Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: Fronx

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Search: Search took 0.02 seconds.

  1. I have seen this officially enough answered, but...

    I have seen this officially enough answered, but couldn't find the source (sorry).

    They are separate triggers (have always been in all rule versions). Unit Destroyed happens inside Attack, thus...
  2. I agree. There is no way to deduct what happens...

    I agree. There is no way to deduct what happens with "Superior Positioning" moving the target of Charge so, that it would be illegal.

    It is somewhat simple if the target goes out of reach, then...
  3. Replies
    1
    Views
    125

    There has been no official anwer to that question...

    There has been no official anwer to that question (hopefully this will be answered here for once).

    Very clear RAW would be yes, the card texts in this (and similar) cards do not specify friendly /...
  4. Replies
    1
    Views
    160

    •A unit may only control 1 Objective token...

    •A unit may only control 1 Objective token at any time. If a unit controlling an Objective token ends a move over another token, their opponent places that Objective token ...
  5. Thread: Charging

    by Fronx
    Replies
    3
    Views
    190

    Above answer is correct, once you've made contact...

    Above answer is correct, once you've made contact with the defending unit it is a successful charge, so you do not apply it afterwards.


    Came just to say that I agree that 1.5.1 rules are written...
  6. Replies
    4
    Views
    331

    After the attack sounds to be after the attack,...

    After the attack sounds to be after the attack, so that should be clear (even though it is an bullet in attack resolution for some reason and not highlighted to be outside of the action).

    But the...
  7. Replies
    6
    Views
    469

    Overrun trigger (when to play) is at "Unit...

    Overrun trigger (when to play) is at "Unit destroyed". That trigger happens inside the attack. The attack could not have completed yet, as you need to first resolve the unit destruction (including...
  8. Replies
    6
    Views
    469

    Quick comment: active player does not decide...

    Quick comment: active player does not decide "what happens first" in that scenario.
    Active player cannot choose that not-active players effect would happen first, active player must resolve it's own...
  9. Replies
    5
    Views
    538

    In my RAW interpretation, yes, definitely. I...

    In my RAW interpretation, yes, definitely.
    I have heard alternative interpretations also (that you could not).
    I have not seen official answer or source to make sure of this.

    But RAW is in my...
  10. Replies
    2
    Views
    239

    I see where this question is coming from: "......

    I see where this question is coming from:
    "... and then ..." in the text seems to make it a requirement to do the 1st part before 2nd part.

    But, there is a "may" in front of the 1st part...
  11. I have heard extremely differing opinions on the...

    I have heard extremely differing opinions on the Discord channel.
    Hence this question in the official CMON forum.
  12. Replies
    2
    Views
    360

    3 additional Wounds.

    3 additional Wounds.
  13. I agree with all the other parts, but above...

    I agree with all the other parts, but above quoted point is logically incorrect, and can be logically displayed to be so. To make up rules, one would have to .. make up rules. Let's see in which...
  14. "This model is always the last model destroyed from this unit" and multi-Attachments

    Following entries are in the v1.5.1 General FAQ

    Q: Some Attachments have the text “This model is always the last model destroyed from this unit”. Does this mean ...
  15. Defense Save definition on Precision and possible extra Blocks (e.g. Expert Parry)

    Precision: "Hits from rolls of 6 do not allow Defense Saves"
    Expert Parry: "Each Defense Save roll of 6 blocks 2 Hits"

    Two interpretations for "Defense Saves":
    A) Does the Precision only...
  16. Replies
    6
    Views
    484

    Correct, it is not specifically stated, that...

    Correct, it is not specifically stated, that Pivot could not be done when engaged in the rule book. (and as I said earlier, rule book page 15 has from the start made pivoting synonymous with a thing...
  17. Replies
    6
    Views
    484

    There are some things wrong in this above text,...

    There are some things wrong in this above text, so pointing out few mistakes:

    - Cavalry base is not square, it is rectangle. It is slightly longer than Infantry base, but not square. Solo base is...
  18. Replies
    10
    Views
    565

    Quotes shortened for ease of reading: It is...

    Quotes shortened for ease of reading:


    It is quite straight forward: Paid Mutiny works directly with War Machines as you state, not sure what the FAQ would benefit for so clear case. There is a...
  19. Replies
    9
    Views
    472

    Yes it does. See Stark FAQ v1.5 1st page: ...

    Yes it does.

    See Stark FAQ v1.5 1st page:

    OSHA (SPEARWIFE GUARDIAN)
    Q: Can Osha’s Go Down Fighting Ability trigger multiple times during the same attack?
    A: Yes.
    Q: Follow-up:...
  20. Replies
    9
    Views
    472

    There is latter contradiction to that, a ruling...

    There is latter contradiction to that, a ruling that Osha does trigger when last rank is removed.
    Sorry cannot dig it up right now, but wasnt it even on FAQ?

    From that one could derive, that also...
  21. I agree with this. As a side note activation...

    I agree with this.

    As a side note activation token is places as quite very last thing in activation (this needs to be considered when effects that manipulate activation tokens happen), but that...
  22. Replies
    5
    Views
    538

    Order says "instead of activating Unit .. makes 1...

    Order says "instead of activating Unit .. makes 1 Free Attack action". So it is a turn without activation.


    Sequence of this Order:

    - Your turn starts.
    - You trigger that order, instead of...
  23. Thread: set for charge

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    1,179

    This is correct. To amend to this why above is...

    This is correct. To amend to this why above is correct. The card triggers matter:

    Set for charge trigger is quite clear and specific: "When friendly, unengaged unit is charged from the front". The...
  24. Thread: set for charge

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    1,179

    While ”charge attack” is somewhat undefined game...

    While ”charge attack” is somewhat undefined game term, it is quite clearly stated in the rule book, that in charge you resolve a melee attack.

    So no.
  25. Thread: Taunt and horses

    by Fronx
    Replies
    1
    Views
    253

    Already answered here:...

