80205
Just saying... I think my "Option C" is seeming more and more likely.
I get it... RAW was all messed up. But I think RAI was always for Overrun to trigger with Surge Forth.
Type: Posts; User: Yelraek
80205
Just saying... I think my "Option C" is seeming more and more likely.
I get it... RAW was all messed up. But I think RAI was always for Overrun to trigger with Surge Forth.
Also adding some support in the interpretation. The card says "a tactics zone"... Which means any zone on the board. If the card said "the tactics zone" then I would interpret that as the envelope.
I think there's a third option.
C) The intended trigger is very poorly worded and is at Surge Forth. Notice Michael's post that you have referenced. He never actually acknowledges the trigger as...
Just saying... you're admitting here that Michael Shinall has stated (on Discord) that "Destruction" and "After Attack" are two distinct triggers. But everything else you've said in this thread leads...
Destruction and After Attack are two distinct triggers. Things can be destroyed at various points throughout the game, including during an attack. (and of course, after something is destroyed during...
If you elect to use Run Child! at either 5 or 9 models, then you'll also trigger Go Down Fighting. Otherwise, no.
Reasoning. Take the 5 models remaining example. You would begin by killing Osha...
What I predict you are thinking by having the word "affected" in bold is correct.
If you influence a unit with Jeor (assuming you control the Tactics Zone of the board) which is already being...
For figures, it's tournament legal to use ones ordered from Darksword Miniatures.
They're more expensive, but if you're just looking for the Heroes from the Starter set...
http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?68497-Aemon-and-wealth-zone-activation&highlight=Simultaneous
Linked is a very similar question. With an answer. Confirmed by the designer.
...
It's the latter.
Both the NCU effect and the Tactics board effect trigger upon claiming the zone. They are simultaneous. Therefore, you may choose the order in which they resolve. "Immediately" in...
Both are the same trigger.
Active player's effect resolves first. In the vast majority of the instances of these cards that will be the Targ Hit and Run that resolves before Ours is the Fury....
http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?68215-Attacking-with-highest-die-value-or-full-ranks&highlight=Catelyn
BLUF: When Ranger Hunters retreat away from an enemy and elect to use Quickfire to perform a ranged attack, does the enemy pivot before or after the attack?
The crux of the question comes down to...
Correct.
Note: this is if you keep the rulebook SUGGESTED key words to use for Palisade terrain. You both may agree to give the palisade "cover" as a keyword.
Yes. The highlighted portion is only conditional on being engaged with one unit. It is not conditional on actually changing facing.
It's the same as the description of a Maneuver: Pivot, move,...
OP is an odd term to use here.
It takes a lot of setup and resources... And is very potent. If just call that a good play.
One of the first times I pulled it off... Instead of charging the...
To be clear. Neither of your two proposed outcomes are correct.
Critical Blow does not cause 6s to be considered two successes. Nor does it cause "an extra hit"... 6s result in precisely two hits.
If you play "Mighty Enhancement" on a Builder Scorpion Crew ranged attack, you would end up rolling 3 attack dice with the following effective results (getting to reroll anything you don't like, of...
Lester,
Just because it seems as if the choice is easy... Doesn't mean it is.
Yes, if you are getting attacked by one unit that has "cut them down", and you failed your panic check and rolled...
This is a very confusing thread.
Lester, you seem to be asking how you wish it did function.
This is a venue to clarify rules as they are, not to brainstorm over ways to make rules better.
...
It could use better wording, but the rulebook does cover this on page 15.
It says that a unit engaged with only 1 enemy may change facing. Then in bold that no unit engaged with multiple units may...
How does the process work for activating an Influence NCU twice in one round?
For example.
Jeor has been played and influences unit A. Jeor is then removed from the Tactics Board, by use of...
I hope this doesn't sound too insensitive. In my personal life, I try to be as multilingual as possible.
But an issue with languages isn't what makes an FAQ. We want to avoid large and convoluted...
Nope. "After" means "after", not "before". So after the attack has been resolved, (but before the Surge Forth).
Just going by the text on the cards, the Bear is not part of Jarl's unit, therefore the Bear would deploy in the regular friendly deployment zone. Jarl's unit would deploy in short range of a flank....
