Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: TheRedGod

Search: Search took 0.01 seconds.

  1. This makes no sense. If simultaneous rules were...

    This makes no sense. If simultaneous rules were in effect with Varys then the active player would trigger AND resolve their effects before Varys would trigger, but seeing as though that isnt the...
  2. Replies
    3
    Views
    395

    Still wondering about this one...

    Still wondering about this one...
  3. Replies
    10
    Views
    348

    https://www.asoiafbuilder.com/static/images/nw-wat...

    https://www.asoiafbuilder.com/static/images/nw-watch-recruiter.png
  4. Currently I think Stark would win, here are the...

    Currently I think Stark would win, here are the wordings associated....

    Rulebook Page 28
    • If a player ever has no Combat Units remaining on the table,they are eliminated. In a 2-player game,...
  5. Thread: Tully Valor

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    5
    Views
    258

    The intent could be Bryndens unit. or any...

    The intent could be Bryndens unit. or any friendly. or just a unit you control....
  6. Thread: Castle Walls

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    5
    Views
    296

    they are not removed. see Game Mode Rules... ...

    they are not removed. see Game Mode Rules...

    https://asoif.s3.amazonaws.com/pdf/pdf/pdf/53/GameModes_v1.2.pdf

    Special Rules (Castle Walls)• Castle Walls are not Terrain Pieces or Combat Units....
  7. Thread: Castle Walls

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    5
    Views
    296

    So just pivot and move when Im stuck next to...

    So just pivot and move when Im stuck next to impassable things also I guess.
  8. Thread: Tully Valor

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    5
    Views
    258

    Huh? Lol. Play the card on? Since when do you...

    Huh? Lol. Play the card on? Since when do you play cards on units. Triggers tell you what you can target. This trigger just says "this" unit. Can you target an enemy unit with this card?
  9. Thread: Tully Valor

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    5
    Views
    258

    Tully Valor

    "this" unit??

    https://www.asoiafbuilder.com/static/images/hs-brynden-tully-tb-t1.png
  10. Thread: Castle Walls

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    5
    Views
    296

    Castle Walls

    You cant move through castle walls. So after you destroy a wall. How do you get that unit to go do something else? Since pivoting is a move, you are theoretically stuck..... Similar to impassable...
  11. Replies
    3
    Views
    395

    I guess Jaime killing children isnt that much of...

    I guess Jaime killing children isnt that much of a topic starter.....
  12. Replies
    3
    Views
    344

    1. Related to attack only 2. attachment...

    1. Related to attack only

    2. attachment abilities that incorporate into the attack are lost
  13. Replies
    4
    Views
    435

    He is obviously the most important unit to have.

    He is obviously the most important unit to have.
  14. Replies
    3
    Views
    395

    Jaime / Ygritte VS Joffrey / Rickon

    Helping out with a discussion elsewhere, looking for an official response, but banter is fun too. :)

    Can Jaime kill these kids?:

    1. Rickon
    A) when hes with Osha
    B) when hes alone...
  15. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,324

    Also, the fourth bullet point refers to changing...

    Also, the fourth bullet point refers to changing face and shifting as "moves".
  16. Thread: Syrio

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    1
    Views
    259

    Syrio

    How long does Syrios order effect last? Thanks.
  17. Per resolving an attack rule, the defender is...

    Per resolving an attack rule, the defender is awarded a defense die for each hit. Greatjon does not allow lets say 2 of the 8 hits. So the defender is awarded 6 dice for defense saves. The auto block...
  18. Replies
    2
    Views
    318

    My responses are due to an accumulation of forum...

    My responses are due to an accumulation of forum readings, updated rules, faq, etc.

    1) the moment you play the card, you have "played a card" and can trigger things like counterplot. It is once...
  19. Replies
    29
    Views
    1,375

    If the cavalry innate ability is a different...

    If the cavalry innate ability is a different trigger, and you do the card immediately, you would actually get to maneuver afterwards. So theres that. Lol
  20. Replies
    29
    Views
    1,375

    Even if the triggers are different, my original...