    Already answered here: http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?68177-Thenn-taunt-order-vs-Cav-free-manouvres&p=886474&viewfull=1#post886474

    Cavalry gets the free maneuver after taunt...
  26. Replies
    5
    Views
    776

    As said above, the time constraint is a huge...

    As said above, the time constraint is a huge issue.

    The tournament would have to be multi-day tournament, maybe spanning to multiple weeks, like campaign play. Which is doable, but usually these...
  27. The non-house-ruling options: - Play 1v1v1...

    The non-house-ruling options:

    - Play 1v1v1 Free-for-all if you want to play 3-player game.
    (If the slightly off-set starting positions bother, you can slightly house-rule the starting positions...
  28. Yes. Unless Mance loses it's abilities, then it...

    Yes.
    Unless Mance loses it's abilities, then it gets back to 4+, until Mance regains its abilities, moving it to 5+
  29. Replies
    2
    Views
    280

    They become Paniced at the moment of Charge...

    They become Paniced at the moment of Charge declaration.
    As the ability does not mention it needs to be successful Charge, it is enough to declare the Charge. Even if it fails or is disorderly.
    The...
  30. Replies
    6
    Views
    532

    Thanks, I now see the confusion, and agree with...

    Thanks, I now see the confusion, and agree with the confusion.

    I have opinions how it would work, but it is not 100% straightforward without clarying a bit the rules regarding to this.
  31. Replies
    6
    Views
    532

    What is the question, or the confirmation needed?...

    What is the question, or the confirmation needed?

    The card text is quite clear and straightforward; Jarl may ignore normal deployment rules (whatever they are in that game mode), and may use the...
  32. Replies
    7
    Views
    635

    No according to stacking rules: you are stacking...

    No according to stacking rules: you are stacking same named effect on one same unit. the two eagles physically would be in same literal one unit, literally stacked.

    CTD is totally different case:...
  33. In what locale are you reading that? There could...

    In what locale are you reading that? There could be differences in how the cards are worded in some other locales than original.

    In English the texts do not say anything like that. It says "as its...
  34. 1) Yes. 2) If the card really says ”action”,...

    1) Yes.
    2) If the card really says ”action”, then yes. And yes, free actions are actions, so they can be also forfeited for VP, if the card indeed says ”action”.
    3) Hard one, and it is weird card...
  35. Replies
    3
    Views
    465

    Pointing out that this above answer is true right...

    Pointing out that this above answer is true right now Feb-2020.

    Of course in future more Units might appear, like FF Cavalry or more Beasts or Warmachines or such that do not go inside definition...
  36. Thread: cut them down

    by Fronx
    Replies
    9
    Views
    685

    78211 Serbaelish is right. Here goes my attemt...

    78211
    Serbaelish is right. Here goes my attemt to clarify it.

    Imagine three units:
    A and B are allied units, that both have CTD ability. Third C Unit is enemy Unit engaged with both of these. ...
  37. Seems correct. While this exact scenario is...

    Seems correct.

    While this exact scenario is rare to happen, it is very likely to happen in a form or another within few games.
  38. Replies
    7
    Views
    468

    How I see it, it boils down to this: Are the...

    How I see it, it boils down to this:

    Are the auto-blocks a singular event in resolving blocks, or not.

    If there is a hidden (currently non-existing rule "bullet point") in attack resolution...
  39. Replies
    14
    Views
    675

    Below isn't really rules discussion. Sorry for...

    Below isn't really rules discussion. Sorry for off-topic:

    Workarounds against Walder Frey as NW with Stone Thrower (but applies to any other Unit also):
    - In your second list (that you bring to...
  40. Replies
    14
    Views
    675

    Presuming Walder player is 1st player or...

    Presuming Walder player is 1st player or controlling Crown: Everything from the text box labeled ”Stone Thrower” is removed, excluding the range (Range cannot be removed as per rulebook). Everything...
  41. Replies
    2
    Views
    337

    Hi, I think these posts should answer most of...

    Hi, I think these posts should answer most of your questions.
    I think the main points of these answers have not changed in new rule versions regarding to these questions.
    ...
  42. I’m startimg to doubt, that when NCU is killed,...

    I’m startimg to doubt, that when NCU is killed, it’s card should be removed from the play immediately (even though there is no Rule saying so).

    Would feel strange, if E.g. Tyrion or Varys would...
  43. Replies
    63
    Views
    1,766

    Not sure what to add. If you read the triggering...

    Not sure what to add. If you read the triggering condition texts in the said abilities, it is quite clear.

    1st triggering event is "If this unit would fail a Panic Test", which makes the Panic...
  44. Replies
    18
    Views
    849

    You are right. This though would make align moves...

    You are right. This though would make align moves obsolete: you are already within 1" of enemy (the one you are engaged with). Thus it gets a bit strange.

    But I agree, with the lack of better...
  45. Replies
    18
    Views
    849

    It does remain open the question if one can...

    It does remain open the question if one can engage multiple units in the align shift.

    So far, I have not seen anything in the Rule book to deny that.
    (Just a "rumor" that there is a forum entry...
  46. Replies
    18
    Views
    849

    Cannot be found from Rule book (sadly), but I...

    Cannot be found from Rule book (sadly), but I have seen multiple answers on relatively similar matters from the official sources, which can be summarized as below (sorry, this forum search amd FB...
  47. I agree with above, sounds RAW. Recapping how...

    I agree with above, sounds RAW.

    Recapping how I agree:
    Even if NCU dies, the influence stays for that round, and there is no rule to remove the card (until at the end of the round).


    The...
  48. Not an issue. Surge Forth grants a free maneuver....

    Not an issue. Surge Forth grants a free maneuver.

    • Surge Forth! •
    If the attacker completely destroys the defending unit with a Melee Attack (including the Panic Test), their momentum allows...
  49. While Im not official source, you have the rule...

