Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: Alliser Thorne

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Search: Search took 0.01 seconds.

  1. "Would" be destroyed and "when" a unit is...

    "Would" be destroyed and "when" a unit is destroyed are not the same trigger.

    "Would" happens before a unit is destroyed, and in this case is actually preventing the event from happening at all,...
  2. Well, it's as you posted, Executioners Fury...

    Well, it's as you posted, Executioners Fury requires you to start a turn engaged to gain the benefits. Cruel Methods triggers at the Start of the Round, the rulebook expressly says this is before any...
  3. Replies
    63
    Views
    913

    Yes... Play it as it reads... Would ...

    Yes... Play it as it reads...

    Would
    wo͝od,wəd,(ə)d/
    Verb
    (expressing the conditional mood) indicating the consequence of an imagined event or situation.
    "he would lose his job if he were...
  4. Replies
    63
    Views
    913

    Prey on fear is absolutely NOT triggered "before...

    Prey on fear is absolutely NOT triggered "before the Captain gives the order "At any cost", in any way, shape, or form. At all.

    Once again, Prey on Fear triggers on a FAILED PANIC TEST. You do not...
  5. Replies
    4
    Views
    149

    If Renly is dead he's dead. I assume your actual...

    If Renly is dead he's dead. I assume your actual question is "is it still Renly's unit", in which case no, because he is not in it.
  6. Replies
    63
    Views
    913

    Once again, there is no "choice" in rolling for a...

    Once again, there is no "choice" in rolling for a Panic Test, period. It is a mandatory thing that happens. Period.
  7. Replies
    3
    Views
    147

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs All the errata...

    https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs

    All the errata documents contain all the updated cards.
  8. Replies
    63
    Views
    913

    No, you could not choose to "not make the roll"....

    No, you could not choose to "not make the roll". Nothing is allowing you to skip rolling for the test.

    WOULD fail is the trigger for At Any Cost, it is preventing the failure and replacing it with...
  9. Replies
    63
    Views
    913

    Prey on Fear triggers on a failed Panic Test. At...

    Prey on Fear triggers on a failed Panic Test. At Any Cost triggers when a unit would fail their test and instead causes the unit to automatically pass instead. They never failed; Prey on Fear never...
  10. You're not wasting a card if you're causing your...

    You're not wasting a card if you're causing your opponent to skip an NCU activation with it. Lannisters have a card where this is literally all it does, and this can be seen as just a...
  11. No, as saying the "attacker" loses all Abilities...

    No, as saying the "attacker" loses all Abilities encompasses more than "the attack losses all Abilities".
  12. Replies
    9
    Views
    376

    Well in this situation you have people literally...

    Well in this situation you have people literally making up rules that do not exist in the book, so can't really help you there.

    Blocking a Hit does not negate the fact the Hit was generated....
  13. Replies
    9
    Views
    376

    Giants' Mighty Swing is triggered by a Hit being...

    Giants' Mighty Swing is triggered by a Hit being generated, which then replaces that Hit with the effect of causing direct Wounds. A Blocked Hit is still a Hit that was generated- blocking the Hit...
  14. The Attack would be exactly that, everything in...

    The Attack would be exactly that, everything in the box with the Attack Name and whatever it says there. Nothing else can be stripped away.

    1.5 says losing Abilities cannot affect anything not...
  15. There is literally nothing from 1.4 or prior to...

    There is literally nothing from 1.4 or prior to 1.5 that changes how this works and resolves in any fashion.

    And, quite literally, there is only one thing that Overrun can be modifying, and that...
  16. Replies
    9
    Views
    525

    You seem to be reading the opposite consensus of...

    You seem to be reading the opposite consensus of what everyone else is saying- you absolutely CAN use Shift to move into range, as evident by the " so long as, at the end of that shift, a viable...
  17. Replies
    17
    Views
    507

    Again, Affiliation: X is an Ability, it isn't a...

    Again, Affiliation: X is an Ability, it isn't a game term.

    Bryden Tully (The Blackfish) has the Ability "Affiliation: House Tully"
  18. Replies
    17
    Views
    507

    This is absolutely incorrect. House Clegane...

    This is absolutely incorrect. House Clegane Mountain's Men and House Tully Sworn Shields are absolutely House Clegane and House Tully units respectively.

    Affiliationn is an Ability, not a game...
  19. Thread: Frey

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    1
    Views
    125

    His Ability would be active anytime you control...

    His Ability would be active anytime you control Crown. It does not specify that it only triggers when you claim a zone or any other restriction.
  20. Replies
    9
    Views
    525

    - So you can't use free attack to move 2"...

    - So you can't use free attack to move 2" anymore,

    Correct, unless you also have an actual target to attack.

    - You can't use shift to move at range when you start at, for example, 13" ou 14"...
  21. Replies
    9
    Views
    501

    This is not true. If an effect only targets...

    This is not true. If an effect only targets attachments it only targets attachments.
  22. Replies
    19
    Views
    734

    RAW mech is right here, in regards to Paid...

    RAW mech is right here, in regards to Paid Mutany.

    Mutany requires a test to be passed to avoid the negatives. This is contrary to pretty much every other "morale card" I could find which lists...
  23. Replies
    3
    Views
    188

    There is not actually a rules question here,...

    There is not actually a rules question here, because you're already posting you know both these units can attach Vows- You just don't like it.

    Let's ignore it then that, while you CAN attach Vows...
  24. Thread: Vayrs

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    2
    Views
    210

    You would only pick a target when you resolve the...

