Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: Fronx

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Search: Search took 0.01 seconds.

  1. I agree with this. There is no way to have...

    I agree with this.

    There is no way to have Tyrion after the Varys, as that just would be strange: Tyrion must be used before the Tactics Card is fully resolved (or the window do use it has...
  2. Replies
    3
    Views
    284

    You are perfectly right.

    You are perfectly right.
  3. Replies
    6
    Views
    322

    Agree, and there is no room for other...

    Agree, and there is no room for other interpretation: Panic Test in this scenario is still a part of the Charge Action, which caused the Attack resolution and Panic Test. And if that charge was...
  4. Replies
    3
    Views
    284

    Your question is strangely formulated. Exactly...

    Your question is strangely formulated. Exactly exact answer to your question is: No, from mere failed armor saves, Nights Watch Recruiter does not trigger it's ability. As in example, Unit might have...
  5. Thread: Cunning Ploy

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    608

    Thanks to serbaelish, he found the official...

    Thanks to serbaelish, he found the official source, linking it here:

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?67962-Tyrion-commander-rules-questions&p=883940&viewfull=1#post883940
  6. Thread: Cunning Ploy

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    608

    Does someone remember seeing official answer for...

    Does someone remember seeing official answer for this question?

    "Original unit (initial target of the card) "passes" his action (and gains activation token) to the previously activated unit -...
  7. Replies
    6
    Views
    446

    In my interpretation of page 15, you trigger and...

    In my interpretation of page 15, you trigger and perform the Free Maneuver first, before declaring the action of that activation. (in your scenario, Declaring charge would happen in number 4, instead...
  8. Replies
    8
    Views
    420

    You do not mention ownership, so hard to answer. ...

    You do not mention ownership, so hard to answer.

    Unit can move and charge through friendly Units (as long as at the very end of the move, in Charge after the align, there is no overlapping)....
  9. Replies
    14
    Views
    667

    The way I see it: - Timing is same, even if...

    The way I see it:

    - Timing is same, even if the text very very slightly differs. But when comparing certain Stark cards on FAQ, the subtle difference is similar in this case to those Stark cards...
  10. Thread: Stark Bowmen

    by Fronx
    Replies
    18
    Views
    1,949

    On side note (or just blatantly off-topic): I was...

    On side note (or just blatantly off-topic): I was surprised as there was a poll on FB group for voting which is considered as worst Unit (when considering it's price), and Stark Bowmen "won" that...
  11. When in doubt, go with the rule that is least in...

    When in doubt, go with the rule that is least in conflict with the rules as written (RAW).

    - Corners touching is "contact" by meaning of words in English language.
    - By rule book, "contact" is...
  12. Replies
    17
    Views
    1,304

    If there really is confusion about this, then...

    If there really is confusion about this, then this is wide-spread issue, as Critical Blow is quite common skill, and easily happens multiple times in each game.

    This means that there are people...
  13. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Necroing old thread: while there now is FAQ...

    Necroing old thread:

    while there now is FAQ entry stating, that Charge can cause multiple engagements, it is still unclear could 3 units be in same side, as in the start image of this thread,...
  14. Replies
    5
    Views
    469

    Definitely agree with this. If it would say...

    Definitely agree with this.

    If it would say "..after that Attack action is completed...", then I would say it would work, as you did perform a Ranged Attack action (even if it was incomplete,...
  15. Replies
    2
    Views
    340

    No, Yellow is not valid Charge target, as there...

    No, Yellow is not valid Charge target, as there is no space to fit the Tray-side the Charge would be on.

    Rule book (v1.4), page 18, on Charge:
    The LoS Arc of the target unit must have space for...
  16. That is correct. It is unwise to attack those...

    That is correct.

    It is unwise to attack those walls, the resources and time it takes to get away from them after destroying them is rarely worth it.

    Almost always, even without this movement...
  17. I would also say that as attack was rolled and...

    I would also say that as attack was rolled and attack roll completed, it should happen.

    But I could not determine if the attack abilities would be gone from that point on, as the attacking Unit...
  18. Replies
    5
    Views
    502

    1) Align move in Melee Attack is a move. Such...

    1) Align move in Melee Attack is a move. Such move would cause damage in dangerous terrain (Note: Shift in any case would be a move, but I wouldn`t call align move a shift, as shift is reserved...
  19. Replies
    3
    Views
    381

    To say in other words: action is not...

    To say in other words:

    action is not activation.
    activation is not action.

    They are two fully and totally separate things and triggers.

    Unit can perform actions without being activated...
  20. Thread: Ranged Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    4
    Views
    461

    Yes, can attack. Is in LoS, and in range. ...

    Yes, can attack. Is in LoS, and in range.

    Units do not give Cover, or any other reason for -1 to hit, so that went wrong.
  21. Replies
    7
    Views
    549

    Any dice that player wants to. So most common...

    Any dice that player wants to.
    So most common answer is, that the player requests to reroll all the success dice. If they were already rerolled by the other player does not make any difference to...
  22. One thing to correct (I highlighted it in above...

    One thing to correct (I highlighted it in above quote with bold text):
    there is no MUST align. "Must align" rules are only related to Charge, but are optional when doing a Melee attack. Attacker...
  23. Good point. The corner-to-corner touching...

    Good point.

    The corner-to-corner touching Units are 50%/50% Front / Flank aligned, so Attacker (of that Attack) would decide which side it is when an Attack is made as long as it would be at that...
  24. Thanks on this, as I wrote those "correct me if...

    Thanks on this, as I wrote those "correct me if I'm wrong", I agree totally that there is zero evidence for "avoid multiple contact in Charge" -interpretation in the Rule book or in the FAQ: There...
  25. For this, there are multitude of opinions. ...

