The way I read it, Jarl can use his ability at the beginning of the game to not be deployed causing the FF player to only start with a single unit deployed. In this situation, Jarl would not be in...
Type: Posts; User: MechMage
The way I read it, Jarl can use his ability at the beginning of the game to not be deployed causing the FF player to only start with a single unit deployed. In this situation, Jarl would not be in...
I'm not sure about most of those question but You can't play two copies of Ride-By Attack in the same turn because you can only play one tactics card or use one order in any given order/tactics...
From the Free Folk FAQ:
ENDLESS HORDE
Q: Can this re-deploy Character units?
A: Yes.
Since neither Free Folk Trappers nor Free Folk Raiders are Character units, it must be possible for this card...
That was my thought as well but it seems unintuitive so I thought someone might be able to think of a reason it would be illegal.
I thought not being about to engage more than one unit of the same size on a unit's side was intentional but maybe it's meant to be the other way.
When one unit successfully charges another, it is either aligned so that it has 50% contact with the defender or 100% contact. If both faces in contact are the same length, this is simple, but what...
Suppose a unit of Dothraki Screamers activates and the Targaryen player plays Khal Drogo's Ride-By-Attack card. During the Charge Attack granted by this card, the still unengaged unit of Screamers...
It depends how the unit was destroyed. If a unit of Veterans of the Watch attacks a unit of Sworn Swords with Greatjon Umber, dealing enough wounds to destroy it, the night's watch player is active...
Cavalry trays are not perfectly square but near square rectangles so in this situation they behave the same as infantry trays. In the case of solos, which are squares, it depends what the angle of...
Melisandre's player will be the active player when she activates, so Sacrifice to the Lord of Light will activate before anything the opponent does in that same window. This prevents her effect from...
Mammoths are referenced in the books but I don't remember any first hand accounts of them.
You got an answer, it just didn't satisfy you. Maybe someone will come along with a different answer eventually but I doubt there will be a more compelling case for it.
Thanks!
Units that align onto dangerous terrain take damage from it as normal as Charging is performing an action.
Suppose a unit of Stark Sworn Swords charges a unit of Lannister Guardsmen. The Stark player rolls a 2 for charge distance, which is enough distance to reach the Guardsmen. When the Stark player...
Taking a panic test has no effect on a units ability to take additional panic tests that same turn.
If Varys negates the effect of the zone, there's nothing for NCUs like Petyr or Craster to replace. If your opponent is activating an NCU with a replace effect, don't use your Varys to negate their...
That's a can of worms that the game has already opened though. Any position that a unit can shift to before making a melee attack is one it could align to after making a successful charge. ...
The trouble is, you imagined that clause "nor am currently engaged with". The one inch rule calls out charging as an exception but makes no mention of engagement. If you have to fabricate unwritten...
I don't have much practical experience to back this up, but I theorize that with the 1.5 changes, KG aren't as hard countered by Stonethrowers as they first seem. Since they can spend a banner for a...
The rule that allows units to shift before making melee attacks is sadly not specific about suspending the 1" rule for this movement. If it wasn't an exception to the 1" rule in some capacity, the...
But the rule isn't "Units may never end a move within 1” of an enemy of which it did not start that move within 1", except when moving as part of a Charge action."
It is "Units may never end a move...
The way "would" is usually used in this sort of game, "If <object> would <verb>:" is read as "If <object> would <verb> if this ability was not used:". It's used to indicate that the chance to use an...
So you think this rule considers the currently unengaged Mountain's Men but doesn't consider the currently engaged halberdiers? If it stops the shift to engage the second unit, why wouldn't stop any...
Suppose a unit of Lannister Mountain's Men and a unit of Lannister Halberdiers are side by side, touching in the flank. A unit of Stark Sworn Swords charges the Mountain's Men, choosing to align 50%...
Point out to your friends the line "For each unblocked Hit, the defender suffers 1 Wound." on page 17 of the rulebook and the line "If this attack generates any Hits," from the Savage Giant's Might...
Counterplot is played when the opponent plays a tactics card. Any time a tactics card is played, a new order/tactics window is created in which Counterplot can be played. Since Counterplot is...
