Search Results - CoolMiniOrNot Forums

Search:

Type: Posts; User: Dean Rothwell

Search: Search took 0.01 seconds.

  1. Assuming you control the Crown Zone, that unit...

    Assuming you control the Crown Zone, that unit only suffers 1 Wound from the failed Panic Test and then the card is discarded.

    The first bullet point is basically a one time effect. The second...
  2. Replies
    6
    Views
    3,715

    I've used the following list recently to great...

    I've used the following list recently to great effect. I managed to beat 2 very good players who were using an Othell Night's Watch list (including the new Watch Marshall attachment/solo) and a...
  3. This is correct.

    This is correct.
  4. Vows cannot target any unit on the field. They...

    Vows cannot target any unit on the field. They all have specific targets. (One exception is The Horn That Wakes the Sleeper.) The trickiest one is The Watcher on the Wall, which triggers when a unit...
  5. The rulebook does cover multiple enemies: 80892

    The rulebook does cover multiple enemies:

    80892
  6. Replies
    2
    Views
    685

    Targeting Question

    Scenario: Neutrals vs Lannisters. Neutral player controls the Envelope and is the active player.

    1) Neutral player's unit of Cutthroats attacks Lannister player's unit of Guardsmen (who have a...
  7. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,166

    If both players have the same points they are...

    If both players have the same points they are tied. The rulebook literally uses this word. I'm not saying you're wrong about the rest of your comment, but it's incorrect to say there's no such thing...
  8. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,166

    Has a player accumulated a specific number of VP?...

    Has a player accumulated a specific number of VP? Yes (even if it's more than one player). Does a player have more VP than any opponent? Yes. Then that player is the winner.

    It's also worth...
  9. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,166

    "Victory is declared if, at the end of any round,...

    "Victory is declared if, at the end of any round, a player has accumulated a specific number of Victory Points and has more Victory Points than any opponent."

    Even if both players have accumulated...
  10. Replies
    9
    Views
    1,166

    In your example the player with 11 VP would win....

    In your example the player with 11 VP would win.

    If both players meet the victory conditions but there is a tie (e.g. 10-10 at the end of a round) play would continue to the next round. If that...
  11. Replies
    6
    Views
    622

    I can see the confusion but this is simply a case...

    I can see the confusion but this is simply a case of inconsistent wording/language.

    Some NCUs such as Roose Bolton state "when you claim a zone on the Tactics Board..." while others (such as...
  12. Replies
    2
    Views
    615

    The 'enemy' is from perspective of the Barristan...

    The 'enemy' is from perspective of the Barristan player.

    So in your example you could cancel the effect of Swift Advance by removing Barristan's card.
  13. Replies
    4
    Views
    1,021

    Rickon and Joffrey are slightly different....

    Rickon and Joffrey are slightly different. Joffrey grants the extra VP when his model is destroyed. Rickon requires the unit itself to be destroyed. Meaning that if Rickon is sniped by Jaime...
  14. The token would remain on the unit. Becoming...

    The token would remain on the unit.

    Becoming 'Panicked' is the act of placing a Panic Token on the unit. The Panic Token can still be expended by Roose's Tactics Card, for example.
  15. Replies
    7
    Views
    611

    Is the pivot-manoeuvre-pivot sequence not treated...

    Is the pivot-manoeuvre-pivot sequence not treated as one single move, therefore allowing you to move through impassible terrain as in the diagrams?

    78088
  16. I think in this instance the players will have to...

    I think in this instance the players will have to fight to the death and whoever is left alive gets to use Cruel Methods.
  17. Replies
    5
    Views
    2,115

    Maybe you could go over the white armour bits...

    Maybe you could go over the white armour bits with a glossy varnish?
  18. Replies
    1
    Views
    322

    2) Yes, you can play Last Stand first (as the...

    2) Yes, you can play Last Stand first (as the trigger is during the attack) and then play Counter Charge (which triggers after the attack).
  19. No you're not missing anything. It is costed as...

    No you're not missing anything. It is costed as such because it can be potentially game-changing. It can deal auto-Wounds to any enemy, anywhere on the table, from round one.

    For example, on turn...
  20. Replies
    29
    Views
    6,904

    Starks are also missing Maege Mormont. So she's...

    Starks are also missing Maege Mormont. So she's another contender for Stark Heroes #3.
  21. Replies
    5
    Views
    748

    77001 This is from the official FAQ.

    77001

    This is from the official FAQ.
  22. Replies
    2
    Views
    495

    76884 Here is clarification.

    76884

    Here is clarification.
  23. Replies
    2
    Views
    495

    I believe you would lose both Sundering and +1 to...

    I believe you would lose both Sundering and +1 to hit. These are both Abilities and as such are considered to originate from the Combat Unit.
  24. Replies
    1
    Views
    431

    1) Yes you could have used Take the Black to take...

    1) Yes you could have used Take the Black to take his Jon Snow. The rule about multiple versions of the same character only applies to army construction.

