How much overtime would you do?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How much overtime would you do?

Moved to the land of Oz in March of 2014. Interesting place, Kansas.
    Blog Entries

Default How much overtime would you do?

For the past couple of years I've been working 10am to midnight for at least 6-9 months of the year (when I haven't been having my knee replaced). I have the option to work 6am to midnight 7 days a week if I want but 10am to midnight 5 days a week is all can handle for long periods of time.

This, of course, nets me a pretty good living. I'm making more than twice my normal take home pay every 2 weeks and my bonus checks are around the same as 1 paycheck with over time added. I'm making what my ex and I were making combined before I left him. Obviously I'm doing it for the money.

My question is how much overtime would you do in your current job if you could set your own hours? None? 16 hours a day? Less than you work now? And why?
    We done done it now. We're finally hitched. We are now the dreaded two headed Roger - Liz - Bunting monster you have all feared.

I think that greatly depends on one's personality - there are those who live to work, and those who work to live. My father-in-law's a great example of the former - he's put heart and soul and everything into the family business for the past 50 years. My mother-in-law is forever complaining about how she wants to retire, but her husband won't let her ...

But I digress.

Personally, I work to live, even though I love my job. I used to put in 12 hour days, and think nothing of it. But after I got married, well, I leave quite promptly on the dot now, sometimes even earlier. Except when there's obvious pressing projects - financial year end close is like that, I get to put in 15 or 16 hour days while the bank closes its accounts and reports and the risk ratings come out. Don't get me started when it's time to report to the audit committee!