Teaching myself to sculpt

Thread: Teaching myself to sculpt

Default Teaching myself to sculpt

I've been a mini painter on and off for about 15 years, and have always been a pretty creative person so I decided to turn my hand to sculpting to see what I could achieve. Before this my only attempts at pushing putty were gap filling and fixing "bodged" details from miscasts or overzealous filing.

I've followed the sculpt-along threads for a while here, and am constantly in amazement at the greens posted both there and in the gallery. So I've come here with my first attempt at sculpting to get some constructive criticism and advice from you guys!

The material I've chosen is Sculpey for the simple fact that you can keep fudging with it at long as you like, and bake it in sections to protect the work you've done once happy with it. I've also gone with 54mm(ish) as my scale.

Sooo... As a huge doctor who fan I've decided to attempt a Weeping Angel as my first sculpt, as that gets me heavy cloth, human anatomy and wings all in one bag. The expression I'm going for on it's face is worry (I'm slightly concerned that it looks happy). The main issue I have with this currently is that I started the knee a little too low, which is an issue I've been having a lot when making armatures. This sculpt is currently about 6 or 7 hours in.

Name:  body-shot.jpg
Views: 246
Size:  39.9 KB

I made two attempts at the head so far, the first was a disaster it was out of scale and the features were just plain odd. So that got cut off and an hour later we're at head 2, which I'm happier with but I'm struggling with the lower eyelids. I have no idea how professionals manage to get them looking right! I'm hoping that when they're on they held it look less happy and more worried.

Name:  head-attempts.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  46.9 KB