    Even if the triggers are different, my original post remains. In my view, the entirety of the card is resolved as the units action, it is not giving another option for the action step later. :) Hence...
  21. Replies
    29
    Views
    1,375

    Ride-By-Attack

    You play this card when you activate a friendly cavalry.

    In my mind, you immediately do what the card says. As in, all of it. My reasoning is simple, do what the card says when you play it. All...
  22. Replies
    7
    Views
    518

    Refreshing this one, same question popped up...

    Refreshing this one, same question popped up again, this time with ride-by-attack. If "when a unit activates" is different timing than "at the start of an " (I think its the same), can you play the...
  23. Replies
    15
    Views
    794

    When exactly would you announce the use of hidden...

    When exactly would you announce the use of hidden traps? When the target activates? No. When the target declares action? No. Actions that could involve movement dont have to involve movement. So you...
  24. Replies
    14
    Views
    935

    A response in discord from Michael (not an...

    A response in discord from Michael (not an official forum just sharing), said the next version of the rulebook will rule all of the steps of a charge are 1 move. All cleared up.
  25. Replies
    14
    Views
    935

    Due to the fact that during a free cav maneuver...

    Due to the fact that during a free cav maneuver it gets a free pivot, I dont ever see what I mentioned happening, in fact, as a friendly player I wouldnt ever do it, but the main point is that an...
  26. Replies
    14
    Views
    935

    If you note the 2nd quote in my original...

    If you note the 2nd quote in my original comment...... This is a CMON ruling from another thread here (one about pivoting). The pivot is separate from the move attacker step, unlike other movement...
  27. Replies
    14
    Views
    935

    Correct. As I mentioned, I am referring to a...

    Correct. As I mentioned, I am referring to a charge, specifically a cavalry charge.
  28. Replies
    14
    Views
    935

    also..... could use 3 of these orders during a...

    also..... could use 3 of these orders during a Cavalry charge...

    "Pivoting •Pivoting is a type of move that allows a unit to be rotatedalong its center to any facing, usually done as part of...
  29. Replies
    2
    Views
    484

    Facebook friends are asking for confirmation...

    Facebook friends are asking for confirmation here.... Thanks
  30. There is a difference between House and Faction:...

    There is a difference between House and Faction:
    A faction is an army that can contain multiple different Houses and you may include all those Houses in your lists as long as they are of the same...
  31. The full neutral army list can only include...

    The full neutral army list can only include neutral u its and attachments. Those units tou are suggesting are still Stark/Lannister in addition to Bolton. They may not be included. The Bolton...
  32. Replies
    7
    Views
    292

    Official response from an earlier thread...

    Official response from an earlier thread clarified they are not combat units
  33. Thread: Castle Walls

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    3
    Views
    395

    Castle Walls

    Relaying from Facebook group once again...
    Castle Walls are not units..... But when charging and attacking you do so "like they are units"...

    1) Surge Forth after destroying a wall?
    2) When...
  34. As no official sources accompanied your view, (...

    As no official sources accompanied your view, ( as mentioned, you can join the debate on Facebook ), still hoping for an official ruling here. Thanks
  35. Brynden Tully Outflank and Objective card

    Disagreeing views on the Facebook group... 2 Things:

    1) Can deployment of your put aside unit of Outriders ( Outflank ) be prevented if the opponent chooses Brynden Tully as the target of the...
  36. Edit #2 here: Alliser! My Sworn Brother-Friend! ...

    Edit #2 here: Alliser! My Sworn Brother-Friend! I just read your quote in the other thread defending that fact that Roose would trigger BEFORE Varys, so.... why not Pycelle??

    Small Correction...
  37. Replies
    38
    Views
    2,368

    Fronx, read the quote above from Michael,...

    Fronx, read the quote above from Michael, everything is him except the first line. He specifically calls out this situation...
  38. Replies
    38
    Views
    2,368

    I do have my own tokens when playing for...