    While Im not official source, you have the rule right.

    But, there are many cards that similarly have effect that lasts for longer.
    Actually, no card is resolved instantly.

    But some examples of...
  50. Replies
    5
    Views
    598

    1) Check the rules, you can have only one...

    1) Check the rules, you can have only one Influence of your own per Unit
    2) Yes
  51. Thread: Charge

    by Fronx
    Replies
    1
    Views
    209

    It remains in the last legal position.

    It remains in the last legal position.
  52. If the charging unit was (just for example, other...

    If the charging unit was (just for example, other options also apply) Warrior's Sons with few faith tokens, I would take that 3 unit tying Charge in a hearbeat, and consider it a smart move to tie 3...
  53. Good check, also checked my-self, and agree. The...

    Good check, also checked my-self, and agree. The "center dot" is not in center though. So it affects that discussion also.

    But, this would be a separate topic: the matter does not change even if...
  54. Replies
    19
    Views
    1,695

    Side comment, what Alliser says above to my...

    Side comment, what Alliser says above to my knowledge logical and correct.


    Just to bring the rationale, why I fear this (incorrect) interpretation is going to be common question / confusion to...
  55. Actually, rule book does not say that, but it...

    Actually, rule book does not say that, but it says following (in page 12):
    "On each unit’s tray, there are notches used to denote its Line of Sight Arcs."
    Anyone can check the angle of the notches,...
  56. To (try to) summarize rationales why the 1st...

    To (try to) summarize rationales why the 1st argument seems to be most Rules As Written (RAW) interpretation:

    - Corners do not have facings, or they have two facings, but cannot say it has only...
  57. Replies
    2
    Views
    306

    How I would see it! - Claim zone (triggering...

    How I would see it!
    - Claim zone (triggering zone claiming).
    - Play both Feinting Maneuver and Activate Vanguard commander.
    - As per simultaneus actions rule, select Feinting Maneuver to resolve...
  58. Terrain keyword conflict in Rule book (page 24 VS back cover)

    Terrain keywords are listed in page 24, and in the last page of the rule book (back cover).

    These are in conflict, the back cover keywords seem to be from earlier rule editions than current rules....
  59. Thread: Elevated

    by Fronx
    Replies
    2
    Views
    332

    Note, that as rule book hints, you can use your...

    Note, that as rule book hints, you can use your own terrain, and thus you can make your own. Elevated is a keyword for terrain that can be used if chosen so by players.

    "Terrain plays an important...
  60. Replies
    12
    Views
    710

    I think the main point of my question was not...

    I think the main point of my question was not directly answered, but what I extrapolated from that:

    When Charge attack dice hit the ground for the 1st time, before any re-rolls, it is the trigger...
  61. Replies
    12
    Views
    710

    Timing of expending a token

    Is 'expending token' simultaneous trigger with Tactics Cards / Orders / Abilities with trigger 'after <attack/defense/panic/morale> dice are rolled'.
    E.g. do you have to play above mentioned 'after...
  62. No, you're perfectly right, these cancellations...

    No, you're perfectly right, these cancellations break simultaneous turns rules, and it makes things confusing and unclear. I took some time, and I have changed my mind to 3rd option: I'm not sure how...
  63. I agree with this. There is no way to have...

    I agree with this.

    There is no way to have Tyrion after the Varys, as that just would be strange: Tyrion must be used before the Tactics Card is fully resolved (or the window do use it has...
  64. Replies
    3
    Views
    849

    You are perfectly right.

    You are perfectly right.
  65. Replies
    6
    Views
    599

    Agree, and there is no room for other...

    Agree, and there is no room for other interpretation: Panic Test in this scenario is still a part of the Charge Action, which caused the Attack resolution and Panic Test. And if that charge was...
  66. Replies
    3
    Views
    849

    Your question is strangely formulated. Exactly...

    Your question is strangely formulated. Exactly exact answer to your question is: No, from mere failed armor saves, Nights Watch Recruiter does not trigger it's ability. As in example, Unit might have...
  67. Thread: Cunning Ploy

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    831

    Thanks to serbaelish, he found the official...

    Thanks to serbaelish, he found the official source, linking it here:

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?67962-Tyrion-commander-rules-questions&p=883940&viewfull=1#post883940
  68. Thread: Cunning Ploy

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    831

    Does someone remember seeing official answer for...

    Does someone remember seeing official answer for this question?

    "Original unit (initial target of the card) "passes" his action (and gains activation token) to the previously activated unit -...
  69. Replies
    6
    Views
    681

    In my interpretation of page 15, you trigger and...

    In my interpretation of page 15, you trigger and perform the Free Maneuver first, before declaring the action of that activation. (in your scenario, Declaring charge would happen in number 4, instead...
  70. Replies
    8
    Views
    719

    You do not mention ownership, so hard to answer. ...

    You do not mention ownership, so hard to answer.

    Unit can move and charge through friendly Units (as long as at the very end of the move, in Charge after the align, there is no overlapping)....
  71. Replies
    14
    Views
    1,144

    The way I see it: - Timing is same, even if...

    The way I see it:

    - Timing is same, even if the text very very slightly differs. But when comparing certain Stark cards on FAQ, the subtle difference is similar in this case to those Stark cards...
  72. Thread: Stark Bowmen

    by Fronx
    Replies
    23
    Views
    3,535

    On side note (or just blatantly off-topic): I was...

    On side note (or just blatantly off-topic): I was surprised as there was a poll on FB group for voting which is considered as worst Unit (when considering it's price), and Stark Bowmen "won" that...
  73. When in doubt, go with the rule that is least in...

    When in doubt, go with the rule that is least in conflict with the rules as written (RAW).

    - Corners touching is "contact" by meaning of words in English language.
    - By rule book, "contact" is...
  74. Replies
    18
    Views
    2,370

    If there really is confusion about this, then...

    If there really is confusion about this, then this is wide-spread issue, as Critical Blow is quite common skill, and easily happens multiple times in each game.

    This means that there are people...
  75. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    4,047

    Necroing old thread: while there now is FAQ...

    Necroing old thread:

    while there now is FAQ entry stating, that Charge can cause multiple engagements, it is still unclear could 3 units be in same side, as in the start image of this thread,...
  76. Replies
    5
    Views
    604

    Definitely agree with this. If it would say...

    Definitely agree with this.

    If it would say "..after that Attack action is completed...", then I would say it would work, as you did perform a Ranged Attack action (even if it was incomplete,...
  77. Replies
    2
    Views
    468

    No, Yellow is not valid Charge target, as there...

    No, Yellow is not valid Charge target, as there is no space to fit the Tray-side the Charge would be on.

    Rule book (v1.4), page 18, on Charge:
    The LoS Arc of the target unit must have space for...
  78. That is correct. It is unwise to attack those...

    That is correct.

    It is unwise to attack those walls, the resources and time it takes to get away from them after destroying them is rarely worth it.

    Almost always, even without this movement...
  79. I would also say that as attack was rolled and...

    I would also say that as attack was rolled and attack roll completed, it should happen.

    But I could not determine if the attack abilities would be gone from that point on, as the attacking Unit...
  80. Replies
    5
    Views
    692

    1) Align move in Melee Attack is a move. Such...

    1) Align move in Melee Attack is a move. Such move would cause damage in dangerous terrain (Note: Shift in any case would be a move, but I wouldn`t call align move a shift, as shift is reserved...
  81. Replies
    3
    Views
    542

    To say in other words: action is not...

    To say in other words:

    action is not activation.
    activation is not action.

    They are two fully and totally separate things and triggers.

    Unit can perform actions without being activated...
  82. Thread: Ranged Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    4
    Views
    616

    Yes, can attack. Is in LoS, and in range. ...

    Yes, can attack. Is in LoS, and in range.

    Units do not give Cover, or any other reason for -1 to hit, so that went wrong.
  83. Replies
    7
    Views
    737

    Any dice that player wants to. So most common...

    Any dice that player wants to.
    So most common answer is, that the player requests to reroll all the success dice. If they were already rerolled by the other player does not make any difference to...
  84. One thing to correct (I highlighted it in above...

    One thing to correct (I highlighted it in above quote with bold text):
    there is no MUST align. "Must align" rules are only related to Charge, but are optional when doing a Melee attack. Attacker...
  85. Good point. The corner-to-corner touching...

    Good point.

    The corner-to-corner touching Units are 50%/50% Front / Flank aligned, so Attacker (of that Attack) would decide which side it is when an Attack is made as long as it would be at that...
  86. Thanks on this, as I wrote those "correct me if...

    Thanks on this, as I wrote those "correct me if I'm wrong", I agree totally that there is zero evidence for "avoid multiple contact in Charge" -interpretation in the Rule book or in the FAQ: There...
  87. For this, there are multitude of opinions. ...

    For this, there are multitude of opinions.

    Rule book page 18, about Charge:
    The LoS Arc of the target unit must have space for the attacker’s tray to fit (see Determine Line of Sight ...
  88. Replies
    6
    Views
    541

    This is not "official answer", but how I see it:...

    This is not "official answer", but how I see it:

    - (even if comprised from smaller internal things like pivot, moving the tray and then again pivoting,) If a single move begins and ends on top of...
  89. 1st the easy part: Rule book for what is...

    1st the easy part: Rule book for what is engagement is clear:

    Page 7 of Rule book (all versions up to v1.4 at least):

    ENGAGED: A unit is engaged when it is in contact with one or ...
  90. Replies
    4
    Views
    711

    Most common (yet still really rare) scenario...

    Most common (yet still really rare) scenario would be early in the game, to get 2" of shift move with the Tactics Board Free Attack action via NCU (Assuming the game starts slow, and no better use...
  91. Crannogman Warden (KS vs Retail version) VS Martial Superiority (what areattacak abi

    Crannogman Warden KS version has Ranged and Melee Attack icons in Opportunist ability.
    Crannogman Warden Retail version does not have Ranged and Melee icons in Opportunist ability.
    So there has...
  92. Replies
    3
    Views
    460

    Not the way you describe it. Active players could...

    Not the way you describe it. Active players could have reacted when the 1st Counterplot was played, but not anymore when it was resolved.

    Counterplotting of any card (including another...
  93. Replies
    4
    Views
    919

    You (almost) have everything correct. A can...

    You (almost) have everything correct.

    A can legally charge B, as shown in the picture.

    C cannot then legally charge A, as no room for tray to fit.
    There is a rule book entry on tray having to...
  94. In Storm of Swords game mode the one who rolled...

    In Storm of Swords game mode the one who rolled the highest by RAW cannot give the choise of deployment zone to the other player, the rule text is quite definite that the high roller chooses either...
  95. Thread: Stark Bowmen

    by Fronx
    Replies
    23
    Views
    3,535

    This has not been clarified so far in FAQ nor...

    This has not been clarified so far in FAQ nor ERRATA (current being v1.4).
  96. My interpretation, strictly looking at the rules....

    My interpretation, strictly looking at the rules. Main focus on below bolded text.

    Rule book Deployment (related to the question):
    • Once the battlefield has been set up, each player should then...
  97. Replies
    3
    Views
    755

    Lion's Wrath is a Tactics Card of Tywin...

    Lion's Wrath is a Tactics Card of Tywin Commander.

    The interesting portion of it says following:
    Until the end of the round, all Weakened enemies suffer -1 [Speed] and trigger a Disorderly...
  98. Thread: Storm of Swords

    by Fronx
    Replies
    3
    Views
    455

    At the start of the round, the Attacker ...

