This specific example is shown on page 27 of the rulebook, on the top right. You draw a double spawn card, which means you must then drawn two cards for the next zone. If both of those cards are...
Type: Posts; User: Loophole Master
This specific example is shown on page 27 of the rulebook, on the top right. You draw a double spawn card, which means you must then drawn two cards for the next zone. If both of those cards are...
Please contact support@cmon.com and we will send you a replacement Heimdall. Sorry about that.
Cleave only allows you to target extra enemies close to yourself. So Johan can attack a distant enemy, and also target all enemies close to himself (Johan). He would not be able to target extra...
He can't undo a glorious victory with his ability.
Death Swarm is triggered by rolling any CRITS, so its effect takes place immediately after your attack roll, it doesn't matter whether you kill or overkill your target.
The core rules explain that Extra Reroll, Extra Defense, and Extra Life icons on any card are always active, regardless of whether the card is being activated at the moment, or even if it's...
Frostbite's ability applies to itself. Since it's an attack card, the +2 dice bonus applies only to attacks made with it.
Technically the target would be moved by Wind Blast before he had a chance to die.
Yes, late backers (and $1 backers) don't get the survey. But don't worry, you'll still be included in the Pledge Manager.
Never fear, the future is bright for Arcadia!
The bonus is applied to the team stats, so even without a live card, the bonus is still valid.
He should decide the order in which the Defense dice are rolled, since the effects from those rolls will be applied immediately after each roll.
Correction: Since the defenses are simultaneous, it is the active player who decides in which order to execute them.
Yes, that is a typo on the legend.
Unless stated otherwise, any special abilities or effects must be activated before rolling the dice. So when you're building your attack dice pool, you choose to use Crushing Gauntlet, taking one...
Yes, if your Hero card is not exhausted, you can still exhaust it to avoid suffering the extra Hate damage.
Yes, the "suicide rule" forbids you from killing your own heroes. So if swapping out a card would kill your hero, you are not allowed to move it. You'll need to recover enough life so that the card...
That is correct.
Killing the Troll grants you one Reward card, killing the Minotaur grants you the other. It's impossible to kill either of them twice since they're Villains, and Villains don't go to the Spawn tile...
Unless stated otherwise, a Hero needs to be active to use his permanent abilities. While the Soulstone is certainly usable out of turn to keep you alive, you can only take a wound to activate the...
Monkey Queen can copy a single ability per turn.
Yes, the door is always considered to be closed, so no LOS can be traced through it. The only thing about the door is that a Guild that has accumulated 5 coins may move through it, that's all.
As...
I don't believe such a rule exists.
Sure thing! Yep, the Extra Turn potion can only be used to give the hero another full activation. It can't be used to rest.
All you need in order to pick up a Quest token on your space is to be the active hero and for there not to be any enemies in your space.
Yes, that is correct.
You can't choose something you cannot do. If you choose to exhaust cards instead of taking extra damage, you need to have at least one card to exhaust.
The Queen of Beggars is similar, you have to...
Yep, all your conclusions are correct.
Yes, if his bonus move triggers a guard reaction, it needs to be executed normally (before performing the intended move). Then afterwards the payback reaction would be executed.
Yes, even if you rest, it's still your turn.
Yes all around.
You can only reroll a CRIT (and thus ignore its original result) before rolling the extra die for the CRIT. Once you "accept" the CRIT result by rolling the extra die, that CRIT can't be rerolled.
The Monkey King's ability itself does not trigger Guard Reaction, since it "places" him in a Close Space, not "Moves" him.
Page 13:
Each player gets a fixed income of 3 extra coins per Year, that are added to the other coins earned or saved from the previous Years (including the 5 starting coins).
No, her ability takes place whenever she would get a Tactic card.
Yes, at the beginning of each of your turns, the Genesis Glass takes effect. It doesn't matter what you do on that turn.
1. No. All Moves must always follow the Move rules. So no Moving through Blocked Spaces.
2. Move rules are in reference to the character moving through the board. It doesn't matter what's causing...
1. If the hero has no card slots available and he wants to keep the new card, he'll have to discard something.
2. Yes.
3. Usually the scenarios tell you to exchange the Quest token for the reward...
Yes, you get to finish your turn before finishing the scenario.