    I do have my own tokens when playing for situations like this. If the Berserkers aligned 50% it would be hard to tell.
  39. Replies
    38
    Views
    2,368

    Heres what we know, and why I think the original...

    Heres what we know, and why I think the original post is legal.

    You ignore the 1 inch rule when charging successfully

    You can ONLY be engaged if you are the one charging OR are the target of a...
  40. Replies
    38
    Views
    2,368

    Read his full quote about this subject here: ...

    Read his full quote about this subject here:

    ""A unit may never end a move within 1" of an enemy unit unless that move would bring it into contact with the target of its charge".

    That is the...
  41. Replies
    38
    Views
    2,368

    But alas, you ignore the 1inch rule when...

    But alas, you ignore the 1inch rule when charging.... I believe the initial question in the original post is yes, it is a legal charge, as long as you contact the mountain first, you would only be...
  42. Spot On. Thank You. My suggestion to explain this...

    Spot On. Thank You. My suggestion to explain this was either: Change Varys trigger. OR perhaps there is an unwritten difference between voluntary and involuntary effect timings, OR the tactic zone...
  43. Yes I am trying to RESOLVE before the opponent,...

    Yes I am trying to RESOLVE before the opponent, as thats what the rules say to do...... I posted them above for reference....
  44. Alliser Thorne.... so you are saying there IS a...

    Alliser Thorne.... so you are saying there IS a difference in timing between voluntary and involuntary effects?? I am not sure where this originates from... Because simply put, Pycelle and Varys...
  45. AlxRaven.... I just posted the simultaneous...

    AlxRaven.... I just posted the simultaneous action rules above.... the initial player would activate and resolve triggers first, then the inactive player gets a chance. Varys breaks this...
  46. Well it wont let me update original post for some...

    Well it wont let me update original post for some reason... anywho... was not trying to argue just to argue, just wanted to be clear as I teach and demo the game every week and it has gotten the...
  47. And this one... "Simultaneous Actions There...

    And this one...

    "Simultaneous Actions
    There might arise situations where both players wish to trigger aneffect or play a card at the same time, or multiple effects wouldtrigger simultaneously....
  48. Here is the quote I wanted to begin this...

    Here is the quote I wanted to begin this thread.....lol I will update the original post....

    "Non-Combat Unit Actions
    Unlike a Combat Unit, when a Non-Combat Unit is activated, itonly has 1...
  49. So perhaps Pycelle, Rodriks Vulnerable token, and...

    So perhaps Pycelle, Rodriks Vulnerable token, and the like are not able to be prevented by Varys.......????
  50. There is also another way.... I am also...

    There is also another way.... I am also wondering if there is a difference in resolution timing between involuntary and voluntary effects.... Could be the case as well.
  51. Thats totally fine! Im playing as obviously...

    Thats totally fine! Im playing as obviously intended for now, but my main focus was actually defining what the bonus from the tactic board is.... If its an effect from claiming a zone then the issue...
  52. Of course I did friend! Im not discussing cards....

    Of course I did friend! Im not discussing cards. Im talking about the zone effect and NCU
  53. Counterplot is an exception that does not break...

    Counterplot is an exception that does not break the rules due to its trigger. "When an enemy plays a card". This provides a triggered event that interrupts the resolution of that card.

    Varys...
  54. Oh boy. It seems you are confused. Your second...

    Oh boy. It seems you are confused. Your second paragraph beginning with "again_" is contradictory. If something is being resolved then by definition it cant be prevented. This is the basis of...
  55. Im not saying Varys cant use his ability, Im...

    Im not saying Varys cant use his ability, Im saying what would be the point if the zone effect and NCU ability have already been resolved.....
  56. Ericoze... I cant tell if you are agreeing this...

    Ericoze... I cant tell if you are agreeing this needs clarification or if you are trying to say it doesnt. Lol. I am confused by your response. Your explanation supports that it needs...
  57. Erocize. Exactly right.... The event is...

    Erocize. Exactly right....

    The event is claiming a zone...