    At the start of the round, the Attacker may redeploy any friendly Combat Units that were previously destroyed, placing them anywhere in their Deployment Zone. Characters do not redeploy...
  99. Replies
    2
    Views
    390

    Tough one. My ruling would be, that you can...

    Tough one.

    My ruling would be, that you can play, as the action is over (the rule is you cannot play cards for the rest of the action).
    It has been said elsewhere by Michael related to other...
  100. Replies
    2
    Views
    391

    No, does not lose, as it is Innate Ability.

    No, does not lose, as it is Innate Ability.
  101. Thread: Winds of winter

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    684

    Cannot score for something that is no longer in...

    Cannot score for something that is no longer in game.

    So no.
  102. Replies
    6
    Views
    974

    I would say that it is a bit unclear, and I have...

    I would say that it is a bit unclear, and I have been of different opinion before.

    But that "any time" definitely looks definite, that it is a condition you constantly follow-up and act upon, if...
  103. Replies
    7
    Views
    737

    The "critical blow" is not counted until the...

    The "critical blow" is not counted until the final results. You ignore the sixes from the dices that you reroll.

    In above scenario, if your opponent asks you to reroll all hits, you reroll 5 dice,...
  104. Replies
    9
    Views
    773

    Funny note by the way, if the small tray would...

    Funny note by the way, if the small tray would attack the large tray, it would be clearly in the flank of the large tray. But is large tray in flank or in front of the small tray? Rule book doesn't...
  105. Replies
    9
    Views
    773

    This should be now clear with the FAQ/Errata/Rule...

    This should be now clear with the FAQ/Errata/Rule book v1.3 and v1.4, these exact items were clarified in these:
    Legal charge and end point, that is how it would go.

    However, it is not clarified...
  106. Replies
    7
    Views
    737

    I don't fully follow you comment but I will try....

    I don't fully follow you comment but I will try.

    You do not count hits until rerolls are completed. Rerolls are not additive, they replace the results.
    So e.g. if you had 4x sixes, and you reroll...
  107. Replies
    10
    Views
    769

    That is not what the card says. The card says...

    That is not what the card says. The card says quite clearly ”each time an enemy loses models”. Then it limits the trigger more by defining that only in ”attack” and in ”panic test”.

    In your...
  108. Replies
    10
    Views
    769

    Even with that logic it would trigger twice, as...

    Even with that logic it would trigger twice, as it says "each time an enemy loses models...". The loss of models clearly can happen twice in an attack, 1st in the Attack resolution, and 2nd time in...
  109. Replies
    1
    Views
    327

    Yes, Tully's abitily could bring that one chosen...

    Yes, Tully's abitily could bring that one chosen Outrider Unit to table already on round 1.
  110. To my understanding, singular Pivot counts as a...

    To my understanding, singular Pivot counts as a move, even if you do not move in any other way. E.g. Pivot after unengagement (if you choose to do that) e.g. due to enemy retreat counts to my...
  111. Replies
    2
    Views
    372

    As said above. Attack and Activation are not...

    As said above.

    Attack and Activation are not synonymous.
    If you do not Activate, you do not place activation marker (unless rules / text in the card say to place activation marker without...
  112. Thread: Tully Valor

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    490

    Seems excessive and unneccesary to have the word...

    Seems excessive and unneccesary to have the word "this" there, but the intent is clear and cannot really be misinterpreted.
  113. Thread: Castle Walls

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    524

    If terrain (or Unit, or anything in the game) is...

    If terrain (or Unit, or anything in the game) is destroyed, isn't it removed from the table?
    So wouldn't also Castle Walls be removed from the table when destroyed?
  114. Thread: Pivot

    by Fronx
    Replies
    16
    Views
    931

    Point two is also Illegal. To pivot like so, your...

    Point two is also Illegal. To pivot like so, your tray must have been over the impassable terrain when you pivoted it. Unless you have some dimensional portal gun, that you can just teleport a tray...
  115. Thread: Pivot

    by Fronx
    Replies
    16
    Views
    931

    I'm not sure how to read this, so I just in case...

    I'm not sure how to read this, so I just in case copy paste this from the latest rule book: All steps of a Charge are treated as a single move.
  116. Replies
    4
    Views
    552

    To expand on that why I said "for some strange...

    To expand on that why I said "for some strange reason": There are good reasons for the rule, at least one I could think of is that one could abuse then pivot in Charge to charge over impassable...
  117. Replies
    4
    Views
    552

    Illegal, but for different reason. Play area...

    Illegal, but for different reason. Play area borders are impassable. Unit cannot pivot over impassable terrain (for some strange reason). Unit on the left is touching play area border, which...
  118. Thread: A link to FAQ

    by Fronx
    Replies
    2
    Views
    740

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs Under tab...

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs

    Under tab "Updated F.A.Q.s".
  119. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    I agree with last sentence about FAQ and Rule...

    I agree with last sentence about FAQ and Rule book clearly stating how it goes, but funnily we have totally differing interpretation =)

    I would like to point out, that my view of ruling does not...
  120. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    Revisiting this after some extra thought. On...

    Revisiting this after some extra thought.

    On the topic 'FAQ entry about "being able to engage multiple units in a Charge"', does it trump or not trump the existing rules. My verdict is that it...
  121. 100% aligned is synonym for "center-to-center"...

    100% aligned is synonym for "center-to-center" engagement. In that scenario that LoS Arc cannot be Charged as per rule book (even if there would be space).

    "The LoS /Arc of the target unit must...
  122. Definitely difficult to answer, but I would...

    Definitely difficult to answer, but I would consider RAW ruling that it can.

    As you read the texts of your cards, is it Ghost? Is it Jon Snow (either of them)? Yes, and yes. So it should work, as...
  123. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,765

    Actually, your statement is incorrect. Here is...

    Actually, your statement is incorrect. Here is extract from the latest rule book (the relevant part has been same from v1.0), which via example ties word "pivot" to facing change in Melee Attack (see...
  124. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,765

    Negative, that is not what I am saying either. ...