1. The card text always relate to the Hero who has it, so the Crown takes affect at the start of that Hero's activation.
2. The Crown can deal 1 Wound to any Close Enemies, so it may be multiple...
Please contact support@cmon.com and they should take care of your monkey.
Option 2 is correct.
That is correct. Guard Reactions take place before the intended move is executed.
Yes, they are extra Movement Points, not extra Moves, so he could also open/close a door, use a portal, etc.
"Right after attacking", "use immediately".
Option A - The extra Movement Points should be used before any Payback Reactions. The Monster will only be out of your way if you manage to Overkill.
Certainly rules on cards take precedence over rules on the book. The game wouldn't make much sense otherwise.
If you played the game with Wisp ignoring Guard Reaction when moving, you already...
Yes, the LOS can skim a corner at any angle.
You are correct. As shown in the 3rd diagram of page 16, the attack "2" skims a corner at a shallower angle and is not blocked.
No, he can't use his power on himself.
Yep, that is correct.
In that case it's maybe a bit of a poor choice of words. If you have an active hero on the space and no enemies there, you may pick up the token.
If that were the wording, then it wouldn't trigger Guard Reaction.
If the monster retalliated, that means you didn't overkill it. So the monster will only die and leave the board (thus allowing you to pick up the token) AFTER his attack is finished. So if his attack...
Wisp does not trigger Guard Reaction when moving. Manipulating a door, using a portal and picking up tokens does not trigger Guard Reaction as a basic rule, so with Wisp it's no different.
...
The only requisite for the extra target of Nova Bolt is that it be Close to the primary target.
The Queen of Beggar's ability triggers when she "end her movement", which is the whole phase of her activation when she can move, open doors, use portals... Das Boot only "moves" the Hero 1 space....
1 - Wind Blast can't move you diagonally.
2 - Only active heroes may pick up tokens from the board.
5 - The Temple door can never be opened, so you can't draw line of sight through it.
If he rolls a CRIT on his defense to the first attack, he can be immediately placed in any available Close Space. If that takes him out of range from the second monster, then he avoids the second...
Core Box:
- 185 cards - 63,5mm x 41,275mm (Upgrades and Death Curses)
- 54 cards - 88mm x 63mm (Monsters and Heroes)
- 21 cards - 120mm x 70mm (Quests)
Beyond the Grave:
- 62 cards -...
Thanks a lot for your support and praise. Hope to see you at GenCon!
Yes all around.
Crowz ignore all terrain elements.
1. Nothing would happen, you damage the space and it's now impossible to enter it. Anything in that space remains there.
2. When you defend successfully against a tackle, you don't have to push...
You can find the final Rulebook, as well as the FAQ, here.
1. They can't. Skimming a wall corner blocks diagonals.
2. Bruisers can never score.
3. Bruiser can pick up, pass or receive the ball. They can't steal the ball.
I would put it thusly:
Live vs Live = Card + stats
Live vs Dead = Live card only
Dead vs Dead = Stats only
Yes, that is exactly how it goes. Team bonuses would only be used if both cards played were dead.
Hello Kaosballers,
The refs have conferred and reached an agreement! Get the official rulings for your pressing questions here.
This will be a live document, updated regularly. So if you've...
Long and revised: No.
After some further discussion with Eric Lang, we decided to tweak the initial ruling. So if you knock someone down with a Boot to the Head card and end your movement in the...
mcs1213's answer applies. When the knocked down player gets back up, he's not "entering the square" so he doesn't get burned.
Exactly. You can't bring in a new ringer, but you can still use the old one.
1) Unless you play a Tactic card that doesn't tell you to activate a figure afterwards, you must always activate a figure on your turn (if you have any). However, you can choose to move 0 spaces with...
Activating a figure is not a pre-requisite, it's just something the card allows you to do afterwards.
No, you're right, joshua. That is the differerence between Overload and Stimpack, one doubles the card, the other doubles your total. Upset is still only concerned with the actual printed value of...
It wouldn't affect a player that is already in the space. You need to "step into" the space with the trash to get knocked down.
I think it's best to mail support@cmon.com.
Short and sweet: Yes.
Hehe, eventually I had to get one in before you!
Actually, the rules on page 21 specifically say: "Any special ability or card that allows diagonals may be blocked by walls. If the diagonal skims the edge of a wall, it is blocked." So you'd be able...
Yes on both accounts.
1) BZZZT is not a Reaction, so it can be used whenever a player enters your killzone, no matter how they do it.
