Soak's WIP Thread

Thread: Soak's WIP Thread

Default Soak's WIP Thread

Hullo all! I'm a novice painter (read, first time touching a brush to a model) and I thought I'd keep a log of my work here, for ease of advice from my peers.

I'm starting an ork army for 40k, and have so far painted four test models. Four boyz, to be precise.

Here they are! They're Bad Moonz, as you can see. Not the best choice for a starting painter, I know, but the clan motif and ideology really speaks to me. That and I really like yellow on black. I've used Goblin Green for my skin, and the high contrast look has really grown on me. I know the yellow's a bit too clean and bright, might try slopping on a wash of sepia to mute things down a bit. Devlan Mud just made everything splotchy. Reconsidering the direction I took with the weapons, might do a predominantly black and yellow base detailed with metallic drybrushes for any following models. Need to work on that battle damage, too.

Better view of baldy in the back.

And that's my first set of boyz. Assembling 10 more shootas as of now, will upload as required. Thoughts on my color scheme will be most appreciated!

Hell! For first models youre off to a fantastic start Your placement for skin highlighting seems spot on, maybe try to smooth the transitions a bit with a tad thinner paint. Also pick out all the detail, the bolts on the helmets for a start. Adding that wash you mentioned may bring them out a bit and then a metalic, break up the solid yellow. Which brings me onto colour scheme, Id go for something less loud on the legs, brownish/khaki maybe. Even though theyre bad moon, theyre still orks, and I always got the impression theyd slap bright paint on their armour but not have the skills or care to dye theyre fabrics, especially not to uma in kill bill standards lol

Thats my thoughts anyway, though they wont much matter as at this rate ill be asking for your advice in a week or so

Kris