    2) Take the Black is a generic Nights...
  25. So your question is in two parts: Q) In which...

    So your question is in two parts:

    Q) In which order do you place attachments?
    A) It's up to the owner of that unit.

    Q) In which order do you remove attachments?
    A) From right to left (as per...
  26. Replies
    1
    Views
    427

    76856 You're correct, NCUs don't count. It's...

    76856

    You're correct, NCUs don't count. It's just combat units.

    If you both have 33 points of combat units then it's a draw.
  27. The core rulebook is a very specific set of...

    The core rulebook is a very specific set of rules, where as Jaime's card is just a reminder of those rules. As Alliser says, the rules aren't there to be interpreted.

    For further clarification...
  28. Replies
    18
    Views
    3,146

    I pretty much agree with all of that. I'd stick...

    I pretty much agree with all of that. I'd stick Nights Watch Ranger Hunters in red though. For 8 points I think they're too pricey. I'd rather save 2 points and run the Ranger Trackers any day.
  29. It's up to the owner of the Unit as to the order...

    It's up to the owner of the Unit as to the order in which the Attachments are placed:

    76748
  30. Replies
    6
    Views
    955

    Well yeah that's basically what I was saying. I...

    Well yeah that's basically what I was saying. I just used 'active player' because that's the term that we're familiar with from the Simultaneous Actions rule.
  31. Replies
    6
    Views
    955

    If the effects are simultaneous then won't the...

    If the effects are simultaneous then won't the active player get to chose the order in which the actions resolve?
  32. Replies
    2
    Views
    738

    eBay or the ASOIAF Facebook buy and sell group...

    eBay or the ASOIAF Facebook buy and sell group are probably your best bets.
  33. 'Take the Black' in new A Clash of Kings (v1.4)

    I have two questions regarding the new version (v1.4) of A Clash of Kings specifically, with regards to the Nights Watch Tactics Card 'Take the Black'.

    Firstly, if I destroy a Unit containing an...
  34. What confuses me is that the trigger for Varys...

    What confuses me is that the trigger for Varys (When an enemy NCU claims a zone on Tactics Board) happens before the trigger for Tyrion (When an opponent plays a Tactics Card). Is this because - as...
  35. So to summarise (hopefully correctly this time!);...

    So to summarise (hopefully correctly this time!); you cannot use Varys and THEN Tyrion/Counterplot?

    If you're going to use Varys and Tyrion/Counterplot (because you really, really want to stop the...
  36. Replies
    2
    Views
    517

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php...

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?66983-Questions-related-to-different-game-modes-and-reserves
  37. Replies
    2
    Views
    517

    You cannot target a Unit in reserve. Michael has...

    You cannot target a Unit in reserve. Michael has addressed this directly in another forum post. I'll try and find the link (could be difficult though).
  38. So to summarise; you cannot use Varys and THEN...

    So to summarise; you cannot use Varys and THEN Tyrion/Counterplot?

    If you're going to use Varys and Tyrion/Counterplot (because you really, really want to stop the enemy's tactics card) you must...
  39. Can you use Tyrion Lannister - Haflman's Order after failing with Varys?

    If my opponent plays a card that replaces a zone's effect on the Tactics Board, such as Sudden Charge, and I try and fail with Varys's ability, can I then use Tyrion Lannister - Halfman's Order (or...
  40. Replies
    11
    Views
    1,414

    It doesn't only happen with Commander Cards...

    It doesn't only happen with Commander Cards though. Plus a new thread is more likely to get noticed.
  41. Replies
    1
    Views
    2,001

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php...

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?66872-Looking-for-players-in-London-UK
  42. Replies
    6
    Views
    1,692

    OP must be Australian.

    OP must be Australian.
  43. Thread: Shift

    by Dean Rothwell
    Replies
    1
    Views
    481

    Yes Rough would effect a Unit Shifting. A Shift...

    Yes Rough would effect a Unit Shifting. A Shift is a form of Movement, so would incur the -1" movement modifier.
  44. Replies
    39
    Views
    4,109

    The FAQ references 'additional enemies' and...

    The FAQ references 'additional enemies' and 'additional contacted enemies' - plural in both cases, meaning the target plus more than one enemy.

    This doesn't contradict that specific line from the...
  45. Replies
    39
    Views
    4,109

    You absolutely cannot Charge an enemy that is...

    You absolutely cannot Charge an enemy that is 100% aligned, even if it is engaged with a Solo Unit. This is because being aligned 100% (centre-to-centre) means that there is logically no space for...
  46. Thread: Syrio

    by Dean Rothwell
    Replies
    4
    Views
    917

    Looks like it's just for a single attack. ...

    Looks like it's just for a single attack.

    [Edit] Looks like it's actually less straightforward than that!

    It's possible that it lasts for the whole of the turn, so if you are attacked multiple...
  47. Replies
    5
    Views
    647

    There is no limit to the amount of Faith Tokens a...

