Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: MechMage

Search: Search took 0.00 seconds.

  1. Thread: Cavalry.

    by MechMage
    Replies
    4
    Views
    222

    Mammoths are referenced in the books but I don't...

    Mammoths are referenced in the books but I don't remember any first hand accounts of them.
  2. Replies
    9
    Views
    591

    You got an answer, it just didn't satisfy you. ...

    You got an answer, it just didn't satisfy you. Maybe someone will come along with a different answer eventually but I doubt there will be a more compelling case for it.
  3. Replies
    5
    Views
    201

    Thanks! Units that align onto dangerous terrain...

    Thanks!
    Units that align onto dangerous terrain take damage from it as normal as Charging is performing an action.
  4. Replies
    5
    Views
    201

    Aligning onto Hindering Terrain

    Suppose a unit of Stark Sworn Swords charges a unit of Lannister Guardsmen. The Stark player rolls a 2 for charge distance, which is enough distance to reach the Guardsmen. When the Stark player...
  5. Replies
    1
    Views
    129

    Taking a panic test has no effect on a units...

    Taking a panic test has no effect on a units ability to take additional panic tests that same turn.
  6. Replies
    5
    Views
    250

    If Varys negates the effect of the zone, there's...

    If Varys negates the effect of the zone, there's nothing for NCUs like Petyr or Craster to replace. If your opponent is activating an NCU with a replace effect, don't use your Varys to negate their...
  7. Replies
    18
    Views
    586

    That's a can of worms that the game has already...

    That's a can of worms that the game has already opened though. Any position that a unit can shift to before making a melee attack is one it could align to after making a successful charge. ...
  8. Replies
    18
    Views
    586

    The trouble is, you imagined that clause "nor am...

    The trouble is, you imagined that clause "nor am currently engaged with". The one inch rule calls out charging as an exception but makes no mention of engagement. If you have to fabricate unwritten...
  9. I don't have much practical experience to back...

    I don't have much practical experience to back this up, but I theorize that with the 1.5 changes, KG aren't as hard countered by Stonethrowers as they first seem. Since they can spend a banner for a...
  10. Replies
    18
    Views
    586

    The rule that allows units to shift before making...

    The rule that allows units to shift before making melee attacks is sadly not specific about suspending the 1" rule for this movement. If it wasn't an exception to the 1" rule in some capacity, the...
  11. Replies
    18
    Views
    586

    But the rule isn't "Units may never end a move...

    But the rule isn't "Units may never end a move within 1” of an enemy of which it did not start that move within 1", except when moving as part of a Charge action."
    It is "Units may never end a move...
  12. Replies
    63
    Views
    1,167

    The way "would" is usually used in this sort of...

    The way "would" is usually used in this sort of game, "If <object> would <verb>:" is read as "If <object> would <verb> if this ability was not used:". It's used to indicate that the chance to use an...
  13. Replies
    18
    Views
    586

    So you think this rule considers the currently...

    So you think this rule considers the currently unengaged Mountain's Men but doesn't consider the currently engaged halberdiers? If it stops the shift to engage the second unit, why wouldn't stop any...
  14. Replies
    18
    Views
    586

    Shifting for an Attack

    Suppose a unit of Lannister Mountain's Men and a unit of Lannister Halberdiers are side by side, touching in the flank. A unit of Stark Sworn Swords charges the Mountain's Men, choosing to align 50%...
  15. Replies
    9
    Views
    482

    Point out to your friends the line "For each...

    Point out to your friends the line "For each unblocked Hit, the defender suffers 1 Wound." on page 17 of the rulebook and the line "If this attack generates any Hits," from the Savage Giant's Might...
  16. Replies
    4
    Views
    297

    Counterplot is played when the opponent plays a...

    Counterplot is played when the opponent plays a tactics card. Any time a tactics card is played, a new order/tactics window is created in which Counterplot can be played. Since Counterplot is...
  17. Replies
    6
    Views
    334

    Martial Superiority also negates abilities...

    Martial Superiority also negates abilities granted from attachments such as Boldness and Courage and any orders the unit has access to such as Cut Them Down! Note that it does not remove active...
  18. Replies
    17
    Views
    564

    If a unit has "House Clegane" in its name, it's a...

    If a unit has "House Clegane" in its name, it's a House Clegane unit for the purpose of tactics cards. So too for House Umber, Crannogman, House Tully, House Bolton, Bloody Mummer and Stormcrow.
  19. Thread: Boros Blunt

    by MechMage
    Replies
    1
    Views
    113

    I believe Boros has to be in play after the...

    I believe Boros has to be in play after the attack has been completed to use Vegeance of the Crown so he can't use it on the attack that wipes out his unit.
  20. Thread: Clash of king

    by MechMage
    Replies
    1
    Views
    135

    When a unit redeploys using the scenario rule...

    When a unit redeploys using the scenario rule from CoK, it deploys with attachments even if those attachment were previously removed by the effects of Jamie Lannister Kingsguard, Yggrite Spearwife...
  21. Replies
    5
    Views
    469

    Ygritte blanks both attachments and NCU...

    Ygritte blanks both attachments and NCU influence. You can not choose to only blank some such negating an opponent's influence but not your attachment. If there was a choice the word "choose" would...
  22. Replies
    1
    Views
    197

    What does it mean to block a wound?

