An Artist?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An Artist?

Default An Artist?

Just a few thoughts on being an artist.

Are we all artists? Whats the criteria? Do you have to get paid?

Im terrible at drawing by hand, but I'm a graphic artist of 20 years by profession, I can not paint a picture on paper or canvas but I'm not that bad at minis.

Are you an artist if you get a 9.5 but not a 3.5? Do you need to paint at all? Sculpting is art, so is doing conversions art?

Ive seen some great ideas on here, but sometimes they are poorly executed, but are the ideas art themselves?

If someone said to you "are you an artist?" would you say yes because you paint minis?

My first response would be no, but Im becoming to realise that I am an artist and Im bloody proud of it!

So to all you 9.9 people and all you 3.5 people, you are all artists and be proud of it!

Damn right

Lee (10 ball)

Graphic Artist (who can not draw)
    "we reach for the stars, forever looking to the heavens, our minds filled with wonder and the glory of the cosmic all; stretching the boundries of human knowledge and securing the solar system for the Human Species out there beyond the final frontier so one day our decendants will be as gods!
    You hold our hands so we don't blunder into things........and do the photo shop.
    "
    . Andyg

I find it easier to declare myself as 'an artist' when asked my profession but i don't think I'm an artist In general in the 'load of Pollocks' kind of way
    I can't draw either.

T

I'VE ADDED WEBCAM LESSONS NOW TOO!
    And a YOUTUBE channel
    Instagram and FaceBook too

hehe..good post 10! I used to be quite good at drawing but like most things - don't use it, you lose it. It would take a lot of practice for me to get back where I was in high school/college. I have zero talent for graphic arts. But I do call myself an artist.