Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: Alliser Thorne

Search: Search took 0.01 seconds.

  1. Replies
    2
    Views
    85

    Jade Fire says Hits from the Attack cannot be...

    Jade Fire says Hits from the Attack cannot be blocked.

    Battle Prayer says it blocks Hits.

    The first line of Jade Fire means that Battle Prayer has no effect on hit.

    Further, Jade Fire (and...
  2. Ride-by Attack is just giving you an additional...

    Ride-by Attack is just giving you an additional Action that you can select (Maneuver, March, Charge, etc). There is nothing forcing you to select that action any more than you would be forced to any...
  3. Can we get clarification on this, specifically...

    Can we get clarification on this, specifically with when an effect does something, _then_ targets something, and is then cancelled?

    The example being Supply Aid and A Flayed Man Has No Secrets. I...
  4. I'm still failing to see your question. "Once...

    I'm still failing to see your question. "Once this round" means it can be done once, what other conclusions are you coming to?
  5. The effect doesn't say it targets, nor is there...

    The effect doesn't say it targets, nor is there any choice about who is actually being targeted. Nothing in any of the targeting rules would point to the charging unit being the target of anything to...
  6. "Once this Round, when an enemy destroys a...

    "Once this Round, when an enemy destroys a friendly Combat Unit, place 2 VP on that enemy. Remove and score these VP when that enemy is destroyed (Even if this mission is discarded)."

    I'm still...
  7. I'm not sure what is being asked about Eddard...

    I'm not sure what is being asked about Eddard Stark, but Ready, Aim, Fire, being an Order, follows the rules for Orders and targeting, which are 100% clear that they always target their own unit, and...
  8. The card states along the lines of "once this...

    The card states along the lines of "once this round, when an enemy destroys a unit, place VP on them. Gain those VP when this unit is destroyed".

    The effect of being able to place tokens on a unit...
  9. As Valenae said, Ready, Aim, Fire (and all...

    As Valenae said, Ready, Aim, Fire (and all Orders) base-line target the unit with the Order. Winter's Might

    I'm not actually sure what this thread is asking/accomplishing, when the base-line rules...
  10. The game mode states that the Mission cards grant...

    The game mode states that the Mission cards grant additional ways to score points. Each individual mission says when you score points from it (end of round, when X happens, etc etc). If it allows...
  11. Replies
    1
    Views
    175

    The card does not state "fully within", per the...

    The card does not state "fully within", per the rules for "in/within" in the rulebook, as long as any part of the tray is in, it's in.
  12. That is specifically mentioning the situation of...

    That is specifically mentioning the situation of multiple attachments in a unit, which I also mentioned in my initial post. The rules for them are outlined in the rulebook and still don't freely...
  13. 1. The card says the unit restores D3 Wounds, it...

    1. The card says the unit restores D3 Wounds, it doesn't say it heals to full.
    2. Nothing on the card says to skip any steps of combat. You failed Defense Saves, you suffer a Panic Test.
  14. Yes, with the exception of your "assuming that my...

    Yes, with the exception of your "assuming that my opponent" comment, because they don't have a choice in the matter about where he's placed.
  15. 1. He is placed just as normal attachments are...

    1. He is placed just as normal attachments are placed, top left of first row of unit. If the unit already has an attachment the standard rules for multiple attachments are used, aka the unit's owner...
  16. Replies
    1
    Views
    171

    Dangerous says it triggers upon performing...

    Dangerous says it triggers upon performing Actions while on it or "moving into". Shifting while already on it would fulfill neither of these triggers, so by wording there wouldn't be any instances of...
  17. If we walk through the steps of resolution it...

    If we walk through the steps of resolution it would happen as follows:

    1. Unit is targeted by Swords Zone.
    2. Swords Zone resolves (selecting Melee or Ranged Attack). At this point you'd need to...
  18. This is a case of Simultaneous Effects controlled...