    For this, there are multitude of opinions.

    Rule book page 18, about Charge:
    The LoS Arc of the target unit must have space for the attacker’s tray to fit (see Determine Line of Sight ...
  26. Replies
    6
    Views
    368

    This is not "official answer", but how I see it:...

    This is not "official answer", but how I see it:

    - (even if comprised from smaller internal things like pivot, moving the tray and then again pivoting,) If a single move begins and ends on top of...
  27. 1st the easy part: Rule book for what is...

    1st the easy part: Rule book for what is engagement is clear:

    Page 7 of Rule book (all versions up to v1.4 at least):

    ENGAGED: A unit is engaged when it is in contact with one or ...
  28. Replies
    4
    Views
    506

    Most common (yet still really rare) scenario...

    Most common (yet still really rare) scenario would be early in the game, to get 2" of shift move with the Tactics Board Free Attack action via NCU (Assuming the game starts slow, and no better use...
  29. Crannogman Warden (KS vs Retail version) VS Martial Superiority (what areattacak abi

    Crannogman Warden KS version has Ranged and Melee Attack icons in Opportunist ability.
    Crannogman Warden Retail version does not have Ranged and Melee icons in Opportunist ability.
    So there has...
  30. Replies
    3
    Views
    377

    Not the way you describe it. Active players could...

    Not the way you describe it. Active players could have reacted when the 1st Counterplot was played, but not anymore when it was resolved.

    Counterplotting of any card (including another...
  31. Replies
    4
    Views
    676

    You (almost) have everything correct. A can...

    You (almost) have everything correct.

    A can legally charge B, as shown in the picture.

    C cannot then legally charge A, as no room for tray to fit.
    There is a rule book entry on tray having to...
  32. In Storm of Swords game mode the one who rolled...

    In Storm of Swords game mode the one who rolled the highest by RAW cannot give the choise of deployment zone to the other player, the rule text is quite definite that the high roller chooses either...
  33. Thread: Stark Bowmen

    by Fronx
    Replies
    18
    Views
    1,949

    This has not been clarified so far in FAQ nor...

    This has not been clarified so far in FAQ nor ERRATA (current being v1.4).
  34. My interpretation, strictly looking at the rules....

    My interpretation, strictly looking at the rules. Main focus on below bolded text.

    Rule book Deployment (related to the question):
    • Once the battlefield has been set up, each player should then...
  35. Replies
    3
    Views
    457

    Lion's Wrath is a Tactics Card of Tywin...

    Lion's Wrath is a Tactics Card of Tywin Commander.

    The interesting portion of it says following:
    Until the end of the round, all Weakened enemies suffer -1 [Speed] and trigger a Disorderly...
  36. Thread: Storm of Swords

    by Fronx
    Replies
    3
    Views
    310

    At the start of the round, the Attacker ...

    At the start of the round, the Attacker may redeploy any friendly Combat Units that were previously destroyed, placing them anywhere in their Deployment Zone. Characters do not redeploy...
  37. Replies
    2
    Views
    286

    Tough one. My ruling would be, that you can...

    Tough one.

    My ruling would be, that you can play, as the action is over (the rule is you cannot play cards for the rest of the action).
    It has been said elsewhere by Michael related to other...
  38. Replies
    2
    Views
    286

    No, does not lose, as it is Innate Ability.

    No, does not lose, as it is Innate Ability.
  39. Thread: Winds of winter

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    521

    Cannot score for something that is no longer in...

    Cannot score for something that is no longer in game.

    So no.
  40. Replies
    6
    Views
    616

    I would say that it is a bit unclear, and I have...

    I would say that it is a bit unclear, and I have been of different opinion before.

    But that "any time" definitely looks definite, that it is a condition you constantly follow-up and act upon, if...
  41. Replies
    7
    Views
    549

    The "critical blow" is not counted until the...

    The "critical blow" is not counted until the final results. You ignore the sixes from the dices that you reroll.

    In above scenario, if your opponent asks you to reroll all hits, you reroll 5 dice,...
  42. Replies
    9
    Views
    589

    Funny note by the way, if the small tray would...

    Funny note by the way, if the small tray would attack the large tray, it would be clearly in the flank of the large tray. But is large tray in flank or in front of the small tray? Rule book doesn't...
  43. Replies
    9
    Views
    589

    This should be now clear with the FAQ/Errata/Rule...

    This should be now clear with the FAQ/Errata/Rule book v1.3 and v1.4, these exact items were clarified in these:
    Legal charge and end point, that is how it would go.

    However, it is not clarified...
  44. Replies
    7
    Views
    549

    I don't fully follow you comment but I will try....

    I don't fully follow you comment but I will try.

    You do not count hits until rerolls are completed. Rerolls are not additive, they replace the results.
    So e.g. if you had 4x sixes, and you reroll...
  45. Replies
    10
    Views
    602

    That is not what the card says. The card says...

    That is not what the card says. The card says quite clearly ”each time an enemy loses models”. Then it limits the trigger more by defining that only in ”attack” and in ”panic test”.

    In your...
  46. Replies
    10
    Views
    602

    Even with that logic it would trigger twice, as...

    Even with that logic it would trigger twice, as it says "each time an enemy loses models...". The loss of models clearly can happen twice in an attack, 1st in the Attack resolution, and 2nd time in...
  47. Replies
    1
    Views
    260

    Yes, Tully's abitily could bring that one chosen...

    Yes, Tully's abitily could bring that one chosen Outrider Unit to table already on round 1.
  48. To my understanding, singular Pivot counts as a...

    To my understanding, singular Pivot counts as a move, even if you do not move in any other way. E.g. Pivot after unengagement (if you choose to do that) e.g. due to enemy retreat counts to my...
  49. Replies
    2
    Views
    304

    As said above. Attack and Activation are not...