    You would only pick a target when you resolve the effect. By this time Varys has either cancelled it or not.
  25. Can be fired once per round means it can be fired...

    Can be fired once per round means it can be fired once per round. If this rule did not exist to specifically limit how many times it could fire it would literally serve no purpose.
  26. There is nothing in the rules that supports this....

    There is nothing in the rules that supports this. The rules state in the case of multiple attachments the unit's owner decides the order.

    It has also been ruled that, while models are removed...
  27. Replies
    12
    Views
    543

    No, this has been answered before. Warhammer only...

    No, this has been answered before. Warhammer only gives a Weakened token when the final result has been generated, which makes it far past the trigger for Tactical Approach.

    Short answer: You cant...
  28. Replies
    12
    Views
    543

    Expending tokens does not interfere with any...

    Expending tokens does not interfere with any triggers.

    Q: Can I expend Condition tokens while also utilizing other effects with similar timing? A: Yes.


    The trigger for using tokens is "after...
  29. You pick which one you get, there is nothing that...

    You pick which one you get, there is nothing that suggests it must be the "first" (even then, how would you distinguish that between discard pile and deck?)
  30. The answer is B. Rattleshirt is a requirement...

    The answer is B.

    Rattleshirt is a requirement for them to be included in your army, not for being deployed/re-deployed.
  31. Replies
    10
    Views
    960

    $29.99 to $34.99 is 16%, not 25%. But beyond...

    $29.99 to $34.99 is 16%, not 25%.

    But beyond that, even with an increase, this is by far the cheapest war game you can get into.

    Beyond even that, you can blame import and tariff taxes for...
  32. Thread: Osha

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    10
    Views
    992

    You are still resolving the attack at that point....

    You are still resolving the attack at that point. The only triggers for Osha are during the unit's activation or after they are attacked, not during
    .
  33. Replies
    2
    Views
    328

    You performed an Action, so yes. Specifically,...

    You performed an Action, so yes.

    Specifically, you performed a Ranged Attack Action, which allows you to shift, and doesn't require you to shoot.
  34. There isn't any room for interpretation here, the...

    There isn't any room for interpretation here, the rulebook is very clear that the owner of the Combat Unit decides on order of Attachments.

    If you can somehow calculate and plan it so the extra...
  35. You seem to be under some impression it's my job...

    You seem to be under some impression it's my job to be at your beck and call?

    This has been addressed before, and answered specifically about attacks. Try searching next time before posting the...
  36. If the unit doesn't have the Ability, how are you...

    If the unit doesn't have the Ability, how are you further applying it; there is nothing to apply.

    By the same logic, you could never remove Attachment Abilities because they are "on" the moment...
  37. Highest Attack Die Value is the numerical...

    Highest Attack Die Value is the numerical value-box listed on an attack. By that same logic additional/negative dice could never apply because the rules say you roll what's in the box.
  38. You're not meeting the criteria listed on the...

    You're not meeting the criteria listed on the card.

    It says you have to expend the token to force re-rolls; you didn't do that, you're not getting any benefit (aka the +2 Wounds) from doing so.
  39. Replies
    23
    Views
    3,166

    Intent here doesn't matter, it's what's written...

    Intent here doesn't matter, it's what's written on the card. Even above, the answer is to play it as it says. The same would apply here until (at this point seemingly IF) an errata is done.
  40. Nothing states "At the start of next round, lose...

    Nothing states "At the start of next round, lose X" it says the NCU loses all Abilities.

    The Ability is the entire text on the NCU card. . If it doesn't have an Ability, how exactly are you trying...
  41. Replies
    17
    Views
    3,266

    It's already been said that all the cards were...

    It's already been said that all the cards were early prototypes and nothing near final... Which frankly should of been questioned cause all the art looked slapped on and also repeated across cards.
  42. No, that would be exactly the situation where...

    No, that would be exactly the situation where they would lose the Ability, when it's literally written on the card the unit is gaining the Ability.

    What wouldn't be lost would be, for example,...
  43. Replies
    1
    Views
    198

    1. Anytime you move over Dangerous Terrain you...

    1. Anytime you move over Dangerous Terrain you suffer the damage. Pivoting is a form of movement- any time the tray moves, you are moving.

    2. By RAW on the card, yes. Whether this is intent (I do...
  44. Again, as I stated before, it depends on the...

    Again, as I stated before, it depends on the Ability of the attachment. As I quoted, some Attachments specifically, in their text, state they are granting an Ability to the unit, such as Rattleshirt....
  45. Rodrik is turned off because his card...

    Rodrik is turned off because his card specifically says he is granting an Ability to the unit- it's literally on his card- Would be Lost.

    Another example: Rattleshirt's cards also specifically...
  46. Replies
    4
    Views
    382

    ...Is this a real question?

    ...Is this a real question?
  47. Replies
    4
    Views
    421

    Yes, once you "begin the cycle" of them having...

    Yes, once you "begin the cycle" of them having the token you could potentially and perpetually keep one in them, as long as they keep generating a "1" result.
  48. Replies
    8
    Views
    619

    That is absolutely false logic, and again,...

    That is absolutely false logic, and again, inventing rules that don't exist in the game. Saying that "it should automatically disqualify units that don't have them" isn't a rule, and nothing...
  49. Replies
    4
    Views
    421

    No. By the time you are generating results from...

    No. By the time you are generating results from Defense Saves you are past the point of being able to re-roll any of those dice- you've already generated results from the roll- and if you're still...
  50. Replies
    5
    Views
    598

    Rulebook- Page 9 • Individual Models: These...