    This is a case of Simultaneous Effects controlled by the same player: they choose the resolution order.
  19. Use of the word Deploy there. It is again a card...

    Use of the word Deploy there. It is again a card that is taking the specific unit and bringing it back to the table. Inexplicable Return does not use the terms deploy, redeploy or any of that.
    ...
  20. Just took a moment to look up both effects and...

    Just took a moment to look up both effects and it's indeed just as I stated above. These effects do similar things but they are not the same. Inexplicable Return says to take a previously destroyed...
  21. While I can't comment on any official ruling, you...

    While I can't comment on any official ruling, you are taking a ruling on one specific situation/card and trying to apply it to an entirely different, even if similar one, which is something that they...
  22. If you played Assault Orders and Illyrio, you...

    If you played Assault Orders and Illyrio, you would first replace the effect with one of those, then end up replacing thr new effect with the other. They wouldn't stack, they would replace each other.
  23. Replies
    3
    Views
    363

    The effect specifies you heal 1 for each of their...

    The effect specifies you heal 1 for each of their destroyed ranks, not that you heal 1 for each rank that was destroyed by the attack.
  24. Thread: Rerolls

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    4
    Views
    477

    1. I don't know what you're asking in Question 1....

    1. I don't know what you're asking in Question 1. Re-rolls have their own step where they happen during an attack.

    2. You can't re-roll dice twice. If two effects are causing re-rolls, then...
  25. Set for Charge triggers when the unit is...

    Set for Charge triggers when the unit is successfully charged. Horrific Visage triggers when the unit is being attacked.

    Set for Charge would trigger before Horrific Visage (as being successfully...
  26. Replies
    13
    Views
    1,443

    Commanders are chosen for your army during list...

    Commanders are chosen for your army during list creation. Copying an opponent's Commander does not suddenly make them your army's Commander.
  27. Replies
    3
    Views
    469

    No, Tactics Zones are not Abilities. Nothing...

    No, Tactics Zones are not Abilities.

    Nothing in the rulebook points to them being as such. Abilities are defined as things that appear on Units, Attachments, and NCUs, and are called out...
  28. No, that is exactly the opposite. Battle...

    No, that is exactly the opposite.

    Battle Prayer blocks Hits. Dragons cause direct Wounds. Hits are not the same thing as Wounds.
  29. Replies
    2
    Views
    282

    Barristan cancels the effect, full stop. You...

    Barristan cancels the effect, full stop. You targeted the unit, that triggered Barristan. There is never a situation in the game of "only cancelling _some_ of an effect".

    If you target a unit with...
  30. This should be in the rules forum, not here, but...

    This should be in the rules forum, not here, but to answer your question just because you're not rolling dice doesn't mean the step is skipped, just you have zero dice to roll. Steps of resolution...
  31. Replies
    5
    Views
    363

    The Giant completely bypasses Resilience....

    The Giant completely bypasses Resilience. Resilience says you only suffer 1 Wound for every 2 unblocked Hits, meanwhile the Giant's attack says if it generates ANY Hits, they just become straight...
  32. There is nothing to suggest he removes or changes...

    There is nothing to suggest he removes or changes the restrictions on Abilities in any way, outside changing the name of the NCU to his own. If the Ability says it can only affect Greyjoy units then...
  33. I don't know also if that section was updated...

    I don't know also if that section was updated from v1.6 to 2021 rules.

    But my point still stands, without an "Errata" mention then it would resolve as I posted.
  34. Since both of these occur after completing the...

    Since both of these occur after completing the retreat action, it would be a case of Simultaneous Effects, so whoever's turn it is would resolve first, followed by their opponent's.
  35. The rules state that Characters are never...

    The rules state that Characters are never returned, and instead replaced with a generic model of the unit.

    The kingsguard themselves are generic models for the unit, so you'd replace the 8th slot...
  36. Replies
    3
    Views
    348

    The card states "When a friendly Cavalry Unit...

