Feedback on my camera set-up?

Thread: Feedback on my camera set-up?

Default Feedback on my camera set-up?

Hey, guys. I'm totally new to both painting and taking photos of my models. I've been reading these forums for a couple of hours and talking to a professional photographer friend for several months about getting my models painted and photographed.

I wanted to get feedback from the Cool Mini Or Not community on my intended photography set-up.

At present, I'm using an old digital compact point-and-shoot Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZX1 that I got a few years back to take travelling with me. I don't have a light box or a tent and I'm using two different bulbs in a pair of £3.00 desktop lamps I bought from ASDA. I haven't got a tripod and I'm yet to work out whether I have a shutter delay on my camera. I'm shooting photos against a backdrop of some paper towels taped to my computer monitor.

These are my very first couple of photos of the very first miniature I've painted:

Name:  December Paint Comp. 01.2.jpg
Views: 284
Size:  145.7 KB

Name:  December Paint Comp. 02.1.jpg
Views: 273
Size:  136.1 KB

My plan at the moment is to invest in a light tent, some cheap daylight bulbs and a small table tripod. I'm about to start playing around with Photoshop Express Editor (any advice on settings for which would be gratefully received!). That should cost me less than £30 and hopefully give a marked improvement in my photos.

To complete my camera set-up, I had planned to save up and eventually buy a shiny digital SLR - possibly a Nikon D3100. However, it turns out my girlfriend - who currently lives in the US - has got a Canon EOS 500D, what I believe is a standard lens and what appears to be a shiny and upgraded lens. She doesn't use the camera at all and, prior to her moving to the UK in the summer, I'll be visiting her in the US in March - she's offered to give me the camera then to bring back with me.