    Rulebook- Page 9

    • Individual Models: These represent the total Wounds of a unitand are removed as the unit suffers damage. If the last model isremoved from a unit, the unit is destroyed and...
  51. Replies
    8
    Views
    619

    This is absolutely not applicable here because...

    This is absolutely not applicable here because the card in question does not care at all if you have ranks. The only factors that matter for the card are:

    1. Were you attacked? (If yes, proceed)...
  52. Replies
    4
    Views
    288

    1. The card remains until conditions are met. ...

    1. The card remains until conditions are met.

    2. Only Combat Units are factored into this.
  53. Replies
    4
    Views
    337

    In the context of the sentence, it is granting...

    In the context of the sentence, it is granting them an action, not limiting them to one. Nothing in the text would suggest it prevents any other triggers or effects from happening.

    Your second...
  54. Replies
    5
    Views
    539

    You never made a ranged attack to begin with, as...

    You never made a ranged attack to begin with, as you had no target, so no, the condition for Nimble's second move was not met.
  55. Replies
    4
    Views
    337

    The trigger is the unit completed a ranged...

    The trigger is the unit completed a ranged attack. The trigger was met, the Order can be used.

    There is no difference between an Action and a free Action.
  56. Replies
    4
    Views
    393

    The rulebook. Re-rolls and order of operations. ...

    The rulebook. Re-rolls and order of operations.

    Re-Rolls
    Numerous effects might allow for dice to be re-rolled. When re-rolling dice, the following rules apply:
    • A die may only ever be...
  57. Replies
    4
    Views
    393

    No. You don't apply the Weakened until rolls are...

    No. You don't apply the Weakened until rolls are final, and by that point you can't force anymore re-rolls.

    Aka no, you can't have your cake and eat it too.
  58. Triggers are based on the event (trigger) causing...

    Triggers are based on the event (trigger) causing them, not the wording on the card.

    Most any wording inconsistencies come from the initial starter release, very few, if any, items beyond that...
  59. Replies
    3
    Views
    330

    "nor" works, but is something you won't hear most...

    "nor" works, but is something you won't hear most people say- it comes off as very "proper" (like old book text) . If I had to guess, over time "nor" was shortened to "or" and that's why it works...
  60. Replies
    3
    Views
    330

    I ask this bluntly and not as an insult, but...

    I ask this bluntly and not as an insult, but English isn't your first language, correct? Cause in English, in this context, and/or are used interchangeably, with "or" being the "cleaner" sounding of...
  61. Because as I stated above, each of these effects...

    Because as I stated above, each of these effects isn't ADDING additional Hits, it's REPLACING what happens on a Six with something else.

    The effect isn't "deals +1/2/3 additional Hits" its "Deals...
  62. None of that. You only get Surge Forth if an...

    None of that. You only get Surge Forth if an enemy Combat Unit is destroyed, which the castle wall is not.
  63. If you play as the attack still resolves, there...

    If you play as the attack still resolves, there is nothing that would support this idea.
  64. Replies
    5
    Views
    588

    I dont understand this question. Dangerous says...

    I dont understand this question. Dangerous says if you move through or perform an action you suffer D3+1 at end of that action. Are you asking if it would trigger twice (because the move IS an...
  65. This is a pretty gray area, but I would say since...

    This is a pretty gray area, but I would say since attack dice results and Hits have been generated the attack would resolve. But this one would probably need official ruling.
  66. Thread: Osha

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    10
    Views
    992

    Go Down Fighting specifically says "Each time a...

    Go Down Fighting specifically says "Each time a rank is destroyed".
  67. No. Your deployment zone, as outlined on the...

    No. Your deployment zone, as outlined on the setup map, is your deployment zone, nowhere else is.
  68. Replies
    1
    Views
    705

    You are only attaching the Vow to a unit, you are...

    You are only attaching the Vow to a unit, you are not triggering the effect of the Tactic Card, aka the "Draw 2 cards part".

    You achieve literally nothing by returning HTWtS with HTWtS.
    ...
  69. I am the king prevents Wounds. It has no...

    I am the king prevents Wounds. It has no interaction with anything that doesn't allow Defense Saves.

    The timing for the card is "after defense dice are rolled", that is a specific step in...
  70. Replies
    2
    Views
    313

    There is nothing limiting what Attachments go in...

    There is nothing limiting what Attachments go in what unit, aside from not mixing unit types (eg Cavalry and Infantry).
  71. Replies
    4
    Views
    522

    Any. There is no minimal needed, if you can see...

    Any. There is no minimal needed, if you can see them then you can shoot them.
  72. Replies
    3
    Views
    518

    Moving of any kind, in any way, is moving. ...

    Moving of any kind, in any way, is moving.

    Pivoting can happen in two ways, by itself, or as part of another move (Maneuver, March, Charge, etc).

    In any of these cases, if you were over a...
  73. Replies
    3
    Views
    463

    I mean... You answered your own question. The...

    I mean... You answered your own question. The card says when they activate, not when they perform a free action.
  74. Replies
    2
    Views
    360

    Order tokens on NCUs are just used to track...

    Order tokens on NCUs are just used to track usage/effects, they are not "Orders" by the Rulebook definition, they only use the tokens.

    They are limited per game by the number of tokens. They do...
  75. Thread: Re-roll

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    1
    Views
    209

    Each player can force a reroll. If Player A...

    Each player can force a reroll.