Martial Superiority also negates abilities granted from attachments such as Boldness and Courage and any orders the unit has access to such as Cut Them Down! Note that it does not remove active...
If a unit has "House Clegane" in its name, it's a House Clegane unit for the purpose of tactics cards. So too for House Umber, Crannogman, House Tully, House Bolton, Bloody Mummer and Stormcrow.
I believe Boros has to be in play after the attack has been completed to use Vegeance of the Crown so he can't use it on the attack that wipes out his unit.
When a unit redeploys using the scenario rule from CoK, it deploys with attachments even if those attachment were previously removed by the effects of Jamie Lannister Kingsguard, Yggrite Spearwife...
Ygritte blanks both attachments and NCU influence. You can not choose to only blank some such negating an opponent's influence but not your attachment. If there was a choice the word "choose" would...
I couldn't find any references in the 1.5 rulebook to blocking wounds, only hits and line of sight. The general consensus seems to be that it's a lot like blocking hits and in no way like blocking...
The rule for critical blow is: Rolls of 6 cause 2 Hits.
The rule for reckless strike is: Hits from rolls of 6 do not allow defense saves.
If a unit with critical blow as benefiting from reckless...
The 1.4 version is still in War Council so I think it's still live.
This question is clearly whether or not passing the morale test negates the d3 wounds, which it does. The answer seems to assume that the test will assuredly happen which is strange because the...
Dice roll modifiers work differently in this game than some others so for convenience here is the relevant section from page 24 of the version 1.4 rulebook.
Dice Roll Modifiers
Some effects...
Exactly, War Machines don't make morale tests. But Paid Mutiny doesn't require the targeted unit to make a morale test to affect it. It gives a morale check, and if that check is passed, nothing...
I don't understand your logic here. An affect is applied if the affected unit does not pass a morale test. A war machine can not make a morale test therefore it can not pass a morale test. Since...
I've got no idea where Oakwolf's interpretation is coming from. Wishful thinking that the game would be intuitive maybe? Paid Mutiny blanks a unit if it can't pass a morale test. Since war...
What other attack abilities are there that a unit can gain or lose based on a condition that can change during an attack? Maybe there's something else I'm not thinking of but as far as I can...
I would have thought that only one token can be expended at a time, but rereading the ability without that assumption it isn't as cut and dry as I expected. Contrast the Poor Fellows' Fanatical Zeal...
Free attacks are very powerful and dealing the unit two wounds synergizes with Stag Knights' Unwavering Fury but two points is very expensive for an attachments. The ideal opponent for Stag Knights...
From page 26 of the rulebook:
• DANGEROUS: Units performing Actions while within this
terrain piece, or units that cross it while moving, suffer
D3+1 Wounds after completing that Action/move.
I...
Page 19 of the rulebook lists the steps of performing an attack.
-Determine Attack Dice
-Roll Attack Dice
-Defender Rolls Defense Dice
-Defender Suffers Wounds
-Defender Makes Panic Test
...
If CTD read "Whenever an enemy engaged with this unit fails a Panic Test, they suffer 2 Wounds." then it would be interpreted as "2 Wounds instead of the difference between their Panic Test result...
They don't gain vicious after the attack has occurred. They gain vicious during the attack after models are removed from the wounds inflicted by unblocked hits but before the panic test is made.
Does it matter whether they had Vicious when the attack is initiated though? If they have it when the panic test is made wouldn't that be when it matters?
I wouldn't be so sure about that. Stannis gives his unit Critical Blow with scales well with both the number of attack dice a unit can roll and the quality of the other keywords on that attack. Out...
Suppose Alester Florent, Lord of Brightwater, claims the crown zone and the Barathian player plays Stannis Baratheon's, the Rightful Heir, tactic card Will of the One True King to replace the crown...
Suppose the Lannister player controls the crown and Mandon Moore, Kingsguard, is in a unit with three ranks remaining that makes a melee attack against a unit with three ranks remaining. The attack...
Stacking usually refers to bonuses and penalties with the same name so don't know if suffering damage from two sources with the same name counts as stacking. For example, if a unit marches across...
My interpretation is that when Jaqen uses Taking a New Name you physically remove his miniature and replace it in the unit with the previously destroyed attachment, gaining control of it as you...