    Negative, that is not what I am saying either.


    I am saying, that if unit gets stuck with impassable terrain (which is the discussion topic of this topic), it being within "1 of the Unit's front,...
  125. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    2,054

    If you read the whole post through, (one of the)...

    If you read the whole post through, (one of the) issue(s) is the trigger of the said Free Maneuver being shared with the Ride-By Attack Tactic Card trigger. As/If both are voluntary, only one can be...
  126. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    2,054

    This is option, yes. But there is no RAW evidence...

    This is option, yes. But there is no RAW evidence for this interpretation (without FAQ / errata -entry), so without official ruling stating this option, this is not a real option (until that happens).
  127. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    2,054

    In my opinion the card itself is quite clear...

    In my opinion the card itself is quite clear English, it says "As its action, that unit may pivot...".
    It does not say (e.g.) "Instead of its action, that unit [now immediately still during this...
  128. Replies
    9
    Views
    746

    This would be the current RAW interpretation: one...

    This would be the current RAW interpretation: one or the other.
  129. Replies
    9
    Views
    746

    You are correct, that that is how it shows. I...

    You are correct, that that is how it shows.

    I do agree Alliser, as I have seen various comments from Michael Shinall here on Forum, Facebook and even in Discord, that make what Alliser says...
  130. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    2,054

    Main question was: How does Ride-by Attack work?...

    Main question was:
    How does Ride-by Attack work?

    Boils down to two (sub-)questions:

    A) Is the trigger for Cavalry's Innate Ability's Free Maneuver and Ride-by Attack same or different?
    Can...
  131. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,169

    This is now indeed explained in the rule book: ...

    This is now indeed explained in the rule book:

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs/

    Note that a Retreat is subject to all normal movement rules . This means there can be situations where a unit...
  132. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    2,054

    This is definitely the question where it boils...

    This is definitely the question where it boils down to.
    (Unless there is second option, where rules need to be clarified on Cavalry Free Maneuver being actually mandatory, but no use to speculate on...
  133. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,765

    This Michael's comment is not entirely true: also...

    This Michael's comment is not entirely true: also enemy can cause movement to an Unit, via Charge align (at least, future content excluded as cannot know of such).

    Example: Charge Unit on rear,...
  134. On personal interest on game design, that pivot...

    On personal interest on game design, that pivot rule feels like it is bringing more problems than what it is fixing. But the rule seems to be quite clear as written.

    Pivot rule on impassable is...
  135. Replies
    7
    Views
    715

    I agree, this is unclear. There are triggers...

    I agree, this is unclear.

    There are triggers even in FAQ, which are very differently worded, yet are same trigger (looking at certain Stark Tactics Cards).
    Here the difference is quite minimal.
  136. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    2,054

    My answer is yes, you could change your mind and...

    My answer is yes, you could change your mind and not do that effect even after you played this card, and can choose other actions instead, and you could do other things also (whatever you can do...
  137. Replies
    9
    Views
    924

    Yes, NCU Tyrion works in that scenario. And...

    Yes, NCU Tyrion works in that scenario. And actually worth mentioning, you *must* activate all your Units during a round. Even in case of full Tactics board, you must activate the remaining NCU(s) at...
  138. Thread: Overrun

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    501

    Ah, thanks, that is correct.

    Ah, thanks, that is correct.
  139. Thread: Overrun

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    501

    I'm not sure if I am reading this right.. ...

    I'm not sure if I am reading this right..

    Afaik it must be legal charge as per normal rules (as nothing in the ability states otherwise), thus the target must be in line of sight at the beginning...
  140. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    Yes. FAQ states that multiple units can be...

    Yes. FAQ states that multiple units can be engaged. The quoted rule part though states that only 2 per side, with quite definite word "never". They do not contradict each other, two on multiple sides...
  141. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    100% align with middle one in given example would...

    100% align with middle one in given example would go against written rule from rule book (any version, including latest v1.2), as there 3 units would be engaged on the attacking Units same [tray]...
  142. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    To me, it sounds like one of these options,...

    To me, it sounds like one of these options, depending on situation and spacing:

    - Illegal charge, if attacker cannot end the Charge being aligned only two on same side of tray.
    - Attacker aligns...
  143. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    FAQ v1.2: Q: Can I end a Charge action engaged...

    FAQ v1.2:

    Q: Can I end a Charge action engaged with multiple enemies? If so, what happens?
    A: Yes. Although rare, after all alignment is completed from a successful Charge, the...
  144. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    My understanding is, that the new clarification...

    My understanding is, that the new clarification does not trump other existing rules, and the part about 2 per tray side was not removed / modified.

    Thus you can engage multiple Units in one charge...
  145. One such indication is at least the FAQ'd fact,...

    One such indication is at least the FAQ'd fact, that if you lose an attachment on an Unit (presume Unit has 2 attachments), then heal that same Unit, you only get regular model back, not the lost...
  146. Yep, to extend to this reply, Solo Units...

    Yep, to extend to this reply, Solo Units (Monsters, War Machines and such that are counted as one model) are exception to the rule, and they themself state how much they have room for Wounds.
  147. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,711

    this tread is a bit messy, so I don't recommend...

    this tread is a bit messy, so I don't recommend reading it for rule clarifications. Especially as the rules / interpretations have changed a bit as we are now in rule book version 1.2.

    However,...
  148. This has been discussed actually earlier, here...

    This has been discussed actually earlier, here official answer from the game developer:
    ...
  149. You're bolding the wrong part. This is the key...

    You're bolding the wrong part. This is the key point in the card:
    "[...] that unit suffers only 1 wound for every two unblocked Hits (discarding any remainders)"

    The card does not really interact...
  150. You are asking the wrong question, there are no...

    You are asking the wrong question, there are no "stronger" or "weaker" abilities, there are just rules and order which they are played at.
    The exact answer to your question is, that later card...
  151. Replies
    8
    Views
    1,338

    Sure. This is just matter of money: Shipping...