    If Player A Charges, they can reroll all their dice. After this, Player B can use Weakened and make them reroll any/all dice.

    Note: This order is due to the...
  76. Sure, you can stack them. Neither of those...

    Sure, you can stack them. Neither of those effects ADD additional Hits, they both respectively say "Rolls of 6 cause 2 Hits" and "Rolls of 6 cause 3 Hits".

    Both of those are replacing the result...
  77. Both Critical Blow and the Scorpion's effects...

    Both Critical Blow and the Scorpion's effects replace what happens when you roll a 6- they wouldn't stack with each other. In this case it would actually be they both replace what happens, and you'd...
  78. Lance Ability is not the Charge Bonus. The Charge...

    Lance Ability is not the Charge Bonus. The Charge Bonus, aka rerolls, is a very specific thing defined in the rulebook, nothing else.
  79. Replies
    4
    Views
    546

    Until they create an "exception unit" that breaks...

    Until they create an "exception unit" that breaks this rule.

    But point still stands, it works on anything that is a Free Folk Infantry, not just Trappers or Raiders.
  80. Replies
    6
    Views
    601

    Why would the third line of text only refer to...

    Why would the third line of text only refer to the "friendly unit", the subject of the card is the Influenced Unit, not the friendly one.

    As it's written, the card deals hits to any unit its...
  81. Because this person has a hate vendetta against...

    Because this person has a hate vendetta against the rulebook?

    Couldn't answer your question because he's blatent making up something that doesn't exist in the rules.
  82. It also clearly states "Additionally, after the...

    It also clearly states "Additionally, after the Retreat" which... Well means it's after, not during.
  83. Line of sight is only determined by using a...

    Line of sight is only determined by using a models front arc, nothing else. See the line of sight section in the rulebook.
  84. Agreeing to above on all points.

    Agreeing to above on all points.
  85. Replies
    4
    Views
    546

    Free Folk is the Faction. Everything in it is...

    Free Folk is the Faction. Everything in it is "Free Folk" .

    It can bring back anything that is specifically a Free Folk Infantry unit, aka no Solos, Cavalry, whatever.
  86. Replies
    6
    Views
    406

    There is nothing stopping a unit with multiple...

    There is nothing stopping a unit with multiple ways to Maneuver in the same turn from moving off, then back on, an Objective and gaining the "claim" effect multiple times.

    One could question the...
  87. 1.There is absolutely nothing in the rules that...

    1.There is absolutely nothing in the rules that says or suggests this.

    2. Touching is being in contact, and thus engaged, by all definitions in the rulebook.
  88. You only remove Vows when something tells you to.

    You only remove Vows when something tells you to.
  89. Replies
    3
    Views
    581

    Good question. Rules could go either way on this...

    Good question. Rules could go either way on this one as they just mention them being destroyed not gaining points EACH time they're destroyed.

    Strongly (very strongly) feel intent here is yes/no,...
  90. You could actually play the card on it if you...

    You could actually play the card on it if you want... It will just have zero effect since it is reliant on the unit passing a Morale Test- something the Scorpion cannot do.
  91. Replies
    4
    Views
    603

    Nothing in the rules prevents this, aside from,...

    Nothing in the rules prevents this, aside from, outside rare cases, it being the worst use of your action.
  92. Per the rulebook those icons are purely reminders...

    Per the rulebook those icons are purely reminders that the Ability is only relevant for when the unit is attacking, not that it designates anything (aka those icons do not make something an "attack"...
  93. Replies
    5
    Views
    572

    There is nothing in the effect that would create...

    There is nothing in the effect that would create an exception to the wording. If you do not attack the targeted unit, for whatever reason, you can't attack them with the second unit.
  94. 1. Tyrion triggers when the unit WOULD ACTIVATE,...

    1. Tyrion triggers when the unit WOULD ACTIVATE, meaning it has not activated. This would happen before a card that actually happens WHEN the unit activates.

    2. None of the terrain in the game...
  95. Replies
    4
    Views
    445

    It happens after the Attack Action is resolved. ...

    It happens after the Attack Action is resolved.

    The trigger is "AFTER a friendly unit is attacked."
  96. Replies
    5
    Views
    567

    "even if gained after the card was played."

    "even if gained after the card was played."
  97. Replies
    17
    Views
    2,676

    When was this? I didn't hear anything of the sort.

    When was this? I didn't hear anything of the sort.
  98. Replies
    9
    Views
    529

    Yes, and SCORING Victory Points is a specific...

    Yes, and SCORING Victory Points is a specific step at the end of the round- you don't score points just for moving onto an objective. Hence the ruling that you resolve these going back and forth.

    ...
  99. By strictest rules, the game ends when you have...

    By strictest rules, the game ends when you have no more combat units on the table, unlike other conditions which check at the end of the round, so the game would end right then and there.
    ...
  100. Replies
    9
    Views
    655

    Actually, in the above example the Charge would...

    Actually, in the above example the Charge would result in a failed charge. For a charge to be successful the unit has to come into contact with their target before any other enemy, and by the...
  101. Replies
    9
    Views
    529

    The FAQ says your resolve effects of claimed...

    The FAQ says your resolve effects of claimed objectives back and forth, NOT that you score points this way.

    All players score points simultaneously--it is a specific step in the Cleanup Phase....
  102. Replies
    10
    Views
    663

    The Panic Check is very clearly part of the...

    The Panic Check is very clearly part of the attack, this is an expressly stated step in the rules.

