Stripping paint
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stripping paint

Default Stripping paint

Hey everyone. Fairly new here, and trying to absorb all the information and knowledge from you guys that I can (seeing how I'm like an Idol-contestant that has been told they're good, but once they face the jury things are different ;P) to improve my painting.

I can however only find three threads on stripping paint here, and since I wanted to reuse some old minis for practice rather than screwing up my nicer stuff collected through the years (mostly Reaper) I need some advice on stripping the paint from them. Any and all advice are welcome. I have no experience stripping paint whatsoever.

Best regards.
    On the other hand you have different fingers.

Quote Originally Posted by finnpalm
    I can however only find three threads on stripping paint here...
    What did you search for? I can remember more than three and there are a dozen or so in the Sticky Thread of much stickyness.

Einion

Coffin Dodger / Keymaster airhead's Avatar

short answer: It depends.

Metal minis are much more able to withstand caustic chemicals than plastic or resin minis.

Metal:
    Paint stripper (doh). Nitrocellulose based, very caustic, cannot be had in all locations, not suitable for use around young children.
    Oven Cleaner. Get the older smelly type, spray on, wait an hour or two, rinse in water. Toothbrush helps.
    Brake fluid. I've never had any luck with this one.
    Acetone: Similar to paint stripper.
    Simple Green. Soak overnight to a week and paint might come off.

Plastic minis...
    You'll have to get help from someone else....

Tools:
    Rubber gloves. Careful, some of the chemicals will eat the cheaper gloves, get the blue chemical ones.
    Toothbrush: Obviously not the one you are currently using. Use your soon-to-be ex's. Acetone, paint stripper and other chemicals may eat the bristles or the handle.