What's your oldest mini?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's your oldest mini?

Default What's your oldest mini?

I thought I’d start another fun thread…

I started painting minis in High school, back in the early ‘80’s.
    My first ever mini was an Asgard lizard-cyclops thing (that I would love to have again, but it’s highly unlikely I’ll ever see another one).

But the oldest mini I actually still have was from that time period, a Citadel Broo in Chainmail.
    Not my finest work, but at least it wasn't like the ones some guy used to bring into the store to show off, seriously it looked like he sat 12 feet away and painted with brushes stuck to the ends of billiard cues, he was so proud too!

I never paint humans, ever, I just don’t see the point, so that Broo is about the only man-sized mini I have, and I use him as a scale reference to this day.

I’ll upload a picie soon, but…

What’s the oldest mini still in your possession?

Hmm, either the Rogue Trader era marines, or possibly the Grenadier monster box.
    Proud owner of a Cassar!

#1378/9460
    You are ranked 1351 out of 9441 artists.

Sadly, I grew up in an area devoid of game stores. I think the nearest was probably 250 miles away. We'd heard about D&D, but had no idea how to get our hands on the goods, much less minis.

So, Reaper's Learn To Paint Kits from 2006 are the oldest purchase I have.

That said, hit a doll house store (of all places!) and picked up a lot of old miniatures. Two of the flats I painted and put up in my gallery. Just did a Google search for them, and came up blank, but did find a lioness, elephant, and grass hut. They were all similar style bases, so I wonder now if it was a box set from long ago.
    "Reality, she's a mathematical bitch from hell.", MaxedOutMama
    Wanna be bored? Watch me twitter. --<>-- Still have neurons? Watch my YouTube channel on painting!
    Want to know when to fry your neurons? My painting twitter will announce the videos.