and Fire Tabletop Miniatures Game Army Lists

    Howdy All! Brian of the Legion here. The CMON folks have been regularly posting army lists in the Kickstarter updates for the Ice & Fire game. Since I don't see them archived elsewhere, figured I'd...
Results 1 to 185 of 264
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->