    Forced Conscription says each time an enemy loses models from an attack or panic test. By...
  103. Replies
    29
    Views
    5,509

    Saying new factions will cause older ones to not...

    Saying new factions will cause older ones to not be played is only true in the sense that more diversity equals a bigger spread. Just because a faction came before another one doesn't mean it won't...
  104. Replies
    3
    Views
    333

    When a unit is destroyed it is removed from the...

    When a unit is destroyed it is removed from the table. It's no longer a valid target for, well anything.

    More so, even if you COULD heal it, the rules would still end up removing it from the table...
  105. Replies
    8
    Views
    703

    It refers to Attachments, the rulebook definition...

    It refers to Attachments, the rulebook definition of Attachments. The FAQ specifically mentions it does not remove these Abilties (because the card does not say it does so).

    NCUs are not...
  106. Replies
    6
    Views
    1,399

    Already been spoiled and is posted on...

    Already been spoiled and is posted on asoifbuilder. He is a Commander and an NCU.
  107. Replies
    15
    Views
    2,780

    Game is 100% based on the books, where there is...

    Game is 100% based on the books, where there is no Night King, at all. He is an invention of the HBO series. In full, there have been maybe 3 instances of The Others at all in the books, so I doubt...
  108. Replies
    55
    Views
    16,307

    The unit that was shown are Baratheon Wardens,...

    The unit that was shown are Baratheon Wardens, not Stag Knights.

    The Stag Knight Noble was on same slide, but it's not part of the unit.
  109. Replies
    1
    Views
    404

    This should be in the rules forum. But...

    This should be in the rules forum.

    But Automatic Hits do not benefit from anything from the unit unless it specifically says they do.

    See the Definition of Automatic Hits in Pg. 7
  110. This is just a forum where people ask and answer...

    This is just a forum where people ask and answer rules questions.

    If you see someone official posting, which is usually Michael, it's because they just chose to. Otherwise it's just like any other...
  111. Cards says they get the benefit until the end of...

    Cards says they get the benefit until the end of the turn, it does not list any exceptions, so they get it until the end of the turn.
  112. Replies
    3
    Views
    480

    Martial Superiority says the ATTACK, not the...

    Martial Superiority says the ATTACK, not the Unit, loses all Abilities.

    It doesn't matter where they came from (unit or attachment), they are lost. Same note, again, only Abilities linked to the...
  113. Replies
    4
    Views
    851

    The rules state this is a bonus to the actual...

    The rules state this is a bonus to the actual Attack, not something that passively happens. They are quite clear on this.
  114. Replies
    95
    Views
    11,123

    CMON Expo is at the end of this month. There were...

    CMON Expo is at the end of this month. There were no conventions last weekend.
  115. Replies
    4
    Views
    503

    Oh, apologizes. I completely spaced on the table...

    Oh, apologizes. I completely spaced on the table edge being there, and only focused on the units.

    Yes, the above is correct. Can't pivot over table edge, so could only charge forward to contact.
  116. Replies
    4
    Views
    503

    Well, first off, world's tiniest picture :D ...

    Well, first off, world's tiniest picture :D

    Now then.

    1. I see that the Arc is being measured from the Charging unit (by the red line)... This is incorrect. The Arc should be measured from the...
  117. Replies
    1
    Views
    333

    Attaching the Tactic Card s part of its effect....

    Attaching the Tactic Card s part of its effect. If it has no effect nothing is allowing you to attach it.
  118. Replies
    4
    Views
    646

    His card says he cannot Activate or be targeted...

    His card says he cannot Activate or be targeted in any way. Furthermore, his effect is literally "you tell how the game played out".

    He is not a usable game piece. He is literally just a cool...
  119. They are applied to Wounds with the attack, so as...

    They are applied to Wounds with the attack, so as hitherto said, 0+3.
  120. Replies
    15
    Views
    1,490

    Yes, you quite are. You have been given specific...

    Yes, you quite are. You have been given specific answers in every medium you have asked, been shown examples, had the rules and FAQ cited to you, and absolutely ignored all of it because you want a...
  121. Replies
    9
    Views
    677

    Stark Fury is an exception because the FAQ says...

    Stark Fury is an exception because the FAQ says it is an exception, there is no other reason. Trying to apply this rule to ANYTHING else does not work. It works this way because the FAQ says it works...
  122. Replies
    29
    Views
    1,831

    OK, not to sound disrespectful here but there is...

    OK, not to sound disrespectful here but there is A LOT wrong with your post.

    1. Stark Fury/Hounds Fury are NOT innate abilities. They do not have the Innate Ability Icon. They are Weapon...
  123. I don't care what anyone allows or not...

    I don't care what anyone allows or not (*especially* in a goddamn DEMO VIDEO), I care about what the rules and the FAQ say, which have been quoted to you, on numerous posts, on numerous platforms,...
  124. The FAQ question specifically says you cannot...

    The FAQ question specifically says you cannot pivot off the board edge. That's pivot in any way, shape, or form, period. Pivot is a Pivot.

    There is no such thing as a "rotation", there is only...
  125. Replies
    5
    Views
    524

    It is before deployment of ALL units, not just...

    It is before deployment of ALL units, not just Brienne's.
  126. Replies
    4
    Views
    411

    That is a generic rule for all Panic Tests, so...

    That is a generic rule for all Panic Tests, so yes.
  127. Replies
    1
    Views
    314

    Insignificant says they don't grant points from...

    Insignificant says they don't grant points from the Victory Through Combat rule, it doesn't prevent anything else from making them worth VPs.
  128. Replies
    8
    Views
    621

    Ok, well this is a forum for rules talks, not a...