    As said above.

    Attack and Activation are not synonymous.
    If you do not Activate, you do not place activation marker (unless rules / text in the card say to place activation marker without...
  50. Thread: Tully Valor

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    392

    Seems excessive and unneccesary to have the word...

    Seems excessive and unneccesary to have the word "this" there, but the intent is clear and cannot really be misinterpreted.
  51. Thread: Castle Walls

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    431

    If terrain (or Unit, or anything in the game) is...

    If terrain (or Unit, or anything in the game) is destroyed, isn't it removed from the table?
    So wouldn't also Castle Walls be removed from the table when destroyed?
  52. Thread: Pivot

    by Fronx
    Replies
    16
    Views
    793

    Point two is also Illegal. To pivot like so, your...

    Point two is also Illegal. To pivot like so, your tray must have been over the impassable terrain when you pivoted it. Unless you have some dimensional portal gun, that you can just teleport a tray...
  53. Thread: Pivot

    by Fronx
    Replies
    16
    Views
    793

    I'm not sure how to read this, so I just in case...

    I'm not sure how to read this, so I just in case copy paste this from the latest rule book: All steps of a Charge are treated as a single move.
  54. Replies
    4
    Views
    471

    To expand on that why I said "for some strange...

    To expand on that why I said "for some strange reason": There are good reasons for the rule, at least one I could think of is that one could abuse then pivot in Charge to charge over impassable...
  55. Replies
    4
    Views
    471

    Illegal, but for different reason. Play area...

    Illegal, but for different reason. Play area borders are impassable. Unit cannot pivot over impassable terrain (for some strange reason). Unit on the left is touching play area border, which...
  56. Thread: A link to FAQ

    by Fronx
    Replies
    2
    Views
    596

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs Under tab...

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs

    Under tab "Updated F.A.Q.s".
  57. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    I agree with last sentence about FAQ and Rule...

    I agree with last sentence about FAQ and Rule book clearly stating how it goes, but funnily we have totally differing interpretation =)

    I would like to point out, that my view of ruling does not...
  58. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    Revisiting this after some extra thought. On...

    Revisiting this after some extra thought.

    On the topic 'FAQ entry about "being able to engage multiple units in a Charge"', does it trump or not trump the existing rules. My verdict is that it...
  59. 100% aligned is synonym for "center-to-center"...

    100% aligned is synonym for "center-to-center" engagement. In that scenario that LoS Arc cannot be Charged as per rule book (even if there would be space).

    "The LoS /Arc of the target unit must...
  60. Definitely difficult to answer, but I would...

    Definitely difficult to answer, but I would consider RAW ruling that it can.

    As you read the texts of your cards, is it Ghost? Is it Jon Snow (either of them)? Yes, and yes. So it should work, as...
  61. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,515

    Actually, your statement is incorrect. Here is...

    Actually, your statement is incorrect. Here is extract from the latest rule book (the relevant part has been same from v1.0), which via example ties word "pivot" to facing change in Melee Attack (see...
  62. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,515

    Negative, that is not what I am saying either. ...

    Negative, that is not what I am saying either.


    I am saying, that if unit gets stuck with impassable terrain (which is the discussion topic of this topic), it being within "1 of the Unit's front,...
  63. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    1,690

    If you read the whole post through, (one of the)...

    If you read the whole post through, (one of the) issue(s) is the trigger of the said Free Maneuver being shared with the Ride-By Attack Tactic Card trigger. As/If both are voluntary, only one can be...
  64. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    1,690

    This is option, yes. But there is no RAW evidence...

    This is option, yes. But there is no RAW evidence for this interpretation (without FAQ / errata -entry), so without official ruling stating this option, this is not a real option (until that happens).
  65. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    1,690

    In my opinion the card itself is quite clear...

    In my opinion the card itself is quite clear English, it says "As its action, that unit may pivot...".
    It does not say (e.g.) "Instead of its action, that unit [now immediately still during this...
  66. Replies
    9
    Views
    629

    This would be the current RAW interpretation: one...

    This would be the current RAW interpretation: one or the other.
  67. Replies
    9
    Views
    629

    You are correct, that that is how it shows. I...

    You are correct, that that is how it shows.

    I do agree Alliser, as I have seen various comments from Michael Shinall here on Forum, Facebook and even in Discord, that make what Alliser says...
  68. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    1,690

    Main question was: How does Ride-by Attack work?...

    Main question was:
    How does Ride-by Attack work?

    Boils down to two (sub-)questions:

    A) Is the trigger for Cavalry's Innate Ability's Free Maneuver and Ride-by Attack same or different?
    Can...
  69. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    This is now indeed explained in the rule book: ...

    This is now indeed explained in the rule book:

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs/

    Note that a Retreat is subject to all normal movement rules . This means there can be situations where a unit...
  70. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    1,690

    This is definitely the question where it boils...

    This is definitely the question where it boils down to.
    (Unless there is second option, where rules need to be clarified on Cavalry Free Maneuver being actually mandatory, but no use to speculate on...
  71. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,515

    This Michael's comment is not entirely true: also...

    This Michael's comment is not entirely true: also enemy can cause movement to an Unit, via Charge align (at least, future content excluded as cannot know of such).

    Example: Charge Unit on rear,...
  72. On personal interest on game design, that pivot...

    On personal interest on game design, that pivot rule feels like it is bringing more problems than what it is fixing. But the rule seems to be quite clear as written.

    Pivot rule on impassable is...
  73. Replies
    7
    Views
    612

    I agree, this is unclear. There are triggers...

    I agree, this is unclear.