No, only Tactics cards and Orders get taken into account with Timing Conflicts (and only with each other, i.e. doesn't limit anything else).
Yes. In this forum.
http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?67285-Greatjon-(-Fierce-Bannrman-)-and-Critical-blow&highlight=Critical
Good eye.
Yes. The back of the book is wrong.
Dean linked it in the 6th post.
http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?67777-Jaime-Ygritte-VS-Joffrey-Rickon
He said it in these forums.
Just saying. Shinall has said that only the FAQ and this forum are to be taken as official rulings. He did include this forum as official.
It's his podcast and other social media posts that should...
Nope. He actually argued the opposite.
Sorry to chime in as well.
But you mentioned that you are not aware of anything else that is "immune" to the Tactics board.
Ned's honour guard. They don't take panic checks. If you crown zap...
Let get straight what requires control and what takes occurs when claiming with regard to objectives.
Important note: Claiming occurs when a unit moves fully over the objective, regardless of...
https://asoiafbuilder.com/static/images/hb-renly-baratheon-tch.pnghttps://asoiafbuilder.com/static/images/nw-jon-snow-ls.png
It appears as if the New Objective Contesting Rules have given a buff...
Nope.
More letters.
A lot of us are looking forward to this being cleaned up in the next FAQ/Errata.
75180
It has previously been established that no viable target is needed to attempt a ranged attack and thus get to shift 2 inches. Ruling by Michael at the following link:
...
75166
http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/showthread.php?67413-When-does-quot-Hidden-Traps-quot-trigger
This has also been asked before with an official Ruling from Michael.
75165
Pivots are often incorporated as part of other moves.
This is in fact a little bit of "legacy wording". It used to actually be that the pivot as part of a charge action was NOT considered...
They are worth VP.
Having something in addition to nothing is still something.
If you were to somehow put them in an insignificant unit... they would still be worth VP.
There's only one way...
Agree with Alliser.
That's what "instead" means. The step isn't skipped or missed. It still happens, just with something else representing it. Example: "The inspector won't be coming today, I'll...
Combat units can claim objectives. Wolves are combat units.
(they die pretty easily)
"Simultaneously" no. You can't play two tactics cards "simultaneously". The real question is if this situation is simultaneous.
Unit gets attacked -> Unit gets destroyed -> trigger anything on...
Could it? The card says closest flank arc. It does not say closest available flank arc.
So the two book ending units, Harma would only get to charge the inside flank of them... Which is not...
It still must meet the requirements of the charge. One of those requirements is that there is space in the target arc. If they are PERFECTLY lined up... Then there is no space in the flank. They...
To add to what Alliser said. This also means that they don't have the same limits. So yes, you can use it multiple times in a round as long as properly triggered
This is a good, technical RAW question.
74678
Personally, I have been playing under the assumption that "Marking Deployment Zones" step also includes placing Objective Tokens which have a...
Roose Bolton's commander cards are clear examples of a requirement being stated before the desired effects. For reference.
Let us first look at this without Overrun to better organize the triggers of "destruction" and "after attack". This would be the series of events and triggers:
Mountain's Men destroy Stark unit ->...
All listed abilities under Lance are gained only on the charge.
Compare it to other units whose attack have Critical Blow and Sundering; such as Umber Berserkers and NW Sworn Brothers. Those...
Ser Baelish notes that this can make cover being wonky if not right up against it. I agree, but think that's good.
Remember, they also removed the effect of ignoring the cover if you are within...
LOS is determined by being able to draw an unbroken line from any point on your tray front to any point at all of the target (as opposed to measuring range is from the centre arrow).
Cover...
Yes.
But note, it is sometimes included in other moves.
It would only be the abilities of the targeted unit, ie. only the ones that appear on the right side of the unit card.
Note: this does not include abilities granted by Tactics cards or Vows, nor...
Can Osha's "Go Down Fighting" trigger when her unit's last rank is destroyed?
I find it very similar to the issue with "Last Stand" that is addressed in the following link:
...
You are correct. If you don't suffer any wounds you count as automatically passing the panic test and thus trigger anything that triggers off a passed panic/moral test.
Agree.
