Another beginner camera purchase thread...

Thread: Another beginner camera purchase thread...

Newbie, please be gentle cbag71's Avatar

Default Another beginner camera purchase thread...

I have been painting for almost 20 years, and I have finally decided to get off my butt and put some time and money into learning how to take good photos of my miniatures. I've read several tutorials online, and downloaded the Felix Wedgewood tutorial from Miniature Mentor - but as I have never really worried about photography in the past (which is ironic, because I have been a photo retoucher for 20 years...) I am a bit over-whelmed. Obviously, getting a good camera is the place to start - and as I am learning, I would rather spend a bit more money now and get the right tool for the job, instead of getting a cheaper camera which is destined to be replaced in 6 months.

I am leaning towards the Nikon D3100 (http://www.henrys.com/61710-NIKON-D3...-SLR-BODY.aspx) but after reading several of the camera threads here, it appears most people use Canon camera's... is there any reason to choose Canon over Nikon? or another brand?

Also, I've read that a good 50mm f1.8 lens is where to start - I have been considering http://www.henrys.com/139-NIKON-50MM-1-8-AF-D.aspx - however, the D3100 also comes in a bundle with a DX AF-S 18-55 VR F3.5-5.6 Lens... would this lens be just as good as a 50mm prime lens?

Lastly, in the Miniature Mentor tutorial, the photographer recommends getting a 100mm Macro lens... which are shockingly expensive (I dont mind spending $500 to get camera equipment to take decent photos... I am a bit hesitant to spend over $1000 for something that is an add-on to my hobby). I've read that Sigma makes good, affordable lens, and they have this telephoto zoom lens with a macro feature (http://www.sigmaphoto.com/shop/70-30...otorized-nikon)... would this be as good as a 100mm prime macro lens?

Thanks!
    Chris