    There are triggers even in FAQ, which are very differently worded, yet are same trigger (looking at certain Stark Tactics Cards).
    Here the difference is quite minimal.
  74. Thread: Ride-By-Attack

    by Fronx
    Replies
    29
    Views
    1,690

    My answer is yes, you could change your mind and...

    My answer is yes, you could change your mind and not do that effect even after you played this card, and can choose other actions instead, and you could do other things also (whatever you can do...
  75. Replies
    9
    Views
    804

    Yes, NCU Tyrion works in that scenario. And...

    Yes, NCU Tyrion works in that scenario. And actually worth mentioning, you *must* activate all your Units during a round. Even in case of full Tactics board, you must activate the remaining NCU(s) at...
  76. Thread: Overrun

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    420

    Ah, thanks, that is correct.

    Ah, thanks, that is correct.
  77. Thread: Overrun

    by Fronx
    Replies
    5
    Views
    420

    I'm not sure if I am reading this right.. ...

    I'm not sure if I am reading this right..

    Afaik it must be legal charge as per normal rules (as nothing in the ability states otherwise), thus the target must be in line of sight at the beginning...
  78. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    Yes. FAQ states that multiple units can be...

    Yes. FAQ states that multiple units can be engaged. The quoted rule part though states that only 2 per side, with quite definite word "never". They do not contradict each other, two on multiple sides...
  79. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    100% align with middle one in given example would...

    100% align with middle one in given example would go against written rule from rule book (any version, including latest v1.2), as there 3 units would be engaged on the attacking Units same [tray]...
  80. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    To me, it sounds like one of these options,...

    To me, it sounds like one of these options, depending on situation and spacing:

    - Illegal charge, if attacker cannot end the Charge being aligned only two on same side of tray.
    - Attacker aligns...
  81. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    FAQ v1.2: Q: Can I end a Charge action engaged...

    FAQ v1.2:

    Q: Can I end a Charge action engaged with multiple enemies? If so, what happens?
    A: Yes. Although rare, after all alignment is completed from a successful Charge, the...
  82. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    My understanding is, that the new clarification...

    My understanding is, that the new clarification does not trump other existing rules, and the part about 2 per tray side was not removed / modified.

    Thus you can engage multiple Units in one charge...
  83. One such indication is at least the FAQ'd fact,...

    One such indication is at least the FAQ'd fact, that if you lose an attachment on an Unit (presume Unit has 2 attachments), then heal that same Unit, you only get regular model back, not the lost...
  84. Yep, to extend to this reply, Solo Units...

    Yep, to extend to this reply, Solo Units (Monsters, War Machines and such that are counted as one model) are exception to the rule, and they themself state how much they have room for Wounds.
  85. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    this tread is a bit messy, so I don't recommend...

    this tread is a bit messy, so I don't recommend reading it for rule clarifications. Especially as the rules / interpretations have changed a bit as we are now in rule book version 1.2.

    However,...
  86. This has been discussed actually earlier, here...

    This has been discussed actually earlier, here official answer from the game developer:
    ...
  87. You're bolding the wrong part. This is the key...

    You're bolding the wrong part. This is the key point in the card:
    "[...] that unit suffers only 1 wound for every two unblocked Hits (discarding any remainders)"

    The card does not really interact...
  88. You are asking the wrong question, there are no...

    You are asking the wrong question, there are no "stronger" or "weaker" abilities, there are just rules and order which they are played at.
    The exact answer to your question is, that later card...
  89. Replies
    8
    Views
    1,075

    Sure. This is just matter of money: Shipping...

    Sure. This is just matter of money: Shipping costs are quite flat (to some extent), but taxes/duties are in (most) european countries percentage (%) of the value of the goods, and the percentage is...
  90. Replies
    8
    Views
    1,075

    I can report also this in Finland. I have...

    I can report also this in Finland.

    I have pre-ordered following items:
    1x Pyromancers
    2x Greataxes
    1x Nights Watch starter

    Only item I have received in December are the Pyromancers. Rest of...
  91. Replies
    15
    Views
    961

    This is the actual quote from the rule book: ...

    This is the actual quote from the rule book:

    When a Combat Unit performs a Maneuver action, it may first
    be pivoted to face any direction. You may then move it directly
    forward up to its Speed...
  92. Replies
    4
    Views
    451

    I would play 1v1v1 using Hexagon shape to make...

    I would play 1v1v1 using Hexagon shape to make everyone equally far away from each other (and then place terrain and objective tokens similarly in equal way).

    This would be house ruling it though.
  93. Clarified in current FAQ v1.2: CALCULATED ...

    Clarified in current FAQ v1.2:

    CALCULATED CRUELTY (Roose Bolton, Lord of the Dreadfort)
    Q:
    For this, and similar cards, if something would cancel the token’s
    effect does it in...
  94. This has now been changed in v1.2: Before, it...

    This has now been changed in v1.2:

    Before, it was allowed (pre-v1.2 rules). Now it is different, errataed so that above is not anymore possible:

    Pivot Attacker:
    The attacker may then ...
  95. Replies
    6
    Views
    1,034

    I think this was not included in the FAQ update...

    I think this was not included in the FAQ update of v1.2.
    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs
  96. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,164

    Question "When Charging, is it allowed to end up...

    Question "When Charging, is it allowed to end up in contact with multiple enemy trays, if the move is otherwise legal?" is answered now in FAQ v1.2:

    Q:
    Can I end a Charge action engaged with...
  97. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,637

    Note: in Rule book version v1.2, the Pivot is...

    Note: in Rule book version v1.2, the Pivot is part of the Charge as one same move. Thus the latter discussion (after Michael's last response) is no longer valid for rule book v1.2 onward....
  98. Thread: Ramsay and NW

    by Fronx
    Replies
    2
    Views
    264

    I don't understand the question. The Tactics...