Competition wise it should be ruled a Stark Victory.
For fun sake and narrative play... Great story and as close to a tie as anyone can get.
When a defending unit (which is engaged with a Recruiter containing unit) loses models after failing defensive dice, would you consider those models lost due to an attack (Even though, granted, said...
Subsequent pdf prints after the first are coming out as per the image.
Also noticed you changed the format of the lists (less fits on the page now)
73928
Running LG G5 android v8.
New Errata.
Purple hyena. As much as a few of us were really pushing in the community that the rules ARE a certain way. Does not mean that is the best way for the rules to be. It is ultimately...
That's not an appreciable difference. They are both targeting a combat unit. The effect would specify attachment abilities if they were included.
Donal Noye was not part of the Kick starter. He is due out with Night's Watch Heroes 1. Releasing next month. The info was released on social media.
Don't see why not. Go for it. Makes thematic sense and everything.
I primarily play NW. So take this with a grain of salt. (But I know what has caused me a lot of trouble against Starks)
If you're going to have Greataxes, Bran, and Robb (Trackstar version) in a...
That's looking pretty good.
Hint about the Recruiter... His unit doesn't have to be the one causing the triggers to heal wounds. He just has to be engaged with said unit that is causing the...
There are things that I like about your list, but if the idea is maximum healing... there's a few things getting in the way on that list.
Primarily there's Roose. That's paying 3 points with the...
The essence of what I'm saying is that they trigger simultaneously. The active player must declare his intent to play a triggered effect, but the other player has no right to any more information...
Varys triggers when "NCU claims a zone".
This is an example I had yesterday. "Aemon will claim Horses, triggering his healing. Would you like to Varys that?" That's basically exactly the script...
Oh. Sorry. Just reread that.
It is not being misunderstood. And yes, in your image 2 the unit that is flush against the edge of the board would be stuck there. Good thing you know not to allow that to happen to your units.
I would also like to remind you (and anyone else) that the pivot as part of a charge action is not considered incorporated into the forward movement of the charge action. Specifically, there's the...
Correct as well. If all three are touching the token. The first that touched (the Mountain) is claiming it. The unit that kills the Mountain, as long as he is touching the token at that time, then...
Add the caveat that you are talking about a pivot that is incorporated with a move after it, and yes, you are correct.
For those specific game modes, the objectives are stationary and remain fixed in place on the ground. A unit may only claim it if its on it. If both the Mountain and Halberdiers are touching the...
Each vow is case by case based on the words. For Sword in the Darkness, (if you already control the sword tactics zone) then yes, you get both benefits. Playing the Tactics card you make the enemy...
Correct. Order: Counterattack is NOT an attack action, nor does it instruct to take a panic test. Therefore, no panic.
Option 1 is correct.
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/564448550566756391/571098661409390606/lannistercrossbowmen.png
https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs
This link is to all the latest documents pertinent to the game. We are currently at update V1.3 (the rulebook v1.2 is still valid as there were no rulebook updates...
Nope. You still get to use the cards.
Thematically you can think of this as the army is still an army with the flavour of that commander. Their training, the general plan of the battle. He may die...
Nope, the token has already been expended by that point. If you somehow generate another token on the unit by then, then you could expend that token.
I stand corrected. Once, in one caption of an image it refers to the change of direction during a melee as a pivot in a backwards manner.
Good eye.
Say you have Jon Snow and Ghost. And then you make your opponent's Jon Snow take the black. Can either Jon Snows Bond with your Ghost? Or is that limited only to your original Jon/Ghost pairing?
I...
No where in the rules does it say that changing facing is a pivot. So it does not follow the restrictions of a pivot.
Think of it however you like to picture it. Maybe each individual soldier is...
I would be careful using the words you are using.
I would NOT say that you can assume that if a card grants a token that the token may be spent during the effect of the card.
It is ALL based on...
Nothing against the game as is. Loving it.
But I definitely would appreciate a well thought out and balanced "skirmish mode".
On that demo video.
It's a promotional, demo video.
Listen to his podcast on running Demos. He's not about to bog it down with rule debates. Just let it play.
You'll also notice that he let...
After the entire Attack sequence is complete.