    Sure. This is just matter of money: Shipping costs are quite flat (to some extent), but taxes/duties are in (most) european countries percentage (%) of the value of the goods, and the percentage is...
  152. Replies
    8
    Views
    1,338

    I can report also this in Finland. I have...

    I can report also this in Finland.

    I have pre-ordered following items:
    1x Pyromancers
    2x Greataxes
    1x Nights Watch starter

    Only item I have received in December are the Pyromancers. Rest of...
  153. Replies
    15
    Views
    1,183

    This is the actual quote from the rule book: ...

    This is the actual quote from the rule book:

    When a Combat Unit performs a Maneuver action, it may first
    be pivoted to face any direction. You may then move it directly
    forward up to its Speed...
  154. Replies
    4
    Views
    515

    I would play 1v1v1 using Hexagon shape to make...

    I would play 1v1v1 using Hexagon shape to make everyone equally far away from each other (and then place terrain and objective tokens similarly in equal way).

    This would be house ruling it though.
  155. Clarified in current FAQ v1.2: CALCULATED ...

    Clarified in current FAQ v1.2:

    CALCULATED CRUELTY (Roose Bolton, Lord of the Dreadfort)
    Q:
    For this, and similar cards, if something would cancel the token’s
    effect does it in...
  156. This has now been changed in v1.2: Before, it...

    This has now been changed in v1.2:

    Before, it was allowed (pre-v1.2 rules). Now it is different, errataed so that above is not anymore possible:

    Pivot Attacker:
    The attacker may then ...
  157. Replies
    6
    Views
    1,487

    I think this was not included in the FAQ update...

    I think this was not included in the FAQ update of v1.2.
    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs
  158. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,275

    Question "When Charging, is it allowed to end up...

    Question "When Charging, is it allowed to end up in contact with multiple enemy trays, if the move is otherwise legal?" is answered now in FAQ v1.2:

    Q:
    Can I end a Charge action engaged with...
  159. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,880

    Note: in Rule book version v1.2, the Pivot is...

    Note: in Rule book version v1.2, the Pivot is part of the Charge as one same move. Thus the latter discussion (after Michael's last response) is no longer valid for rule book v1.2 onward....
  160. Thread: Ramsay and NW

    by Fronx
    Replies
    2
    Views
    323

    I don't understand the question. The Tactics...

    I don't understand the question.

    The Tactics Card "Our blades are sharp" specifies melee attack as the trigger: "When a friendly unit attacks with melee".

    Builder Scorpion Crew has only Ranged...
  161. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,323

    Yes, Correct.

    Yes, Correct.
  162. Replies
    2
    Views
    434

    To add to this reply; There were no designated...

    To add to this reply;

    There were no designated suggested keywords for the hills in the KS.

    See earlier post here on this exact same topic, if you want official CMON suggestions:...
  163. Thread: NCU Triggers

    by Fronx
    Replies
    9
    Views
    765

    I agree you make a point for inconsistency in the...

    I agree you make a point for inconsistency in the text of this card. "You" would point to the player, thus your interpretation does have a logical rationale why you (not Rodrik!) would come into that...
  164. As we are in rule question area, please quote the...

    As we are in rule question area, please quote the relevant part that says so. I cannot find that directly said in the rule book.
  165. Even though I said in my earlier comment, that I...

    Even though I said in my earlier comment, that I see no Faction bias on the scenario, I do feel that Stark with Robb is extremely good for this scenario.
    All that extra maneuverability is golden.
    ...
  166. Mobility / Maneuverability is key in this...

    Mobility / Maneuverability is key in this scenario.
    Then Panic Tests with negative modifiers are important.
    And for that reason, Good Morale stat is extremely good in this scenario.

    Both right...
  167. Vow is not "using an Order" (no order token icon...

    Vow is not "using an Order" (no order token icon in any of the existing vows), nor is it "playing Tactics Card" (as it has been already played and resolved earlier if it is already attached), both...
  168. To me Alliser's comment make perfect sense, only...

    To me Alliser's comment make perfect sense, only with one objection:

    While I agree point three above is the likely correct answer, it could also be point two. As in point three, also in point two...
  169. Incorrect. - The linked thread discusses about...

    Incorrect.

    - The linked thread discusses about totally different thing, it is a topic about "can I make an Unit something else by just attaching an attachment to it" (which it cannot).

    -...
  170. How to handle other enemy units that could be connected during Charge aligning

    How to handle other units during Charge aligning move, that you might become in touch with when contacting your target?

    Rule book quote:
    • Units may never end a move within 1” of an enemy unless...
  171. A Dance With Dragons -game-mode movement restriction VS Superior Positioning (Robb)

    Regarding the Game Modes v1.0:
    https://asoif.s3.amazonaws.com/pdf/pdf/pdf/24/GameModes_v1.0.pdf

    A Dance With Dragons -game-mode has following movement restriction:
    "While controlling an...
  172. Replies
    2
    Views
    441

    It is correct, that rule book does not have...

    It is correct, that rule book does not have ruling on such pivot, so RAW is no pivot in that scenario.
    The Surge Forth rule part (about the pivot) is tied into attacker being the source (not to...
  173. Replies
    9
    Views
    625

    Do note that the House from attachments is...

    Do note that the House from attachments is additive, it does not remove the previous House / Faction defined for the Unit.
    And do note you have mistake above: the restriction is not Bolton only, it...
  174. Here the rule book v1.1 text for both terrain...

    Here the rule book v1.1 text for both terrain types:

    HINDERING:
    Units must roll 2 dice when Charging through this Terrain and select the lowest result. When Charging, units suffer a...
  175. I find this answer lacking, as hindering and...

    I find this answer lacking, as hindering and rough have clearly different wording and text. Other has more conditions than other. So why would they be ruled same way, if the triggering conditions are...
  176. Replies
    1
    Views
    292

    Simultaneous actions rule kicks in. Active player...

