Rule question about trade
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Rule question about trade

  1. #1

    Default Rule question about trade

    If you use the trade action can you trade in both ways. Means can you receive and give items or can the trader only give items to another survivor?

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Abbath View Post
    If you use the trade action can you trade in both ways. Means can you receive and give items or can the trader only give items to another survivor?
    Yes.

    Also, both survivors get to rearrange their inventories after the trade (in fact, strictly speaking, the survivor initiating the trade is performing a 'rearrange inventory' action, not a 'trade' action (it's just that the 'rearrange inventory' action can include trading with another survivor in the same zone (and that that other survivor gets to 'rearrange inventory' for free)))
    In memoriam - the Tearful 107, May 6th 2012

    (banner by Joshua "Cornbread" Harris (AKA: Skittlebrau))

  3. #3

    Default

    I thought I remembered hearing something about to trade you also need an empty inventory spot. So if Survivor A gives Survivor B an item, Survivor B needs an empty spot to hold it. Then Survivor B can give Survivor A an item (who has an empty spot where the original trade item used to be). You can't have A and B trade simultaneously (ie both their inventories are full and the two items just swap places). As Scorpion said, once you've traded both survivors get a free rearrange inventory action.

    That's what I recall hearing... I don't remember if it was in the rulebook or a faq, so someone please correct me if I am mistaken.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bailey03 View Post
    I thought I remembered hearing something about to trade you also need an empty inventory spot. So if Survivor A gives Survivor B an item, Survivor B needs an empty spot to hold it. Then Survivor B can give Survivor A an item (who has an empty spot where the original trade item used to be). You can't have A and B trade simultaneously (ie both their inventories are full and the two items just swap places). As Scorpion said, once you've traded both survivors get a free rearrange inventory action.

    That's what I recall hearing... I don't remember if it was in the rulebook or a faq, so someone please correct me if I am mistaken.
    I've never seen that in the rulebook, FAQ, or anywhere else.

    Perhaps you're thinking of the situation with multi-part weapons (i.e. Molotov or Sniper Rifle), where you have to have space to put both items in your inventory before you combine them - so if you had the Gasoline and 4 other items, and you found Glass Bottles, you'd have to drop one of the other items, put Glass Bottles into your inventory, and only then could you create a Molotov.
    In memoriam - the Tearful 107, May 6th 2012

    (banner by Joshua "Cornbread" Harris (AKA: Skittlebrau))

  5. #5

    Default

    Page 11 of the online PDF states:

    At the cost of one Action, a Survivor can reorganize the
    cards in his inventory in any way he wishes. The Survivor
    can simultaneously exchange any number of cards with only
    one other Survivor currently in the same Zone. This other
    Survivor may reorganize his own inventory for free.
    I read this as Survivor A (the active survivor) can reorganize his Inventory as an action, and, if he chooses, can also trade 0-5 items to any one other survivor, Survivor B, in the same zone as him as long as both Survivors have inventory room available to handle the cards being traded (so neither Survivor A nor B can end up with more cards than he is capable of carrying at the end of the trade). Survivor B can trade 0-5 items back to Survivor A in exchange for Survivor A's cards, and may rearrange his inventory for free as well.

    I have played incorrectly up until now, forgetting that Survivor B can rearrange cards. This is a huge help, especially with the flashlight.

    The only concern I may have is that Survivor A can basically take items from another survivor without trading any cards from his own inventory for it, which seems odd to me, but then it's the exact same effect as if Survivor A just gave Survivor B his cards without taking any in return. Either way, an action is lost for the trade, and only 2 survivors will ever get to trade per trade action, so it really doesn't matter. In the end, you lose a potential move or combat action from the trade, so it must even itself out somehow.

    The wording may also be confusing because of "exchange," which to me involves a minimum number of 1 card per trading survivor, but that may just be semantics. It also says "any number of cards," so no cards is not omitted with rules as written. Rules as intended may imply each survivor needs at least 1 card to initiate a trade, but then you have the exception for a wounded survivor with no cards in his inventory that cannot "exchange" cards, but can still rearrange his wounded card, and simultaneously trade with another survivor as part of that rearrange action under the rules as written.....

    Hmm. Tricky rules wording, in my opinion. But, the game is about killing as many zombies as possible. I now understand how some might consider passing around the chainsaw in melee a bit "unthematic." Luckily, if it's a multiplayer game, it requires 2 people to agree on the trade. Single player, I'd say on some scenarios you almost need that kind of help especially early in the game.

    I'll have to try it out and see how it feels.

    ~iPaint

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->