    I couldn't find any references in the 1.5 rulebook to blocking wounds, only hits and line of sight. The general consensus seems to be that it's a lot like blocking hits and in no way like blocking...
  23. Replies
    4
    Views
    413

    The rule for critical blow is: Rolls of 6 cause 2...

    The rule for critical blow is: Rolls of 6 cause 2 Hits.
    The rule for reckless strike is: Hits from rolls of 6 do not allow defense saves.
    If a unit with critical blow as benefiting from reckless...
  24. Replies
    9
    Views
    575

    The 1.4 version is still in War Council so I...

    The 1.4 version is still in War Council so I think it's still live.
  25. Thread: War machine

    by MechMage
    Replies
    19
    Views
    808

    This question is clearly whether or not passing...

    This question is clearly whether or not passing the morale test negates the d3 wounds, which it does. The answer seems to assume that the test will assuredly happen which is strange because the...
  26. In What Order are Dice Roll Modifiers Applied?

    Dice roll modifiers work differently in this game than some others so for convenience here is the relevant section from page 24 of the version 1.4 rulebook.

    Dice Roll Modifiers
    Some effects...
  27. Thread: War machine

    by MechMage
    Replies
    19
    Views
    808

    Exactly, War Machines don't make morale tests. ...

    Exactly, War Machines don't make morale tests. But Paid Mutiny doesn't require the targeted unit to make a morale test to affect it. It gives a morale check, and if that check is passed, nothing...
  28. Thread: War machine

    by MechMage
    Replies
    19
    Views
    808

    I don't understand your logic here. An affect is...

    I don't understand your logic here. An affect is applied if the affected unit does not pass a morale test. A war machine can not make a morale test therefore it can not pass a morale test. Since...
  29. Thread: War machine

    by MechMage
    Replies
    19
    Views
    808

    I've got no idea where Oakwolf's interpretation...

    I've got no idea where Oakwolf's interpretation is coming from. Wishful thinking that the game would be intuitive maybe? Paid Mutiny blanks a unit if it can't pass a morale test. Since war...
  30. What other attack abilities are there that a unit...

    What other attack abilities are there that a unit can gain or lose based on a condition that can change during an attack? Maybe there's something else I'm not thinking of but as far as I can...
  31. Replies
    9
    Views
    578

    I would have thought that only one token can be...

    I would have thought that only one token can be expended at a time, but rereading the ability without that assumption it isn't as cut and dry as I expected. Contrast the Poor Fellows' Fanatical Zeal...
  32. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,065

    Free attacks are very powerful and dealing the...

    Free attacks are very powerful and dealing the unit two wounds synergizes with Stag Knights' Unwavering Fury but two points is very expensive for an attachments. The ideal opponent for Stag Knights...
  33. Replies
    6
    Views
    460

    From page 26 of the rulebook: • DANGEROUS: Units...

    From page 26 of the rulebook:
    • DANGEROUS: Units performing Actions while within this
    terrain piece, or units that cross it while moving, suffer
    D3+1 Wounds after completing that Action/move.

    I...
  34. Page 19 of the rulebook lists the steps of...

    Page 19 of the rulebook lists the steps of performing an attack.
    -Determine Attack Dice
    -Roll Attack Dice
    -Defender Rolls Defense Dice
    -Defender Suffers Wounds
    -Defender Makes Panic Test
    ...
  35. Replies
    6
    Views
    381

    If CTD read "Whenever an enemy engaged with this...

    If CTD read "Whenever an enemy engaged with this unit fails a Panic Test, they suffer 2 Wounds." then it would be interpreted as "2 Wounds instead of the difference between their Panic Test result...
  36. They don't gain vicious after the attack has...

    They don't gain vicious after the attack has occurred. They gain vicious during the attack after models are removed from the wounds inflicted by unblocked hits but before the panic test is made.
  37. Does it matter whether they had Vicious when the...

    Does it matter whether they had Vicious when the attack is initiated though? If they have it when the panic test is made wouldn't that be when it matters?
  38. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,065

    I wouldn't be so sure about that. Stannis gives...

    I wouldn't be so sure about that. Stannis gives his unit Critical Blow with scales well with both the number of attack dice a unit can roll and the quality of the other keywords on that attack. Out...
  39. How Long do Tactics Board Zone Replacement Effects Last?

    Suppose Alester Florent, Lord of Brightwater, claims the crown zone and the Barathian player plays Stannis Baratheon's, the Rightful Heir, tactic card Will of the One True King to replace the crown...
  40. Mandon Moore Gaining Vicious During an Attack

    Suppose the Lannister player controls the crown and Mandon Moore, Kingsguard, is in a unit with three ranks remaining that makes a melee attack against a unit with three ranks remaining. The attack...
  41. Replies
    6
    Views
    381

    Stacking usually refers to bonuses and penalties...

    Stacking usually refers to bonuses and penalties with the same name so don't know if suffering damage from two sources with the same name counts as stacking. For example, if a unit marches across...
  42. Replies
    3
    Views
    573

    My interpretation is that when Jaqen uses Taking...

    My interpretation is that when Jaqen uses Taking a New Name you physically remove his miniature and replace it in the unit with the previously destroyed attachment, gaining control of it as you...
Results 1 to 42 of 42

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->