    Player 1 claims a zone

    Player 1 has 2 involuntary effects to resolve, which he gets to choose the order of

    Player 2 has a...
  58. Definition of Tactic Board Bonus, claim a zone effects, Varys

    I am mobile at the moment so I apologize for lack of citations....

    The effect that is granted from claiming a zone is exactly that, a triggered effect yes? ( trigger being "when this zone is...
  59. Replies
    20
    Views
    1,377

    I added a question related to the post... If...

    I added a question related to the post... If Varys' ability is resolved after the cards listed in the original post because the active player resolves first..... Isn't the zone effect and "when...
  60. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    Thanks Michael ! :)

    Thanks Michael ! :)
  61. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    Agreed. And to further your point of continuing...

    Agreed. And to further your point of continuing the circle, the attack you are making is labeled as a charge attack, it has a name, which is not melee attack, its just that the way you make a charge...
  62. Replies
    20
    Views
    1,377

    Speaking of simultaneous actions.... Isnt the...

    Speaking of simultaneous actions.... Isnt the tactic zone and influence abilities triggered from claiming a zone? So wouldnt the active player get to resolve those first before Varys?....
  63. Replies
    6
    Views
    574

    The only "auto-triggers" is at the end of an...

    The only "auto-triggers" is at the end of an attack resolution, see page 19, and when you fail a charge,see pg 19. In other words, every time you get attacked you make a test at the end of it, you...
  64. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    I got a wooden nickel the phrasing will be "when...

    I got a wooden nickel the phrasing will be "when targeted by a melee attack" therefore preventing the attack from initiating. But I definitely see your point.
  65. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    So you're saying, if let's say a unit started a...

    So you're saying, if let's say a unit started a turn engaged, and the player chose attack action. Then the defender interrupted the action when beginning the resolve attack step and somehow...
  66. Thread: Attachments

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    2
    Views
    357

    Yea, I guess I just didn't expect for a regular...

    Yea, I guess I just didn't expect for a regular wound to the unit to count as the same as destroying/removing an attachment (if that wound removes an attachment)......

    I think its all fine, just...
  67. Thread: Attachments

    by TheRedGod
    Replies
    2
    Views
    357

    Attachments

    Just making sure I read the FAQ right..... :)

    If a unit has let's say.... Wounded Jaime, Sworn Sword Captain ...... The unit takes 11 wounds....

    -The Captain considered to have been...
  68. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    Purple hyena , the concern is appreciated, we are...

    Purple hyena , the concern is appreciated, we are all fans of the game and just having friendly discussion until we get official reply, Nothing I noticed was out of line, no worries friend, I just...
  69. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    I appreciate your effort in preventing a negative...

    I appreciate your effort in preventing a negative outcome from this discussion, sometimes that is needed when these get heavy, but I am definitely in the same boat your are friend. No worries. Just...
  70. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    Correct. The point is that you are not initiating...

    Correct. The point is that you are not initiating a melee attack (with re rolls aka charge attack), you are resolving one. The requirements were already met to reach the point of attack resolution. ...
  71. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    On your first point, you are correct, we all...

    On your first point, you are correct, we all agree the Outriders would not be able to perform a melee attack, but that is not applied here. The Outriders would be resolving a melee attack as per...
  72. I wouldn't say that, as it is much worse...

    I wouldn't say that, as it is much worse (weakened tokens are my favorite), after a player rolls charge rerolls, weakened can be used to force all current successes to be rerolled, meaning, the...
  73. You missed a rule. A reroll die replaces the fact...

    You missed a rule. A reroll die replaces the fact of the previous results
  74. The more I think about it.... Combining quotes...

    The more I think about it....

    Combining quotes here..... (On mobile without v1.1)
    "Non-Combat Unit Actions
    Unlike a Combat Unit, when a Non-Combat Unit is activated, it only has 1 action...
  75. Following SimAct rules..... Varys can't cancel...

    Following SimAct rules.....