    There is no limit to the amount of Faith Tokens a Unit can have. The only restriction is in expending Faith Tokens i.e. 1 per trigger like other Voluntary Effects.

    The key to The Warrior's Sons is...
  48. Replies
    5
    Views
    647

    You can only expend a single Faith Token at a...

    You can only expend a single Faith Token at a time. Michael says as much on his latest podcast.

    You can however use a Faith Token in conjunction with Sandor Clegane's 'The Hound's Fury' though...
  49. Replies
    2
    Views
    507

    72609 The Watch Captain does not allow a Unit...

    72609

    The Watch Captain does not allow a Unit that cannot take a Vow to take a Vow.
  50. Replies
    4
    Views
    862

    The FAQ for 'Take the Black' is for when an...

    The FAQ for 'Take the Black' is for when an attachment was destroyed in a previous round or turn. For example, Reek is destroyed in Round 2. Ramsey's Unit is then destroyed in Round 3. The Night's...
  51. Replies
    5
    Views
    647

    72526 No you can only use one Faith Toekn at a...

    72526

    No you can only use one Faith Toekn at a time.
  52. Replies
    9
    Views
    823

    If you look at the wording on the card the second...

    If you look at the wording on the card the second paragraph uses the word 'also', which means 'in addition to'. So you treat everything on the card as happening simultaneously.

    72523

    Now...
  53. Replies
    29
    Views
    2,380

    I completely agree but that is the counter...

    I completely agree but that is the counter argument; when you play the card you resolve it immediately, which RAW is to perform your Action.

    I wouldn't play it this way personally but that's the...
  54. Replies
    29
    Views
    2,380

    The counter argument is that playing this card...

    The counter argument is that playing this card interrupts the normal sequence of events.

    So normally you would Activate the unit, take your Free Manoeuvre then take your Action.

    Now however,...
  55. Replies
    9
    Views
    849

    That's exactly the reasoning behind Stark Fury...

    That's exactly the reasoning behind Stark Fury behind a Mandatory Ability, even though it includes the word 'may'. However, that has its own specific FAQ entry, unlike this instance.
  56. Replies
    9
    Views
    849

    So this means that when a Cavalry/Solo Unit...

    So this means that when a Cavalry/Solo Unit activates the player cannot use the Free Manoeuvre as well as playing a Tactics Card that triggers on "When a friendly Unit Activates..." such as this High...
  57. Thread: Ability

    by Dean Rothwell
    Replies
    3
    Views
    418

    72404 Page 10 of the rules.

    72404

    Page 10 of the rules.
  58. Replies
    29
    Views
    2,380

    This is the same as Stark/Hound's Fury; they're...

    This is the same as Stark/Hound's Fury; they're innate Abilities and as such can be used with other effects/Abilities that trigger at the same time because they're always active and cannot be...
  59. Replies
    9
    Views
    823

    In that instance you can use the Panic Token for...

    In that instance you can use the Panic Token for that test.

    I'll have a look and see if there are instances where you couldn't.
  60. 72355 "The table edge is treated as IMPASSIBLE...

    72355

    "The table edge is treated as IMPASSIBLE for ALL PURPOSES."
  61. Just one deck. Everything you need to play is in...

    Just one deck. Everything you need to play is in the starter box, which in this case is one Secret Mission deck.

    You wouldn't for example use 2 Tactics Boards, even though you both one.
  62. Replies
    21
    Views
    2,112

    This issue was specifically addressed in the most...

    This issue was specifically addressed in the most recent FAQ:

    72303

    Definition of Impassible from the rules:

    72304

    And from that thread I linked earlier Michael is clear that if ANY part...
  63. Replies
    21
    Views
    2,112

    That video is just a demonstration of the game in...

    That video is just a demonstration of the game in general for promotional purposes and to increase awareness. It's not an exacting rules demonstration.

    I'm also pretty sure that some of those...
  64. Replies
    21
    Views
    2,112

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php...

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?67289-What-part-of-a-tray-counts-as-quot-crossing-quot-or-quot-traveling-through-quot-terrain

    Michael replies directly to this issue here about...
  65. With regards to the Giant's Mighty Swing and...

    With regards to the Giant's Mighty Swing and Builder Scorpion Crew's Single Shot, these attacks are dealing automatic Wounds.

    The text reads that if the attack generates any Hits then deal Wounds....
  66. Vows can be attached to Ghost. Ghost is a...

    Vows can be attached to Ghost.

    Ghost is a Night's Watch Unit.
  67. The Giant and Scorpion attacks activate if they...

    The Giant and Scorpion attacks activate if they generates any hits. These cannot be blocked.

    You can however modify the number of dice rolled by playing Tactic Cards. An example of this would be...
  68. Replies
    26
    Views
    2,828

    Doesn't this contradict what you said on the...

    Doesn't this contradict what you said on the previous page?

    "If they lose Abilities then they lose Abilities. I do not know of any effect, however, that can cause an NCU to lose Influence that's...
Results 1 to 68 of 68

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->