    I don't understand the question.

    The Tactics Card "Our blades are sharp" specifies melee attack as the trigger: "When a friendly unit attacks with melee".

    Builder Scorpion Crew has only Ranged...
  99. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,142

    Yes, Correct.

    Yes, Correct.
  100. Replies
    2
    Views
    365

    To add to this reply; There were no designated...

    To add to this reply;

    There were no designated suggested keywords for the hills in the KS.

    See earlier post here on this exact same topic, if you want official CMON suggestions:...
  101. Thread: NCU Triggers

    by Fronx
    Replies
    9
    Views
    620

    I agree you make a point for inconsistency in the...

    I agree you make a point for inconsistency in the text of this card. "You" would point to the player, thus your interpretation does have a logical rationale why you (not Rodrik!) would come into that...
  102. As we are in rule question area, please quote the...

    As we are in rule question area, please quote the relevant part that says so. I cannot find that directly said in the rule book.
  103. Even though I said in my earlier comment, that I...

    Even though I said in my earlier comment, that I see no Faction bias on the scenario, I do feel that Stark with Robb is extremely good for this scenario.
    All that extra maneuverability is golden.
    ...
  104. Mobility / Maneuverability is key in this...

    Mobility / Maneuverability is key in this scenario.
    Then Panic Tests with negative modifiers are important.
    And for that reason, Good Morale stat is extremely good in this scenario.

    Both right...
  105. Vow is not "using an Order" (no order token icon...

    Vow is not "using an Order" (no order token icon in any of the existing vows), nor is it "playing Tactics Card" (as it has been already played and resolved earlier if it is already attached), both...
  106. To me Alliser's comment make perfect sense, only...

    To me Alliser's comment make perfect sense, only with one objection:

    While I agree point three above is the likely correct answer, it could also be point two. As in point three, also in point two...
  107. Incorrect. - The linked thread discusses about...

    Incorrect.

    - The linked thread discusses about totally different thing, it is a topic about "can I make an Unit something else by just attaching an attachment to it" (which it cannot).

    -...
  108. How to handle other enemy units that could be connected during Charge aligning

    How to handle other units during Charge aligning move, that you might become in touch with when contacting your target?

    Rule book quote:
    • Units may never end a move within 1” of an enemy unless...
  109. A Dance With Dragons -game-mode movement restriction VS Superior Positioning (Robb)

    Regarding the Game Modes v1.0:
    https://asoif.s3.amazonaws.com/pdf/pdf/pdf/24/GameModes_v1.0.pdf

    A Dance With Dragons -game-mode has following movement restriction:
    "While controlling an...
  110. Replies
    2
    Views
    354

    It is correct, that rule book does not have...

    It is correct, that rule book does not have ruling on such pivot, so RAW is no pivot in that scenario.
    The Surge Forth rule part (about the pivot) is tied into attacker being the source (not to...
  111. Replies
    9
    Views
    522

    Do note that the House from attachments is...

    Do note that the House from attachments is additive, it does not remove the previous House / Faction defined for the Unit.
    And do note you have mistake above: the restriction is not Bolton only, it...
  112. Here the rule book v1.1 text for both terrain...

    Here the rule book v1.1 text for both terrain types:

    HINDERING:
    Units must roll 2 dice when Charging through this Terrain and select the lowest result. When Charging, units suffer a...
  113. I find this answer lacking, as hindering and...

    I find this answer lacking, as hindering and rough have clearly different wording and text. Other has more conditions than other. So why would they be ruled same way, if the triggering conditions are...
  114. Replies
    1
    Views
    234

    Simultaneous actions rule kicks in. Active player...

    Simultaneous actions rule kicks in. Active player rerolls first.

    So charge bonus reroll first, then the weakened.


    In theory, attacks that happen on enemy turn (like halberdiers order) would...
  115. My apologies! My answer above is totally...

    My apologies! My answer above is totally incorrect.

    The answer as far as I know is, both hits from the 6 gain the benefit, as they come from the 6.

    I almost feel like I have seen this...
  116. EDIT: Ignore this post, not answering to the...

    EDIT: Ignore this post, not answering to the asked question



    As per rule book, keywords do not stack.

    So adding Critical Blow to Unit that has Critical Blow does nothing.

    However, if the...
  117. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    I'm starting no notice a pattern (from previous...

    I'm starting no notice a pattern (from previous messages on this forum and on other sources), that if Allister makes a comment on how to interpret the game rules, it is very likely correct ruling as...
  118. Replies
    4
    Views
    620

    I think this is the RAW interpretation, there is...

    I think this is the RAW interpretation, there is no basis in the rule book to define vows as abilities.

    And there is already a similar thing happening in the Stark and Lannister starter: the NCU's...
  119. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    This works. Rules definitely need clarification.

    This works. Rules definitely need clarification.
  120. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    Incorrect. You quote only partially. This is the...

    Incorrect. You quote only partially. This is the exact quote from rule book, page 16:

    Additionally, if, after the Retreat is completed, the enemy unit (or
    units) are now unengaged, each of those...
  121. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    I'm playing as much according to rules as I can....

    I'm playing as much according to rules as I can. So as there is nothing in the rules about saying otherwise, must read it "as it is in the rules".

    With that logic, the way I have started resolving...
  122. Replies
    2
    Views
    467

    Helsinki, Finland (Europe). Still waiting even...

    Helsinki, Finland (Europe).

    Still waiting even Greataxes and Pyromancers. NW should in theory be here today, but I strongly doubt it.
  123. I agree with this, the deginition of "voluntary"...

    I agree with this, the deginition of "voluntary" and "mandatory" effects is a bit unclear in this game currently, as this many differing interpretations rise from card to card.
  124. Where have you learned that 'Bravery in the face...