    Ok, well this is a forum for rules talks, not a place to demand official answers. Everything posted here is someone's opinion.

    Further, Hodor's ability doesn't say "once per game for this unit" it...
  129. Replies
    8
    Views
    621

    Hodor's ability is "Once per game" not "Once per...

    Hodor's ability is "Once per game" not "Once per game per player".

    If it's been used it's been used. The Ability doesn't care who controls Hodor, only if it has/hasn't been used already.
  130. Replies
    7
    Views
    651

    Well, I actually have two reasons why this...

    Well, I actually have two reasons why this wouldn't work:

    1. Both of these effects are optional and have the same timing trigger: When the unit activates. So by that you could only choose to...
  131. Thread: Overrun

    by Alliser Thorne
    Replies
    5
    Views
    445

    Overrun says you Pivot then make a Charge action....

    Overrun says you Pivot then make a Charge action.

    That first Pivot is entirely independent of the following Charge action (as charge already incorporates a pivot, so there would be no need to...
  132. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,471

    This sentence specifically references the target...

    This sentence specifically references the target of the charge ("The LoS Arc of the target"), which in this example has no one engaged and absolutely has space for the attacker's tray. There is no...
  133. Replies
    39
    Views
    3,471

    Attacker would hit the center one, align 100% or...

    Attacker would hit the center one, align 100% or 50% and if it ended up engaged with one or more of the others then they are engaged, per the FAQ ruling above.
  134. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,182

    I said I did not know of any that would cancel...

    I said I did not know of any that would cancel after an Influence was attached, not that they couldn't be cancelled after being attached .

    Here is a case of that exactly happening. Does not...
  135. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,182

    Placing the card is only a small section of the...

    Placing the card is only a small section of the ability. The entirity of the text in the box is the Ability. If they lose it, it's all gone. Period.

    I don't see how this is even up for debate,...
  136. "On a success, that unit only suffers 1 Wound for...

    "On a success, that unit only suffers 1 Wound for every 2 unblocked Hits (discarding any remainders). Otherwise, automatically block 1 Hit."

    Both of the mentioned Abilities trigger if they...
  137. Are you asking how these interact? Because if...

    Are you asking how these interact? Because if that's the case then they don't.

    Protection of the Father helps you against unblocked Hits specifically. Neither of the mentioned effects are causing...
  138. Replies
    6
    Views
    699

    I would say no, as the unit did not activate...

    I would say no, as the unit did not activate (even if it's activation was unit, there is no "moment of activation" to trigger the tactic card).
  139. Replies
    2
    Views
    435

    Attaching a Vow is part of its effect. Nothing on...

    Attaching a Vow is part of its effect. Nothing on its text excludes it from any rules. If the effect is cancelled the effect is cancelled, period, that includes attaching it to a unit.
  140. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,182

    If they lose Abilities then they lose Abilities....

    If they lose Abilities then they lose Abilities. I do not know of any effect, however, that can cause an NCU to lose Influence that's already been placed on a unit. All cancelling effects in that...
  141. Replies
    15
    Views
    1,063

    These are two separate actions, they are not the...

    These are two separate actions, they are not the same instance of moving, meaning yes, Cavalry can potentially trigger two instances of traps per activation.
  142. Replies
    6
    Views
    699

    No, you cannot target units that are not on the...

    No, you cannot target units that are not on the battlefield.

    EDIT: Sorry, i thought this was ruled somewhere, but now I cannot find it (as this is a topic the rulebook does not address).
  143. You don't get an option on how far you move with...

    You don't get an option on how far you move with a charge. It is not up to the distance rolled, you move the total distance.
  144. Replies
    15
    Views
    1,063

    Same. If you move INTO Long Range then you're not...

    Same. If you move INTO Long Range then you're not meeting the timing-criteria for the trigger, you're just completing an action.
  145. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,237

    The text on Abilities/Cards/Whatever is their...

    The text on Abilities/Cards/Whatever is their effect. Regardless of that, however, is that Panic causes Wounds, not Hits. It does not interact with the Giant's Ability at all.
  146. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,237

    Hits are not Wounds. Unblocked Hits cause Wounds....

    Hits are not Wounds. Unblocked Hits cause Wounds. Defense Saves are just one way of blocking Hits and preventing them from becoming Wounds.

    In the case of Giants, they have to take 2 unblocked...
  147. Replies
    14
    Views
    1,181

    Each of the moves is a separate Action, so you...

    Each of the moves is a separate Action, so you could trigger one off the Cavalry move, and then another off of their other Action, assuming they move during that one.
  148. Replies
    2
    Views
    409

    Terrain has whatever keywords you assign to it,...

    Terrain has whatever keywords you assign to it, even the ones in the rulebook are just listed as suggestions.

    I would go with Elevated and Rough, but whatever you want to do is what it is.
  149. Replies
    1
    Views
    321

    "Charge Bonus" is a specific game term with a...

    "Charge Bonus" is a specific game term with a specific meaning- the re-rolls you get for making a charge.

    In the case of the Knights, their Ability triggers when they charge. It doesn't matter if...
  150. Replies
    7
    Views
    514

    You can't lose more models to a Panic test than...

    You can't lose more models to a Panic test than your Morale Stat because you can't roll below 0, as mentioned above, and on pg. 24 of the rulebook:

    Dice Roll Modifiers
    Some effects modify a...
  151. Nothing says you can't charge, only that your...

