Nosebleeds WIPs
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nosebleeds WIPs

Default Nosebleeds WIPs

heya everyone.
    i've been lurking on on here for far too long now, too timid to put up my minis. it's time to bite the bullet and see what you guys think of my work in progress and how i can improve it. i am very new to painting and really want to improve my skills, and from all the awesome minis on these threads this seems like a great place to do that.

i am currently working on a piece for my mother's birthday, which is coming up soon, and i wanted to do something that would really push my skills. i decided to go for a mini called The Hunter. she is a very spunky character which has the same tough, no nonsense attitude as her. mum hasn't been the biggest supporter of this hobby, so i wanted to paint something for her that would really wow her socks off. i also want to practice some of the more complex techniques like NMM and freehand on this piece

i've started with putting the base shadow and highlight down, to show me where the light and shadow will fall. it's very basic and rough, but i will be coming in and smoothing everything up. i've started to place down some dark red for some of the hard to reach cloth areas and a dark blue everywhere that has a potential difficulty for me to get my brush into. for the skin highlights, i am going for a bluish highlight, and a warmer purple brown shadow. i don't want to put too much contrast into the face area, as i still want her to look young and slightly stylised.

Good start. Who makes the figure?
    Proud owner of a Cassar!

#1378/9460
    You are ranked 1351 out of 9441 artists.

nice you got your wip up claire, cant wait for some updates here looking good so far!

hey guys. thank you very much for the nice comments.
    as grefven said, she is Kabuki Model, and a very nice one too.