    The card states "When a friendly Cavalry Unit selects its Action during its Activation".

    The free Maneuver granted by Cavalry is not its selected Action. By the time Ride By Attack can be played,...
  37. Units can't have Duplicate Abilities, per the...

    Units can't have Duplicate Abilities, per the Ability Stacking rules: You either do or do not have an Ability. So in your case, putting Tywin in Lannister Guards isn't going to do anything, because...
  38. Replies
    4
    Views
    308

    As stated above, you have to end a move to...

    As stated above, you have to end a move to fulfill that criteria of picking up the token. Just being where it is won't do anything.
  39. Those are all a single Ability. You don't cancel...

    Those are all a single Ability. You don't cancel "part of an Ability" you cancel all of it, period.
  40. Replies
    5
    Views
    567

    Yeah that answer is a bit conflicting. As stated...

    Yeah that answer is a bit conflicting. As stated above, Eddard isn't meeting the targeting rules as you're not choosing anything, just when to use the effect. You're not selecting who is affected.
  41. By wording of the card no, it couldn't be used*...

    By wording of the card no, it couldn't be used* if the defender was destroyed, as there is now no other units in Long Range.

    *The card could still be played, as the trigger is met, but it just...
  42. Replies
    11
    Views
    829

    The first reply said that you have to check it...

    The first reply said that you have to check it case by case. It didn't provide a list or mention Battle Zeal at all.
  43. Destroyed (Infantry) units would, by game...

    Destroyed (Infantry) units would, by game definitions, have three destroyed ranks. Otherwise they wouldn't be destroyed.
  44. Replies
    4
    Views
    362

    As already stated in the thread, the card says...

    As already stated in the thread, the card says "lowest attack die value". It doesn't care about ranks or where that value originates from, just that it's the lowest.

    Dice can be added to that...
  45. Replies
    5
    Views
    449

    Both of these would happen simultaneously based...

    Both of these would happen simultaneously based on the answer, which means the owner decides the order.
  46. Replies
    11
    Views
    748

    First, this isn't actually a rules question. This...

    First, this isn't actually a rules question. This is questioning the answer given to a rule, which I don't actually see as being fully benfifical here.

    Second, to your comment about "ignoring...
  47. Replies
    2
    Views
    215

    Unless the card says the effects aren't...

    Unless the card says the effects aren't cumulative you'd get each benefit listed.
  48. Replies
    2
    Views
    247

    As you said, Hardened blocks additional Hits,...

    As you said, Hardened blocks additional Hits, this is factored before Wounds. Resilience requires 2 Hits to deal a single Wound.
  49. Replies
    4
    Views
    378

    Even if you could weaken NCUs, Othell never makes...

    Even if you could weaken NCUs, Othell never makes ANY attacks. He replaces the zone effect he is Claiming with his effect, which generates a Ranged Attack.
  50. Replies
    6
    Views
    419

    The card days you restore 1 Wound for each MODEL...

    The card days you restore 1 Wound for each MODEL you removed, so if you want to remove three Calvary models to restore 3 Wounds you can. Can't advise doing that though.
  51. Replies
    2
    Views
    182

    As you said, there are no rules in the game...

    As you said, there are no rules in the game against having multiple cards, aside from the same one wouldn't stack.
  52. Replies
    4
    Views
    425

    For this situation, wouldn't this line come into...

    For this situation, wouldn't this line come into play (effectively causing the unit to be pushed back to 1" away): "The attacker is then moved directly forward its total charge distance, stopping...
  53. Replies
    11
    Views
    829

    From my reading this would be correct. The only...

    From my reading this would be correct. The only effect out of any of them that can target is Heart of Fire because its the only one that could possibly affect a unit that isn't the Faith Unit.
  54. Replies
    2
    Views
    223

    I wouldn't say Swift Strike targets anymore than...