    Nothing says you can't charge, only that your speed becomes 2.
  152. Replies
    4
    Views
    1,839

    Wounds are something a model suffers, not...

    Wounds are something a model suffers, not something they start with and lose:

    Wounds, Pg. 24
    Some units might have Innate Abilities that state each model in the
    unit has multiple Wounds (see...
  153. Basically to sum it up: 1. Rules don't cover...

    Basically to sum it up:

    1. Rules don't cover what happens if you contact multiple enemies as a result of a successful charge (whether you can, can't, or what happens, it's completely not covered....
  154. The trigger for Direwolf's Fervor is the unit...

    The trigger for Direwolf's Fervor is the unit makes a Panic Test, which is what is being caused by Cruel Methods. Fervor doesn't care about the source of said test and there is no case of timing...
  155. As I've stated before, the rules do not cover...

    As I've stated before, the rules do not cover what happens if you would contact multiple enemies on a successful charge- this needs addressing.

    HOWEVER, this line is very clear in that you can...
  156. 1. Nothing says you get to redraw, so you don't...

    1. Nothing says you get to redraw, so you don't get to redraw.

    2. 10 out of 20, aka 50% of the cards are Vows. Drawing three cards means a 88% chance of getting at least one Vow.
  157. 1. Nothing prevents Vows from being attached to...

    1. Nothing prevents Vows from being attached to War Machines- none of the Vows have a written restriction on what type of unit, outside Night's Watch, they can go on.

    2. Watcher On the Wall grants...
  158. Replies
    5
    Views
    517

    Again, an Ability. The only time you take a...

    Again, an Ability.

    The only time you take a Panic Test is when you are the defender against an Attack action.
  159. Replies
    5
    Views
    517

    Counterattack is an Ability. Panic Tests only...

    Counterattack is an Ability.

    Panic Tests only trigger from Attack Actions.
  160. If you're talking about Clash of Kings, it only...

    If you're talking about Clash of Kings, it only says Characters do not return. It doesn't say anything about not returning other Attachments.
  161. Winter is Coming triggers when a unit charges......

    Winter is Coming triggers when a unit charges... Castle Walls can't charge, so no.

    Tactics Cards each have a trigger. If the trigger is met, the card can be played.
  162. Simultaneous Actions rule. Active player's...

    Simultaneous Actions rule. Active player's effects happen before defenders, same as if you Charged while being Weakened. Your rerolls resolve first, then defender can force reroll via Weakened.

    ...
  163. This is the text from the FAQ regarding Stark...

    This is the text from the FAQ regarding Stark Fury and why it functions like it does:

    STARK SWORN SWORDS

    Q: Can I use Stark Fury in combination with other Abilities and/orTactics Cards that...
  164. Replies
    42
    Views
    3,778

    1. As they are written, nothing is preventing you...

    1. As they are written, nothing is preventing you from contacting multiple enemies during a charge, as long as the following criteria were met: 1. You didn't contact someone that wasn't your target...
  165. 1. Blackfish's Resolve is absolutely a mandatory...

    1. Blackfish's Resolve is absolutely a mandatory effect nothing in the text gives you the option of NOT doing it. The fact it's 100% beneficial doesn't matter (It does, however, let you return UP TO...
  166. Correct, as the trigger would be met there as...

    Correct, as the trigger would be met there as well. So by above reasoning you could play "It Shall Not End" when you are destroyed by the damage... Pass the check... Fail your Panic, and double-down...
  167. 1. Correct. Unit attachment is ALWAYS the last...

    1. Correct. Unit attachment is ALWAYS the last model to be removed. The card specifically says when the unit would be destroyed and then further says it remains alive with 1 wound. This model/wound...
  168. It is not part of the attack. The free Maneuver...

    It is not part of the attack. The free Maneuver is granted by destroying a unit, which is a trigger.

    As others have said, this is a case of Simultaneous Actions happens, e.g. the active player's...
  169. Replies
    10
    Views
    558

    Well, again, "Rules as Written", when exactly are...

    Well, again, "Rules as Written", when exactly are you ending the effect? Because saying its End of Round isn't what the card says either.
  170. Replies
    10
    Views
    558

    Leaving out words is an oversight. Adding them is...

    Leaving out words is an oversight. Adding them is not.
  171. Replies
    10
    Views
    558

    They're the same Ability, they would function the...

    They're the same Ability, they would function the same--there isn't a case of two Abilities with the same name functioning differently.

    I would imagine it's a typo/oversight on Bryden's card.
    ...
  172. Sic 'em is creating an entirely new attack, it is...

    Sic 'em is creating an entirely new attack, it is not part of or linked to the ranged attack. You would resolve Cruel Methods in its entirety, including the Panic Test, before moving on to anything...
  173. Replies
    3
    Views
    315

    1. You suffer damage from Dangerous as soon as...

    1. You suffer damage from Dangerous as soon as you contact it.

    2. The white die in the box is a D3, a three-sided die. Roll it.
  174. Replies
    4
    Views
    363

    The scenario rules state ANYTIME a unit fails a...

    The scenario rules state ANYTIME a unit fails a Morale Test it gains a VP Token, not just from the test taken on activation.
  175. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,182

    Per the v1. 1 rulebook Innate Abilities, aka the...

    Per the v1. 1 rulebook Innate Abilities, aka the ones with the heart symbol, cannot be canceled or removed, period- any part of them.
  176. Replies
    5
    Views
    481

    Quoting this because it's the same logic I would...

    Quoting this because it's the same logic I would apply.

    "Through" means... Well "through". Doesn't matter if you began that move outside or not, you're still moving "through".
  177. No, again, as I said, the rule book actually...

    No, again, as I said, the rule book actually expressly states the opposite of this, as Fronx quoted above.

    I do not see where you are getting that you can be in contact but not engaged- the rule...
  178. I'm sorry, but there is absolutely NOTHING in the...

    I'm sorry, but there is absolutely NOTHING in the rulebook that says you are "not engaged" when touching an enemy- the very definition, per the rulebook, of engaged is being in contact with an enemy....
  179. Replies
    7
    Views
    540

    Rulebook, Pg. 26, Multiplayer.

    Rulebook, Pg. 26, Multiplayer.
  180. Replies
    7
    Views
    755

    1. Actions are not Activations. 2a. Cavalry...

    1. Actions are not Activations.

    2a. Cavalry get a free Maneuver action before they take their "Activation" action.
    Initially I would have said "Yes, they get that free Maneuver action, and...
  181. Replies
    6
    Views
    497

    Just to note, that's not really a "house rule"....

    Just to note, that's not really a "house rule". The rules specifically state you can assign whatever keywords you want to terrain, and that the ones listed are merely suggestions. You can have a...
  182. Replies
    6
    Views
    497

    In the first example, Cover states it is for...

    In the first example, Cover states it is for checking LoS for Ranged Attacks, which are drawn from the center-point of the unit's tray. Otherwise though, yes, if ANY part of the target is behind...
  183. Replies
    7
    Views
    724

    1. Yes, they are worth VP from failing Morale...

    1. Yes, they are worth VP from failing Morale Tests. The Victory Through Combat rules only state they arent worth VP for being destroyed.

    2. The Corpse Pile rules state to place another one if one...
  184. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,182

    Way I read the Abilities Vows would only...

    Way I read the Abilities Vows would only check/discard when they actually Attach. That's the only "trigger" moment for the discard effect.

    But answer could go either way on this one.
  185. If his trigger was "When an enemy NCU would claim...

    If his trigger was "When an enemy NCU would claim a zone on the Tactics Board" there would literally be zero issue with the application, resolution, and interaction with his effect. Adding that one...
  186. It's not so much about "power level" here for me...

    It's not so much about "power level" here for me (yes, Varys is good, but he's slave to dice rolls to actually be useful), it's about rules-complexity and interaction. If you play it one way, it's...
  187. Well I mean, it does in the fact it automatically...

    Well I mean, it does in the fact it automatically makes the enemy Vulnerable, which yes, against Executioner's Fury is useless (since it ignores Defense Saves), but it also means you can use Mighty...
  188. Ok, read over everything and we're on the same...

    Ok, read over everything and we're on the same page as far as what is being said/asked here.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but to summarize:

    Issue here is as follows:
    1. Vary triggers when an...
  189. By literal wording (which you should know by now...

    By literal wording (which you should know by now is what I go by) then no, they would not get Critical Blow, because they do not have 1 remaining rank. Same logic as the Lash Out question, which was...
  190. Replies
    42
    Views
    3,778

    You're engaged if you are in contact. I'm not...

    You're engaged if you are in contact. I'm not seeing a need for a token to tell me that we're touching, that should be pretty obvious.
  191. I'm still not understanding exactly what is...

    I'm still not understanding exactly what is trying to be said here...

    Are people confusing the fact that the active player has to DECLARE they are using Voluntary effects BEFORE their opponent, or...
  192. I'm sorry but what actual point is trying to be...

    I'm sorry but what actual point is trying to be made here?

    Cause it seems like your point is "Varys can't do anything", which, regardless of whatever else is trying to be said, is obviously not...
  193. Jaime doesn't modify or change the total...

    Jaime doesn't modify or change the total models/Wounds in the unit. You must still do the full amount (aka remove Jaime) to destroy the unit.
  194. Replies
    5
    Views
    544

    Automatic Hits are just Hits against the unit....

    Automatic Hits are just Hits against the unit. They don't have any special abilities on their own unless they say they do. The defender just makes Defense Saves and takes a Wound for each failed.
    ...
  195. When you present the rules as they are given,...

    When you present the rules as they are given, cite sources and examples, and someone doesn't accept them because they want an "official answer" then what is the point of anyone posting here at all?
    ...
  196. Replies
    20
    Views
    1,844

    "many known issues" being people posting and...

    "many known issues" being people posting and coming to conclusions for most of the questions asked. I'm not posting in that Rapid Assault discussion any longer because it's devolved to just arguing...
  197. Replies
    20
    Views
    1,844

    Ok, I'm back to being confused here. I thought...

    Ok, I'm back to being confused here. I thought the answer to this question was pretty straight-forward and was agreed upon, so what is being asked now?
  198. Replies
    3
    Views
    510

    As pointed out above, the only rules for putting...

    As pointed out above, the only rules for putting an Attachment in a unit says they replace a model in the unit when you do so.

    More so, if it "healed" one then you couldn't, for example, use Take...
  199. The card says "If targeting a House Umber unit",...

    The card says "If targeting a House Umber unit", not one containing Greatjon. If you see that version, you're looking at an old one.

    This was discussed on the discord though. The FAQ says a unit...
  200. There isn't anything in the triggers that "ruins...

    There isn't anything in the triggers that "ruins this case" though. Attackers effects happen before defenders, meaning attacker resolves their reroll, then defender can force theirs via Weakened.
    ...
Results 1 to 200 of 220
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->