Starter Paint Pallete

Thread: Starter Paint Pallete

Default Starter Paint Pallete

Hi, I'm new to the hobby and looking to buy my first set of paints this weekend. I've spent the last week looking at the site and trying to absorb as much info as I can from here and the internet and might have fried my brain.

The reason I am looking to start painting miniatures is to pimp out my board games, such as Mansions of Madness, Arkham Horror, Last Night on Earth and Zombies. I'll probably start with zombies as there are lots of figures to practice with.

I found a great painting guide here, http://blog.gamesparadise.com.au/man...ainting-guide/ but a common problem I have found with guides are they are old, most refer to discontinued GW colours, and worst of all praise Devlin Mud which is no more. I wish I got into the hobby before that talent in a bottle disappeared. :-(

With my local GW being a scary place, and following advice here and from a few friends I am looking to get a set of Vallejo paints and brushes from the local indie games shop. The problem I have is trying to decide what paints to get. Reading a lot of the more advanced guides it seems like you need at least three shades of every colour, before worrying about inks, washes, shades, primers and finishes. And that's before taking into account I'm R/G colour blind and seem to have very poor colour memory.

Taking into account I'll be painting plastic, and aiming for normal humans plus zombies and Lovecraftian nightmares, what 10-20 colours would you suggest I get for my first projects?

3 shades for each color is pretty standard as you get a mid tone, a shadow, and a highlight. It's a little hard to pick out colors for someone else as the choices are usually project specific. But, I'd say you'd want something like:
    Basic Skintone, Light Flesh, and maybe Brown Rose for the shadow - that should cover most of your human skins