    I wouldn't say Swift Strike targets anymore than any other "Attack Ability" targets, which is to say, they don't. You're never "choosing" what unit to use them on, or if they are even ever in effect;...
  55. Replies
    5
    Views
    261

    Triggers only matter for when the card is played,...

    Triggers only matter for when the card is played, at no other time are they relevant in any way.
  56. Replies
    11
    Views
    313

    Spleen brings up a good point in the wording from...

    Spleen brings up a good point in the wording from Storm of Swords, but I also wouldn't use that scenario (or any scenario) as a bases for general rules.

    This does seem to be an "open area" in the...
  57. Replies
    4
    Views
    239

    As RedGod said, nothing in this card points to...

    As RedGod said, nothing in this card points to being able to choose 1 effect. Doing so is just making up rules that do not appear here.

    For the first question, there isn't anything stopping your...
  58. Just as Batman stated, the Errata was a general...

    Just as Batman stated, the Errata was a general rule, it was not tied to any unit, and per that ruling, no, a Charge is not an Attack Action, thus Raven's Flock can't be used.

    Also, side note,...
  59. Charge was expressly errated to be one single...

    Charge was expressly errated to be one single Action. Surge Forth isn't, and never has been, part of an Attack Action. It is a result of an Attack. It's not part of the same Action in any way, it is...
  60. First thing first, there is no such thing as an...

    First thing first, there is no such thing as an Armor Save. You roll defense dice to block Hits. Unblocked Hits become Wounds.

    There is no interpretation if something causes Wounds or Hits. They...
  61. Replies
    12
    Views
    1,097

    The targeting definitions were posted above, they...

    The targeting definitions were posted above, they are not the same for Tactics Cards and Orders. Cards say they list who the trigger is in the text. Orders have rules that state they always target...
  62. Replies
    2
    Views
    1,477

    You always get Defense Saves against Hits.

    You always get Defense Saves against Hits.
  63. Replies
    2
    Views
    1,819

    There is no restriction on using the Ability. ...

    There is no restriction on using the Ability.

    Even if you pass/fail, you don't even have to restore Wounds, as the text says "you may".
  64. Replies
    15
    Views
    5,290

    If you're trying to dictate balance based on...

    If you're trying to dictate balance based on results from one event, and basing it on a performance curve, then Starks made up 40% of the total entries across all armies, and while they showed up at...
  65. Replies
    1
    Views
    2,180

    This should be in the rules forum, but the answer...

    This should be in the rules forum, but the answer is the unit you played Legendary Boldness on, not the enemy.
  66. Replies
    17
    Views
    5,154

    Its a 9 point unit with a 3 points attachment,...

    Its a 9 point unit with a 3 points attachment, over 1/4 of your entire army, and needs to do the same leg-work as two Six Point units to even gain its points back.

    Meanwhile compare with...
  67. Replies
    5
    Views
    2,701

    Any standard Tarot Card sleeves work.

    Any standard Tarot Card sleeves work.
  68. Replies
    1
    Views
    1,343

    Ncus are units. It's in their name: Non-Combat...

    Ncus are units. It's in their name: Non-Combat Unit.

    They, however, do NOT gain Activation tokens. This rule is specific to Combat Units, and nowhere does it state anything but Combat Units gain...
  69. Replies
    2
    Views
    1,284

    Varys is only used when an enemy NCU activates. ...

    Varys is only used when an enemy NCU activates.

    Their Varys is not activating, so no.
  70. Some points of misinformation here. Specifically...

    Some points of misinformation here. Specifically two points I keep seeing mentioned that are just flat not correct, and have been corrected by the creators numerous times, but still keep being...
  71. Replies
    14
    Views
    4,440

    Changes were only made after almost two years...

    Changes were only made after almost two years after the games release, and the "constant changes" you're mentioning happened to exactly four cards, total, after the 1.5 Update which covered all four...
  72. Replies
    4
    Views
    1,055

    Couple things. 1. Rules questions should be...

    Couple things.

