Trying to find the right colour/paints...

Thread: Trying to find the right colour/paints...

Default Trying to find the right colour/paints...

Hello~ I've been working on some models and while looking through other peoples work for a colour scheme ideas I stumbled upon this image

Name:  img4fcbb9b94e04c.jpg
Views: 186
Size:  170.1 KB
    How would I create that shade of brown? I can see the colours used in the recesses but the highlighted areas have such an odd colour I have no idea what paints to use. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

I am very new at this but I can't help but take a stab at it.

Maybe raw sienna with naples yellow?

It looks like a yellow-ish earth color; that's what I'm going on.

Reaper Miniatures has a program that gives you a guide to mixing the colors based on their paint line, not perfect but would give you a place to start. Its under the resource tab at www.reapermini.com.
    When in doubt, use a bigger hammer.

Quote Originally Posted by Isoulle
    How would I create that shade of brown? I can see the colours used in the recesses but the highlighted areas have such an odd colour I have no idea what paints to use. Any thoughts?
    Using what? 100 ways of getting to all sorts of colours, depending on what paints you have.

So instead of looking for specifics try to approach it generically: what kind of colour am I aiming for? Flow's pretty much on the money - most of what you're seeing are dull yellow-oranges, which you could call yellowish browns, with most of the shadowed areas being a little more reddish.

If you're new to mixing generally one of the first things to try to do is develop your eye, that way at least you'll be heading for the right colours when you mix instead of floundering about (everyone has had this experience early on). If you have PS or GIMP, sampling the colour around photos will give you a proper look at what hue things are in the pic which is great training for your 'eye'.

Quote Originally Posted by contractor675