My first mini ever!
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My first mini ever!

Default My first mini ever!

Well, hello! :)

I am new to painting minis. In fact, I have never painted a mini before...but now, after looking at all the great pictures and reading many articles here at CMON, I finally decided that I would try to paint some minis of my own!

I really admire the craftsmanship shown in many of the pics here and of course I won\'t reach even a modest level of quality at my first attempt, but I will try it nevertheless. ;)

But - for I don\'t have the money to buy minis and colours and learn only by trial and error - I thought I would humbly ask you, if you could help me in not screwing up too much. I read quite a bunch of tutorials and articles, as I said, but im trying to make as few errors as possible, therefore the request of your assistance. - Well! Less talk, I guess. What do I have?

I just bought a Space Marine Combat Squad box, the one with five regular marines in it, nothing fancy. I guessed a classic mini would be a good start before I get to painting something bigger (and more expensive).
    Apart from that, I have three brushes, which I think are quite fine quality, six colours (Chaos Black, Skull White, Ultramarine Blue, Graveyard Earth, Boltgun Metal and Blood Red) and one of these enormous Chaos Black primer spray cans. And a whole box full of Revell colours and plastic glue from my young days of building and painting 1:72 airplanes...

...so, where do I start? :o

I think I got it right that a good first step is washing the mini parts with dish soap and a toothbrush. Then I planned to get rid of mold lines and stuff. I did not buy a special knife, so I\'m cogitating a bit what to use as an alternative...any recommendations?

I guess I will have more questions after this, but maybe \'tis better to do this step by step?

I\'m looking forward to your answers and thanks to the guys who read all this text! ;):innocent: