The last crusader
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The last crusader

Default The last crusader

Hi all, I hope you are well. I am currently working on a 28mm crusader figure and was looking for advice on how to make the NMM gold and silver look more metallic, this is my first try at NMM (pretty much) so all ideas will be greatly appreciated. I have just started to weather his uniform as well, using a variety of glazes, to make it look really mucky lol. Cheers!

Sorry, I have just realised that you cannot really see the gold NMM in those pics, at all. I apologise about the quality of the pictures, its a dark day here in Dublin lol. I will post some more WIP photo\'s when I get chance. The gold is on his spear tip (hehe) and the bottom of his spear.

OK. I have flashed the chap now. I appreciate that these pics are also not great, but you can see some of the details a lot better. Cheers!

I think the NMM could use some kind of tint to make it shine dark blue/green maybe.

Seems like you are on the right track. I am no expert on the matter but in my opinion you need more contrast. Meaning much darker shading and much brighter high lights bringing them up to a pure white.

Great, thanks for the tips both of you. I shall revise and then repost lol lol

dont know much about metalics however i tried doing something simular on the leg pistons of the big termi and i just used stripes of various shades of mithril silver and bolt gun silver brightest colours in the middle then gradually getting slightly darker, it seemed to turn out ok to me, but be warned there are some serious experts out there!lol

Hi all, a quick update :

I had to build the fella a face helm as his face was quite miscast. I am not sure that it looks great, but I will add some weathering to it, so it looks less artificial. Thanks for watching!

looking good