    Where have you learned that 'Bravery in the face of Death' is voluntary?


    I consider Eddard's 'Bravery in the face of Death' as mandatory effect, as it says "When a friendy unit passes a Morale...
  125. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Oh boy would it be nice to get an official answer...

    Oh boy would it be nice to get an official answer to this.

    In this tournament, judge made an error:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cDWJ2UA1Ao&feature=youtu.be&t=1425

    This would be exact case...
  126. I would consider that simultaneous turns effect...

    I would consider that simultaneous turns effect happens here, as both happen at the same time.

    Rule book page 19, Resolving Attacks:
    • Surge Forth! •
    If the attacker completely destroys the...
  127. Replies
    10
    Views
    513

    Good question. RAW interpretation of Tully is,...

    Good question.

    RAW interpretation of Tully is, that the effect remains, as the Order lacks the "...this turn" part of the text which is present in the Assault Veteran.
    Would need official...
  128. Replies
    2
    Views
    535

    There is nothing in the rules preventing this. ...

    There is nothing in the rules preventing this.

    So I see no reason why Unit could not take multiple objectives at the same time, by using the diagonal length of an Unit to one's benefit.
  129. Replies
    2
    Views
    370

    Cruel Methods + Order: Sic'em -timing?

    If I target Bastard's Girls with Cruel Methods, and I get to trigger Sic'em against that enemy after that free attack (the targeted enemy unit did not die from that one ranged attack yet), which...
  130. Replies
    4
    Views
    328

    This raises timing question for me: if an Unit...

    This raises timing question for me:

    if an Unit is destoyed due to Panic Test in this game mode, does that Unit still get that extra VP token (which goes directly to the enemy player with the other...
  131. Replies
    4
    Views
    328

    Thanks, I also had gotten this wrong! Explains...

    Thanks, I also had gotten this wrong!

    Explains why that game mode felt a bit low on points (but couldnt figure what it was that we were playing wrong). Now that i read it, it is clear. But I can...
  132. Thread: Cunning Ploy

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    608

    Wouldn't hurt. So far (until clarified) I...

    Wouldn't hurt.

    So far (until clarified) I personally would play it like this:
    - The activating unit (that will not do its action this turn) will get all the benefits (or negative effects) of...
  133. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    There is nothing in the rule book that would...

    There is nothing in the rule book that would allow tray-to-tray connection without being engaged. There is however this part that says other way. Rule book page 7:

    ENGAGED: A unit is engaged when...
  134. Another example of search not working:...

    Another example of search not working:
    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/search.php?searchid=3019404
    I search user "Fronx" for text "aligned". I get four results, but this post is not included in...
  135. Replies
    5
    Views
    454

    I have wondered this myself also, but rules are...

    I have wondered this myself also, but rules are written as they are.


    HINDERING: Units must roll 2 dice when Charging through
    this Terrain and select the lowest result. When Charging, units...
  136. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    To formulate above spam into a form of a...

    To formulate above spam into a form of a questions that can be officially answered:

    1. Is there any way that a Charge action could bring more than two non-friendly Units in to a (non-corner)...
  137. Forum search not working well for this game specific discussion

    Hi,

    there starts to be lot of questions and answers on this A Song of Ice & Fire: TMG forum, and if I want to search official answers from CMON employees given in this exact forum area, I do not...
  138. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    This mechanic (of being in contact but not...

    This mechanic (of being in contact but not engaged) is not mentioned at all in the asoiaf rule book, so this mechanic does not help here when asking about asoiaf rules, if playing with official rules.
  139. Replies
    4
    Views
    399

    There is online rule book versioned 1.1 (which is...

    There is online rule book versioned 1.1 (which is newer version of the paper version). There the ranged attack flank bonus matter has been clarified.

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs

    See also the...
  140. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Okay, we still disagree on this then. I also...

    Okay, we still disagree on this then. I also originally read that rule quote like that (and I thought that rule quote is clearly and explicitly allowing becoming engaged with multiple enemies, as...
  141. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    There is no mechanic for touching bases but not...

    There is no mechanic for touching bases but not being engaged mentioned in the rule book, thus that cannot be done.

    But there are these very clear definitions in the rule book, page 7:
    ...
  142. I see the point being made in this topic. That...

    I see the point being made in this topic. That point is likely not RAI, but still, I think I get it, the rules are not clear if trying to figure this out by reading rule book. I'll try via example...
  143. I have vivid imagination, or want to think so....

    I have vivid imagination, or want to think so. For me, answer is "alternative universe, where things went differently". One can imagine many reasons for alignments to change. Maybe there were some...
  144. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    No official answer on this one, I feel this...

    No official answer on this one, I feel this question is still open.


    But, reading the rule, it says nothing about not moving if you fail to disengage in a retreat, so I'd say (same as Coyote...
  145. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Commenting this old topic, above is some...

    Commenting this old topic, above is some incorrect info, you cannot become engaged with multiple units.

    Official ruling is:
    "you cannot declare a charge against multiple enemies. consequently you...
  146. This was resolved in other topic as expected,...

    This was resolved in other topic as expected, simultaneous rules effect this. Varys cancels the effect after Littlefinger claims its own effect....
  147. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    Thanks for the official reply!

    Thanks for the official reply!
  148. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    It is a shame developers are busy with the game...

    It is a shame developers are busy with the game development, which is of course good for this great game, but they don't seem to have time to settle this question (or some other questions on these...
  149. Replies
    20
    Views
    1,671

    That analogue does not work, as in that Tactic...

    That analogue does not work, as in that Tactic Card example there are different triggers on which those card trigger, and that affects the resolving order (it is not an simultaneous actions case,...
  150. Thread: Adaptive methods

    by Fronx
    Replies
    7
    Views
    1,215

    (wrote way too slowly) To say in other words: ...

    (wrote way too slowly)
    To say in other words:

    Expend means in english ”to use”.

    When you have any token in an enemy unit, by playing that card you can use that (any) token as any other token....
  151. Replies
    6
    Views
    1,034

    Greatjon Umber Tactics Cards: questions

    Greatjon Umber Tactics Cards questions.

    LASH OUT:
    - Does this card have effect, if the attacked unit was destroyed?
    Reason: is there anymore "this unit" to to count how many ranks are...
  152. Replies
    3
    Views
    692

    That is nice. Extra credit for the designers...

    That is nice.

    Extra credit for the designers for being able to re-use the Jaime's early version ability. Extremely strong ability, and extremely annoying (for the enemy), but well suited for this...
  153. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    Just to shoot down incorrect statements, as...

    Just to shoot down incorrect statements, as clarity is what we all want:

    Please check the rule book Table of Contents. For ease I only added these chapters we are discussing leaving remainder of...
  154. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    I'll give this one more perspective, as some more...

    I'll give this one more perspective, as some more discussion came of this topic elsewhere:

    This is from Rule book Table of Contents. It shows that the "Melee Attack" (page 17) content is a...
  155. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    So you whom resolve Charges Resolve Attack phase...

    So you whom resolve Charges Resolve Attack phase reading into page 17, Melee Attack chapter, you also, after charge aligning do all those other steps again stated in page 17?

    So after doing all...
  156. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    I agree with the sentiment, that only offcial...

    I agree with the sentiment, that only offcial answer can bring clarity to this.

    Still, you brough some points in, that I have counter for:


    See my message #14 in this topic, bottom half of the...
  157. Replies
    9
    Views
    804

    Both must be for same one unit.

    Both must be for same one unit.
  158. A Game Of Thrones I think this is the best game...

    A Game Of Thrones
    I think this is the best game mode. The Objective cards offer interesting random to the game, that can mix up plans and army compositions, but in a good way. For some it might be a...
  159. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    Disclaimer: The purpose of this discussion on my...

    Disclaimer: The purpose of this discussion on my behalf is to clarify rule book. Clearer rules are good for the game.



    Rule book, page 18, chapter Charge, last bullet point:

    • Resolve...
  160. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    Duplicate removed. Forum is acting funny.

    Duplicate removed. Forum is acting funny.
  161. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    In order for Halberdiers Order to trigger,...

    In order for Halberdiers Order to trigger, Outriders would have to go to Resolving Attack phase (of their charge). Charge being already completed as transferring to that phase. There is nothing in...
  162. How they fare against each other doesn't really...

    How they fare against each other doesn't really matter, that is beside the point, when discussing topic "The mountain that rides: An Automatic include on almost any Lannister build?". That topic...
  163. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,495

    I'll be non-army specific. Almost always usable...

    I'll be non-army specific. Almost always usable in any composition:

    Auto-include:
    - Varys: work he does is separate from the army composition you have. There are always Tactics Zone shenanigans...
  164. I wouldn't consider Mountain that rides...

    I wouldn't consider Mountain that rides auto-include (like something else is), but right now, before the better armor ignoring counters appear, it is quite powerful. Maybe 90% include, while 10% of...
  165. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    Yes, Panic test is part of resolving attack. ...

    Yes, Panic test is part of resolving attack.


    The original question is quite unlcear still though which is the correct answer.
  166. Replies
    3
    Views
    410

    Fron rule book page 20 (online version v1.1): ...

    Fron rule book page 20 (online version v1.1):

    • FLANK BONUS: When a unit makes a Melee or Ranged Attack
    while in a Flank Arc of an enemy, that enemy suffers -1 to their
    Defense Save rolls, as...
  167. Replies
    8
    Views
    1,478

    Also Varys to stop healing from the board, as it...

    Also Varys to stop healing from the board, as it is not really likely to oneshot Flayed men in one round.

    (But Varys is quite auto-include anyways if wanting to min/max).
  168. Replies
    20
    Views
    1,206

    I offer you this logic: When would a dice be...

    I offer you this logic:

    When would a dice be then re-rolled by both players (each player)? What would be the purpose of that sentence in your interpretation?

    While I see a point in saying that...
  169. I would call this already specialized army, only...

    I would call this already specialized army, only 3 different combat units. Unless the attachment made them extremely variant.
  170. How does Varys interact against Littlefinger

    Varys can cancel the effect of the Zone, or the ability of the NCU.
    Littlefinger has ability that changes the effect of the zone.

    How does Varys interact against Littlefinger?

    If Varys cancels...
  171. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    That would still leave interpretation, where...

    That would still leave interpretation, where multiple units can become engaged in "one engagement".

    I would still add words like "engaging only it" to the 1st sentence before comma, to emphasize,...
  172. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    Thanks for the reply! Point 4 answers few other...

    Thanks for the reply! Point 4 answers few other question also I had.


    I would like to point out, that at least I was able to read this below quoted rule book part so, that it allows unit to...
  173. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,164

    I was thinking of the Melee Attack actions shift....

    I was thinking of the Melee Attack actions shift. But it seems that there is one comment in one past here from Shinall, that says that Charge is the only way to engage*. So sounds like in that...
  174. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,164

    These question pops up every now and then...

    These question pops up every now and then elsewhere (Discord, Facebook, almost every game I play), but no official answer found.

    1. When Charging, is it allowed to end up in contact with multiple...
  175. Replies
    6
    Views
    506

    1) I think this is definite yes. 2) I think, as...

