Question for any High Elf players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for any High Elf players.

Default Question for any High Elf players.

Are shields worthwhile?
    I\'m painting up an army I\'d someday like to play and considering the WYSIWYG, should I put shields on my spearmen and/or archers?

Since the spearmen would most likely see close combat, I think the extra defense the shield gets you would be worth it, point wise.

The archers, on the other hand, would be better served staying away from close combat. I don\'t think spending the extra points on shields would benefit them in the long run. Plus, if you need to count on the archers in hand to hand, you\'ve probably already lost....lol

OF course, I am just a novice at this game, not the surpreme tactician I\'m sure others are.

Although, I have NEVER lost a game of Warhammer.

Now, speaking just for the visual models sake, the spearmen would look naked without the shields, the archers would look goofy with them, unless you could strap them across their backs somehow.

So you think these guys look naked?

Default hmmm.

I stand (or sit) corrected.

Those do not look naked at all, except for the dancing bear. Is he bear naked?lol

Ok, for MODEL sake, I can see how a shield would end up hiding all your hard work there. They could have a shield with the peace sign or something to keep them in theme.

I still say they should have a shield for GAMING purposes....:]

This weekend I pulled out the book again and I see I had some things wrong.

Spearmen don\'t get a choice. They have a shield.

Archers don\'t get a choice. They don\'t have a shield.

Seaguard get the choice of shield or no shield. (seaguard are basically a combination of archer and spearman for slightly higher cost).

Archers get the choice of armor or no armor. As it doesn\'t affect the models I dont need an answer right now, but for gaming purposes is the armor worth the extra points?