    Varys can't cancel Little fingers ability because it has already resolved before Varys can act. (I suppose technically he could prevent Little finger from using it a...
  76. Replies
    39
    Views
    2,971

    maybe clarification be put into page 7 , Common...

    maybe clarification be put into page 7 , Common Terms: "engaged"

    Currently : "A unit is engaged when it is in contact with one ormore enemy units."

    Maybe change to : "A unit becomes engaged...
  77. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    I created an ability to add to this discussion...

    I created an ability to add to this discussion when I was thinking about this clarification:

    "The Water Dance"
    When this unit is engaged with only one unit, and is attacked with melee, before the...
  78. Replies
    3
    Views
    210

    during the draw step towards the end of the...

    during the draw step towards the end of the clean-up phase, Normally you draw back up to 3. Instead you draw back up to 2. If you have 2 in your hand, you would normally draw 1 more, instead you draw...
  79. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,056

    What's interesting is that you are allowed to...

    What's interesting is that you are allowed to contact that other enemy as long as you contact the target of your charge first, and the rules for being engaged simply say being in contact..... so........
  80. Replies
    6
    Views
    419

    I agree with Fronx here as well

    I agree with Fronx here as well
  81. Replies
    0
    Views
    261

    Northern California Region

    Come join the group, get together and play some games
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/SONGTMGNORCAL/
  82. Replies
    59
    Views
    2,766

    Outriders + Halberdiers

    Is this correct?

    1) Outriders Successfully charge Halberdiers in the front
    2) Halberdeirs trigger the Set For Charge order, attacking the Outriders before the Outriders resolve their own attack...
  83. Replies
    3
    Views
    336

    From the Rulebook: "• FLANK BONUS: When a unit...

    From the Rulebook: "• FLANK BONUS: When a unit makes a Melee or Ranged Attackwhile in a Flank Arc of an enemy, that enemy suffers -1 to theirDefense Save rolls, as well as a -1 to their Panic Test...
  84. Well I think you gave one of the perfect quotes...

    Well I think you gave one of the perfect quotes of the rulebook.... "It is important to note that these effects modify the result of the roll but not the actual die-facing itself." The other one...
  85. Replies
    13
    Views
    1,079

    So to try to be clear, this is not when...

    So to try to be clear, this is not when activated, but when you choose the attack action as the units action. I don't currently see a way to shift / change facing without attacking. :)
  86. Replies
    6
    Views
    613

    Got it, thanks. I was wrongfully linking...

    Got it, thanks. I was wrongfully linking hindering with the ruling that you can be overlapping a friendly at the point of contact as long as you don't overlap after alignment. So i was thinking...
  87. Replies
    6
    Views
    613

    I set this up picture up intentionally, the...

    I set this up picture up intentionally, the bottom tray is charging the top tray, but won't hit the corpse pile until the alignment step of the charge action...... if alignment is not included, then...
  88. Replies
    6
    Views
    613

    I understand your point, but at the same time,...

    I understand your point, but at the same time, Hindering has me rolling two dice (let's say its straight ahead of me in between me and the target, and I would need to roll a 3 to make contact with...
  89. Replies
    6
    Views
    613

    1) RESOLVED in online rulebook 2) Almost...

    1) RESOLVED in online rulebook
    2) Almost resolved, just need clarification on "cross" in regards to Hindering (Disorderly Charge part of it)
    3) unresolved
    4) RESOLVED in online rulebook
    5) I...
  90. Replies
    2
    Views
    283

    Player thoughts... 1) Great question, as per...

    Player thoughts...
    1) Great question, as per rules deployment is before "beginning the game" step, and Brienne is before deployment, and declaring NCU proxy is at the beginning of the game (meaning...
  91. Replies
    6
    Views
    613

    Terrain Questions!! :)

    Today has been a discussion of terrain keywords, so let's get as many as I can think of out of the way:

    1) What exactly defines "lies between" in regards to COVER
    2) "crossed/would cross/cross" ...
  92. Replies
    2
    Views
    404

    New To The Team

    Hello all! Happy to be here. Cheers.
Results 1 to 92 of 101

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->