Awesome. You had me scared there. You were giving me visions of someone being engaged 50% to the left of someone's front edge with a unit that only had 2 models left in (positioned on the right)....
On NCU activation:
Page 22 of the rulebook. "Unlike a Combat Unit, when a Non-Combat Unit is activated, itonly has 1 action available to it: moving onto an empty zone of theTactics Board."
It...
On LoS:
It is only the tray that matters. The amount and placement of models in that tray does not matter.
I'm also troubled by your line "attacking from the front you hit the flank". If you...
An example that came up in one of my games.
We were playing Dance of Dragons. Early in the round he played Cersei's No Confidence on one of my units. Mid round, one of my units claimed Objective...
I'm thinking Coldhands won't be in NW Heroes 1. Just going by pattern so far, Hero boxes 1 and 2 of Stark and Lannister are without mounted sculpts that we know are planned to be released one day.
The pivots incorporated in the maneuver or march or charge or retreat for that matter, before or after are all part of the related move.
If you pivot during "surge forth" and opt not to translate...
From my understanding, "Errata" requires some form of change in the source material and intent of rules. "FAQ" is more.... this is how it was always intended.
I'll play Devil's Advocate on your Devil's Advocate.
If you make the argument that Traps can trigger once a unit moves into long range. Then you can imagine a scenario where a unit that wishes to...
This is mentioned because there are effects that cause hits. Such as counter-attack.
Effects that cause wounds would still outright cause wounds against a Giant.
Yes it's a card. I've seen a picture. Don't have it. It's fairly bland... Just says something about no coin beyond the wall.
Depends on the wording of the card.
But if it simply says within long range, then it's closest to closest, all the way around. Examples being Commander Ned and Commander Robb.
Also note; if it...
71128
P24 of V1.1
You align the attacker to 100% or 50%. If you can't, then align the defender. If that still can't... Then you get as close as you can. Version 1.1
Page 18, black box.
Sorry, not an official response... BUT... There has been an updated Game Modes document posted to the CMON site located https://asoiaf.cmon.com/docs.
It goes more into detail for walls. I'm not...
Great podcasts for sure.
Sworn Brothers are arguably the best per point unit in the game. Just a great stat line and Vows make them flexible.
Named abilities and effects can't stack.
Are vows considered named abilities or effects.
Ie. If, via the Watch Captain, I have two of the same vow. Would that cause twice the effect?
...
Does Lannister Intimidation effect Vows?
70378
Does Take the Black effectively heal one wound to the unit gaining the attachment?
Ie. Does the attachment get "added" or does it "replace" an existing model.
"Adding" brings up the awkward...
I would like to apologize for triggering Alliser... I kinda knew that was going to happen.
But at the same time. Would we be able to get an "official answer"... I'm a little more tactful than...
CMON,
Asking to get an official answer.
If Bran, or Robb for that matter, Take the Black as per the Night's Watch Tactics card, is there any effect on the Dire Wolves? Do they also join the...
When is the Official Release Date of Night's Watch? Specifically NW Starter, NW Ranger Hunters, NW Sworn Brothers, and NW Builder Scorpion Crew?
Originally, all four boxes were due out for 26 Oct....
Yes, TheGrinningWolf, that is exactly what I'm saying.
And the reference that you give is the exact description why. To excerpt your excerpt: "It is important to note, however, that they still...
To help in your thought process for your club.
Taking "wounds" is NOT what causes panic tests. Rather, it is when the rules explicitly state that a unit will make a panic test that a panic test...
So to apply it to your example.
The first flanking Stark unit would get the benefits.
The second, frontal attacking Stark unit would not get the benefits.
However, if the first Stark unit...
Reasoning by a rules perspective I would say can get dangerous as you start to include any other possibility of geometries. It's easier to just say one enemy, or multiple enemy.
Reasoning by a...
Ok. Speaking of movement issues.
Tell me. How is one unit, adjoined to another as I have picture, supposed to separate in a reasonable manner?
And no. Moving strictly forward for one...
So we covered pivoting as part of a charge. Got that. But how about pivoting as part of a regular maneuver.
Take this situation where Jon Snow and Greatjon are leading their units in an attack...