2) BZZZT is not an Attack, so Biru Biru is not immune to it.
That is correct. Picking up the ball not only ends your movement, it pretty much ends your entire turn. You cannot attack or tackle someone after picking up the ball.
Receiving a hand-off, on the...
Yeah, you're right. We should cook up a little update letting you know where everything stands. If we haven't yet, it's only because we've been awfully busy actually making those things happen. For...
Sure, if it makes your gaming experience more fun, all the power to you!
The thing is that the Amazon's ability affect a characteristic that all figures in the game also posses: a killzone. So the Relay Training upgrade compounds on their ability. The Zombies' ability is...
Being the one who rolls the Tiebreaker die is a small advantage, but an advantage nonetheless. It's simply that it always belong to the player whose turn it is, nothing more. So all players can...
That is correct.
mcs1213, you're making my life very easy. Thanks!
Hi folks, welcome to the Dogs of War forums!
Working on this game by Paolo Mori has been a true honor for me, and everyone at Spaghetti Western Games and CoolMiniOrNot are extremely pleased with...
Well, "immediately" refers to the beginning of a turn in which your runner has the ball on a scoring mound. So every beginning of a turn in which this is true, you score.
Yes, the played card would still be a +3, even if you used STIM PACK to double your total, so UPSET! would not work against it.
And STIM PACK doubles your total, which includes your team stats.
Nothing happens. At the beginning of your next turn, if your runner or ringer still has the ball on a scoring mound, you score again.
Yes, you absolutely get Elysia for free if you buy the Beyond the Grave expansion. In that case there's no need to add Elysia in the Pledge Manager.
Unless you have a Hail Mary Play to bring a benched player back into play, the game is basically lost. The opponent would be able to score turn after turn until he wins by a blow-out.
This is great! Love the dug-up grave.
Thanks a lot mcs1213, your answers above are all 100% correct.
Regarding the last one:
Relay Training effectively extends your killzone for hand-offs by one Space. Since killzones don't go...
Hi guys, sorry for the delay, but here are some answers:
Hate is pretty straightforward: "You score 1 point whenever you injure or kill an opponent's figure." So if you cause damage to a...
We certainly will. But everything in due time.
The measurements we're working with is 21cm x 21cm for the tiles. But until they go out to print, there's always the possibility that we might tweak that a bit. I don't think that's likely, but I...
Each of the four guilds has 3 bases in its color that it attaches to its heroes for easy identification. There are 2 extra pink bases that are used to differentiate special monsters on the board,...
@ Moondancer - Yes, those are the numbers of miniatures we're currently working with. There's absolutely no player elimination in the game, though heroes can be (and often are) killed. But they can...
@ highlord tamburine - As I said, guilds are fully customizable. Each player can pick any of the available heroes to join his guild, so there can be a lot of fun mixing and matching. Each guild is...
@ Grim6 - Arcadia Quest has no relationship whatsoever with SDE. It is a brand new game by Spaghetti Western Games whose only similarity with SDE is that they both have an art style known as "chibi"....
Hello everybody! If you're here you've probably seen some info and pics starting to pop up here and there about CoolMiniOrNot's upcoming adventure game: Arcadia Quest!
In case you haven't, well,...
Yep, can't see anything wrong with that. The defender should probably try to run into cover with a non-infantry unit, scatter to minimize his losses, or bait the tank in a direction that is less...
And Bulldoguk wins Rivet Wars.
Thank you all for playing, but we have found the winner.
Truly, man, your work is mesmerizing. I can hardly believe you have the same minis as I do. It kinda...
And his loving students!
25709
Wow, this last one is actually very pretty!
Suggestion: Use the alternate Terror Nova sculpt you'll be getting to use as a Treasure Hunter.
What puzzles me is why "Deutschland" is misspelled in that 1st poster.
Only one infantry unit.
Yep, sorry, there's no fuzziness concerning this, cap. All those diagrams offered by our fellow gamers are correct.
I agree with the assessment that the +1 to the infantry move granted by Runner gets ignored when they use Rapid Assault, since that ability specifically state exactly how many Movement Points they...
Hey, might as well chime in!
São Paulo, Brazil.
Yes, the movement diagram in the rulebook shows a Rocket Bike crossing a friendly grid that contains only 1 free space, which is less than it would need in order to end its movement there.
Well, the rules don't cover that because it makes abslutely no difference. Whether you put soldiers on 3 and 4, or on 1 and 2, all that matters is that the one on on the lowest number will be...
Yep, the fact that this interview is 6 months old should be taken into consideration in regards to its "news" value.
Yes, that's pretty much it. The gas cloud attack has the same attack value as the original gas attack.
Just a correction on your line "3". You don't attack when you flip the gas token. You attack...
It's not so much a problem as an opportunity.
Yeah, in that particular case, I suppose so.
WOW!
Post is too short..
WOW!!
The official rule is that Bolster Defense reduces the attack to a minimum of 1, so it can't totally keep a unit from attacking.
Though, before that, you might want to take a closer look at the plastic Strategic Objectives that will come in the 2nd Wave of the Kickstarter.
Technically not, since you need to have a unit on the SO at the "beginning of your turn" in order to place a flag there. You would not have deployed any units yet at the beginning of your turn, so...
Both are Allied.
Exactly, remember that if a model occupies spaces 1 and 3, it will only be attacked on 1, then you attack anybody on 2, and then 4.
Those guys are really too lazy to cross the battlefield on their own legs...
Well, Battle of Brighton is not a KS exclusive, so it should hit retail eventually.
These guys look like they've seen the true horrors of war.
The wheel tracks are just genious!
Hey, the River Wars website PDFs have been updated with the latest versions of the Blight and Allied stats dashboards, as well as the Rulebook.
As you say, the rules don't mention removing mines when they blow up. The marker represents a mineFIELD, not just a single mine, so when one blows up, there are always still more hidden away.
I...
Chibi-vampire, I think you're replying to a different question than the one mcs1213 was explaining. Your argument seems to be for "Can I use Rapid Assault if I don't attack anybody?", while he's...
The indicated phases where gas attacks and moves are all regarding the player that created the gas cloud.
Having gas clouds generated by more than 1 source on the board at the same time should be...
The rulebook explains that the number next to Rapid Assault is how many movement points that unit is able to use when moving before attacking.
Yes, if a Rifleman is in the same grid as Parman, he...
Yeah, come to think of it, I suppose you can...
1. Whenever you make a Gas attack, it creates a Gas Cloud, the initial attack inflicting damage or not is not relevant.
2. Since you can only attack if you have an enemy unit to target, I'd say...
While the gas atack itself is not a Flat Grid attack, the gas cloud subsequently attacks all units in the grid where it goes, essentially like a Flat Grid attack.
The rulebook states that "The plug is considered part of the attached unit", so their saying in the video that it's a separate unit was an unfortunate way to explain it.
If you had units with different types of armor in the grid being targeted by a Flat Grid attack, you'd be forced to make several different rolls, since each would take a different number of dice. So...
Actually, it would be just one Tank Shock attack, rolling 2 dice.
Forceman, rolling 1 die twice wouldn't be the same thing, cause it would make it possible for you to score two damages against a...
Basically the Sturmpanzer with Der Cyclops becomes similar to the standard MT-1 Ostrich, which has two attack lines. When it attacks it can do so twice with its normal weapon and twice with the Der...
I wouldn't say people buying at retail are getting shafted. The only promise made to them is what they'll see at the back of the box they're about to buy. They'll be free to decide whether that is...
Sure, I agree that the rules are vague in this point. I'm not saying that the rules CLEARLY state the interpretation I'm proposing, only that your interpretation is a bigger stretch from what's...
In the case of cards, the rules pretty clearly use the word "exchange". This wording leaves no doubt that it's a two-way action. When dealing with the car, they use the word "change", not "swap" nor...
That's not a house rule, that's the official rule.
You can CHANGE seats in a car for one Action, not SWAP seats, it's a big difference. The driver has to spend an Action to vacate the driver's seat, then the next Survivor needs to spend an Action to...
I agree. +1 die to the entire action, not each weapon.
I've always interpreted it as increasing the weapon's die rating by +1 die, so dual weapons would get the bonus twice.
Why would you turn the game's weakest weapon into the strongest?
A fair assumption. But alas, not true.
Who said you have the key? ;-)
No need for clarification. As you said, doors can "only" be opened with the right equipment. That's it.
You misunderstood it. After reaching the previous objective, you just have to get all the remaining survivors to a single spawn zone and eliminate all zombies in it. Once this is done you prevent...