Painting masterclass

Thread: Painting masterclass

Default Painting masterclass

Hey all,

I\'ve been asked to run a painting masterclass in gw cheltenham on saturday - which is fine, but I wondered what you think I should concentrate on? It\'s invite only, so they\'ll all be able to basecoat/shade/highlight efficiently, though some recap of the basics wouldn\'t hurt. I\'m a lecturer by trade so I\'m not fussed about how to teach it, what I\'m interested in is if you have had experiences of such things and what you\'ve found useful, if you have any thoughts about good techniques to demo and support, or any other advice you can offer that might help.

Let me know what you think, I have the opportunity to really fire up some people for the hobby, it\'d be nice to do it well!

James

I guess it depends on your audience.... are they likely to be gamers looking to improve their painting for game models, or would be demon winners looking to do something really clever?

I guess that will determine what you try to teach, there\'s no point teaching NMM or wet blending to gamers who can\'t spend more than an hour or so on each model.

Ben

Since it\'s your trade, I won\'t go into the importance of planning out the event, but I will emphasize on the point of having them paint the same mini. They don\'t all need to use the same colors, but it\'ll be helpful for them to mesure how they progress during the class compared to you and their colleagues.

At least that\'s what I did for my wife\'s first painting lessons. I had her pick a mini that pleased her and I prepped the \"clones\" in advance (but you might want to have your students prep theirs as it\'s also a good learning exercice). This is what came out of her first painting lesson (hers on the left, mine on the right) :

Also, it can help if you have extra time to bring some of your other minis to show more advanced technics.

And finally, make sure there is good lighting ;).

Good luck and take pics to post back here ;).