    Simultaneous actions rule kicks in. Active player rerolls first.

    So charge bonus reroll first, then the weakened.


    In theory, attacks that happen on enemy turn (like halberdiers order) would...
  177. My apologies! My answer above is totally...

    My apologies! My answer above is totally incorrect.

    The answer as far as I know is, both hits from the 6 gain the benefit, as they come from the 6.

    I almost feel like I have seen this...
  178. EDIT: Ignore this post, not answering to the...

    EDIT: Ignore this post, not answering to the asked question



    As per rule book, keywords do not stack.

    So adding Critical Blow to Unit that has Critical Blow does nothing.

    However, if the...
  179. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    4,047

    I'm starting no notice a pattern (from previous...

    I'm starting no notice a pattern (from previous messages on this forum and on other sources), that if Allister makes a comment on how to interpret the game rules, it is very likely correct ruling as...
  180. Replies
    4
    Views
    715

    I think this is the RAW interpretation, there is...

    I think this is the RAW interpretation, there is no basis in the rule book to define vows as abilities.

    And there is already a similar thing happening in the Stark and Lannister starter: the NCU's...
  181. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,169

    This works. Rules definitely need clarification.

    This works. Rules definitely need clarification.
  182. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,169

    Incorrect. You quote only partially. This is the...

    Incorrect. You quote only partially. This is the exact quote from rule book, page 16:

    Additionally, if, after the Retreat is completed, the enemy unit (or
    units) are now unengaged, each of those...
  183. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,169

    I'm playing as much according to rules as I can....

    I'm playing as much according to rules as I can. So as there is nothing in the rules about saying otherwise, must read it "as it is in the rules".

    With that logic, the way I have started resolving...
  184. Replies
    2
    Views
    604

    Helsinki, Finland (Europe). Still waiting even...

    Helsinki, Finland (Europe).

    Still waiting even Greataxes and Pyromancers. NW should in theory be here today, but I strongly doubt it.
  185. I agree with this, the deginition of "voluntary"...

    I agree with this, the deginition of "voluntary" and "mandatory" effects is a bit unclear in this game currently, as this many differing interpretations rise from card to card.
  186. Where have you learned that 'Bravery in the face...

    Where have you learned that 'Bravery in the face of Death' is voluntary?


    I consider Eddard's 'Bravery in the face of Death' as mandatory effect, as it says "When a friendy unit passes a Morale...
  187. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    4,047

    Oh boy would it be nice to get an official answer...

    Oh boy would it be nice to get an official answer to this.

    In this tournament, judge made an error:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cDWJ2UA1Ao&feature=youtu.be&t=1425

    This would be exact case...
  188. I would consider that simultaneous turns effect...

    I would consider that simultaneous turns effect happens here, as both happen at the same time.

    Rule book page 19, Resolving Attacks:
    • Surge Forth! •
    If the attacker completely destroys the...
  189. Replies
    10
    Views
    600

    Good question. RAW interpretation of Tully is,...

    Good question.

    RAW interpretation of Tully is, that the effect remains, as the Order lacks the "...this turn" part of the text which is present in the Assault Veteran.
    Would need official...
  190. Replies
    2
    Views
    588

    There is nothing in the rules preventing this. ...

    There is nothing in the rules preventing this.

    So I see no reason why Unit could not take multiple objectives at the same time, by using the diagonal length of an Unit to one's benefit.
  191. Replies
    2
    Views
    443

    Cruel Methods + Order: Sic'em -timing?

    If I target Bastard's Girls with Cruel Methods, and I get to trigger Sic'em against that enemy after that free attack (the targeted enemy unit did not die from that one ranged attack yet), which...
  192. Replies
    4
    Views
    413

    This raises timing question for me: if an Unit...

    This raises timing question for me:

    if an Unit is destoyed due to Panic Test in this game mode, does that Unit still get that extra VP token (which goes directly to the enemy player with the other...
  193. Replies
    4
    Views
    413

    Thanks, I also had gotten this wrong! Explains...

    Thanks, I also had gotten this wrong!

    Explains why that game mode felt a bit low on points (but couldnt figure what it was that we were playing wrong). Now that i read it, it is clear. But I can...
  194. Thread: Cunning Ploy

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    831

    Wouldn't hurt. So far (until clarified) I...

    Wouldn't hurt.

    So far (until clarified) I personally would play it like this:
    - The activating unit (that will not do its action this turn) will get all the benefits (or negative effects) of...
  195. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,169

    There is nothing in the rule book that would...

    There is nothing in the rule book that would allow tray-to-tray connection without being engaged. There is however this part that says other way. Rule book page 7:

    ENGAGED: A unit is engaged when...
  196. Another example of search not working:...

    Another example of search not working:
    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/search.php?searchid=3019404
    I search user "Fronx" for text "aligned". I get four results, but this post is not included in...
  197. Replies
    5
    Views
    511

    I have wondered this myself also, but rules are...

    I have wondered this myself also, but rules are written as they are.


    HINDERING: Units must roll 2 dice when Charging through
    this Terrain and select the lowest result. When Charging, units...
  198. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    4,047

    To formulate above spam into a form of a...

    To formulate above spam into a form of a questions that can be officially answered:

    1. Is there any way that a Charge action could bring more than two non-friendly Units in to a (non-corner)...
  199. Forum search not working well for this game specific discussion

    Hi,

    there starts to be lot of questions and answers on this A Song of Ice & Fire: TMG forum, and if I want to search official answers from CMON employees given in this exact forum area, I do not...
  200. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    4,047

    This mechanic (of being in contact but not...

    This mechanic (of being in contact but not engaged) is not mentioned at all in the asoiaf rule book, so this mechanic does not help here when asking about asoiaf rules, if playing with official rules.
Results 1 to 200 of 318
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->