Which hobbyist are you?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which hobbyist are you?

Default Which hobbyist are you?

Hi all,

Obviously most, if not all of us here have a similar hobby. We all are \'into\' miniatures.

There are so many aspects to this hobby, I was curious though, to know how you would \'label\' yourself?

Painter, sculptor, gamer, artist, professional, modeller,history buff, kid at heart, photographer....etc. etc.

I am sure many fall into several of the categories, but what comes to mind first?

I thought of making this a poll, but I was sure I would leave off several categories I had never considered.

I think of myself as a \'modeller\'. Dioramas with terrain features and figures are what I love the most about this hobby.

Which kind are you?

Painter, modeller, and much later gamer. I suppose \"compulsive collector\" should really come in first, but... :D

Well, professionally, i AM a photographer, so i take lots of photos of miniatures to begin with. But i think i\'m more of a painter/gamer. i love painting the models, and i love playing, but i\'m TERRIBLE at them. i don\'t have a strategic bone in my body. As much as i like to play wargames, i suck at them....:( But i don\'t think my painting is too bad.

By night I am a mini painter, artist (well, published RPG cartographer anyhow) and gamer (board/card/RPG/PC). Also, definitely a kid at heart.

By day, on the other hand, I work for a marketing agency.

Coffin Dodger / Keymaster airhead's Avatar

Default Gamer

D&D came first. Used dominoes for walls and whatever we could find for figs.

Discovered lead minis. Found painting enjoyable. Not great, but adequite for play. (try to get better with each fig).

Free money is always a tossup between lead or game stuff.

I work to support my hobbies.

I am a gamer/painter.
    I list gamer first because I like it best. However, since I usually need an opponent for a game, I find I get to paint more than game (and not enough of either).