    1. Rules questions should be posted in the rules forum

    2. This exact question has been asked. In the future, please use the search.
    ...
  73. Replies
    5
    Views
    2,734

    Yes. It loses everything under Mighty Swing,...

    Yes. It loses everything under Mighty Swing, period.
  74. Replies
    3
    Views
    2,265

    It means you cant mix units with differing...

    It means you cant mix units with differing Loyalties, just as the Ability says.

    Renly has "Loyalty: Renly Baratheon". Stannis has "Loyalty: Stannis Baratheon".

    This means you cannot include...
  75. ... What? Causing Wounds on an Attack doesn't...

    ... What? Causing Wounds on an Attack doesn't make a unit Panicked, it forces them to make a Panic Test. Becoming Panicked is gaining a Panic Token.
  76. Replies
    10
    Views
    2,241

    $29.99 to $34.99 is 16%, not 25%. But beyond...

    $29.99 to $34.99 is 16%, not 25%.

    But beyond that, even with an increase, this is by far the cheapest war game you can get into.

    Beyond even that, you can blame import and tariff taxes for...
  77. Replies
    17
    Views
    5,678

    It's already been said that all the cards were...

    It's already been said that all the cards were early prototypes and nothing near final... Which frankly should of been questioned cause all the art looked slapped on and also repeated across cards.
  78. Replies
    1
    Views
    2,673

    You are only attaching the Vow to a unit, you are...

    You are only attaching the Vow to a unit, you are not triggering the effect of the Tactic Card, aka the "Draw 2 cards part".

    You achieve literally nothing by returning HTWtS with HTWtS.
    ...
  79. Replies
    17
    Views
    6,845

    When was this? I didn't hear anything of the sort.

    When was this? I didn't hear anything of the sort.
  80. Replies
    29
    Views
    7,859

    Saying new factions will cause older ones to not...

    Saying new factions will cause older ones to not be played is only true in the sense that more diversity equals a bigger spread. Just because a faction came before another one doesn't mean it won't...
  81. Replies
    6
    Views
    1,800

    Already been spoiled and is posted on...

    Already been spoiled and is posted on asoifbuilder. He is a Commander and an NCU.
  82. Replies
    16
    Views
    3,662

    Game is 100% based on the books, where there is...

    Game is 100% based on the books, where there is no Night King, at all. He is an invention of the HBO series. In full, there have been maybe 3 instances of The Others at all in the books, so I doubt...
  83. Replies
    56
    Views
    20,701

    The unit that was shown are Baratheon Wardens,...

    The unit that was shown are Baratheon Wardens, not Stag Knights.

    The Stag Knight Noble was on same slide, but it's not part of the unit.
  84. Replies
    1
    Views
    583

    This should be in the rules forum. But...

    This should be in the rules forum.

    But Automatic Hits do not benefit from anything from the unit unless it specifically says they do.

    See the Definition of Automatic Hits in Pg. 7
  85. Replies
    4
    Views
    1,387

    The rules state this is a bonus to the actual...

    The rules state this is a bonus to the actual Attack, not something that passively happens. They are quite clear on this.
  86. Replies
    95
    Views
    14,125

    CMON Expo is at the end of this month. There were...

    CMON Expo is at the end of this month. There were no conventions last weekend.
  87. Nothing says you can't charge, only that your...

    Nothing says you can't charge, only that your speed becomes 2.
  88. Replies
    4
    Views
    2,549

    Wounds are something a model suffers, not...

    Wounds are something a model suffers, not something they start with and lose:

    Wounds, Pg. 24
    Some units might have Innate Abilities that state each model in the
    unit has multiple Wounds (see...
  89. What other games are you comparing this to? Most...

    What other games are you comparing this to? Most miniature games: Games Workshop, Legion, Warmachine pre-public beta, etc spoil releases 2-4 weeks before they hit the market... Here we know...
Results 1 to 89 of 90

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->