    1) I think this is definite yes.
    2) I think, as the card says to resolve "Charge attack", not "Charge [action]", you do not roll for disorderly charge. Rolling for disorderly is part of Charge...
  176. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    For convenience, copy&pasting the rule segments...

    For convenience, copy&pasting the rule segments here:

    Page 18, chapter Charge:
    <bullet points relating to Charge, until last one after "Align with Enemy" bullet>
    • Resolve Attack: Once in their...
  177. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    I have dug out the answers myself to these. 1....

    I have dug out the answers myself to these.

    1. resolved in http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?66938-Can-a-charge-alignment-force-the-enemy-to-disengage-from-a-unit-it-is-attacking...
  178. Replies
    6
    Views
    650

    I agree this would raise no questions or...

    I agree this would raise no questions or wondering, if the extra bits just simply weren't there. I discussed this earlier in earlier topic, but I'll give it a go here too:



    Blue text is...
  179. Replies
    59
    Views
    3,097

    The logic seems sound. Tully's Ride-by attack...

    The logic seems sound.

    Tully's Ride-by attack uses same terminology "resolve attack" what the rule book says for Charge. (it e.g. does not say in rule book to "resolve attack action" after a...
  180. Replies
    3
    Views
    471

    Good catch. Im quite confident it just means...

    Good catch.

    Im quite confident it just means following:

    There are no restrictions to fire into an enemy Unit that is engaged with a friendly Unit (except those that are dictated by the rules)....
  181. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Good logic, thanks, I agree. Howabout if it is...

    Good logic, thanks, I agree.

    Howabout if it is Small Unit Tray charging Large Unit Tray? There you could practically place yourself anywhere, leaving still enough room for another Unit (at least...
  182. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Ok, if so, how do you 50% align Large Tray Unit...

    Ok, if so, how do you 50% align Large Tray Unit against Small Tray Unit, as they are not same size? Is it:

    - 50% from Small Tray's facing (making it something around 25% of the Large Tray covered,...
  183. Questions related to different game modes and reserves

    1. Are Units in the reserve considered to be 'on the table'?
    1a. Can you lose the game if you don't have any units on the field, but still have some in the reserve?
    1b. Can the Units in the reserve...
  184. I like most of your ideas, so I think,...

    I like most of your ideas, so I think, considering that you don't know scenario nor your opponent, most solutions you give are good.

    - Catelyn: removes tokens, gives constantly more dice for a...
  185. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    That is correct, the question is about Berserkers...

    That is correct, the question is about Berserkers charging Mountain (not the other way around).


    The Berserkers during Charge would want to align center-to-center with Mountain, but this causes 3...
  186. Replies
    8
    Views
    1,189

    As you say it is the Ability that allows you to...

    As you say it is the Ability that allows you to NOT bring the Unit to the table, but it is ALSO the Ability that allows you to bring the unit to the table. So if the ability does not exist at that...
  187. Replies
    0
    Views
    279

    Helsinki, Finland

    Any players in Helsinki, Finland?
  188. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,637

    Simultaneous effects need to be done in order...

    Simultaneous effects need to be done in order still, by the rule book:

    The rule book says something like this (not direct quote): if you have multiple actions happening at the same time, player in...
  189. Removing text with Varys removes the way to...

    Removing text with Varys removes the way to target.

    Unit need to be targeted by Maneuver Zone, in order for Rapid Assault to kick in. If the zone text is empty, there is no targeting, there is...
  190. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,637

    Similar situations are very easy to happen in the...

    Similar situations are very easy to happen in the game. This is just variant of following:

    Imagine your two units have engaged one same enemy, on its same flank, 50% and 50% (Quite easy and common...
  191. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,637

    Good question wilesps, I'm wondering this myself...

    Good question wilesps, I'm wondering this myself too.
  192. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    Do you think you could Charge center-to-center...

    Do you think you could Charge center-to-center with Small Tray Unit to Large Tray Unit, if it has already other Small Tray Unit in that same side of Tray 50% aligned?

    You could not do it the other...
  193. Thread: Charge question

    by Fronx
    Replies
    42
    Views
    3,497

    So it seems that most agree, the note about 2...

    So it seems that most agree, the note about 2 units maximum in one flank is a rule.
    The Charge imaged above is not legal.
  194. Replies
    7
    Views
    667

    I assume the question is about following example...

    I assume the question is about following example (but not limited to this example, but in boarder sense!):

    The Objective Cards most have "when scoring" -effects, that manipulate the field during...
  195. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,270

    Point 1 has been now confirmed in this post for...

    Point 1 has been now confirmed in this post for the two enemy units situation:...
  196. Replies
    5
    Views
    672

    Already discussed here:...

    Already discussed here:
    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?66837-NCU-activation-questions

    But, it does not take into account the last question. That is however clearly stated in...
  197. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    but before dice roll result 1 it is legal action,...

    but before dice roll result 1 it is legal action, you cannot know that you roll 1. the action is legal to do, and you are executing it, and then you roll 1, which leaves it short.

    Eg. Charge is...
  198. Replies
    28
    Views
    1,954

    Retreat throw is too short - what happens?

    If in retreat, your only option is to retreat to either side, and you are center-to-center connected with the enemy. Your unit has poor movement (4"), and rough terrain affects movement (-1"). You...
  199. Replies
    3
    Views
    401

    As per rule book (v1.1), page 23: Note that...

    As per rule book (v1.1), page 23:

    Note that sometimes you might have multiple Tactics cards with
    the same trigger. However, a player may only ever activate 1 effect
    for each trigger

    It is a...
  200. Late reply, as just now realized that I don't...

    Late reply, as just now realized that I don't read the new rule book stating that you 'have to' correct aligning. You may. Which could lead to situation, where a player could just keep ridiculous...
Results 1 to 200 of 256
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->