New Shael Han Card Discussion!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 53

Thread: New Shael Han Card Discussion!

  1. #1

    Default New Shael Han Card Discussion!

    Post your discussions about the newly revamped cards here.

    See something you love?

    See something you hate?

    Either way, let us know here and talk it over with other faction fans!

    http://wrathofkings.com/ks/rules/house-of-shael-han/

  2. #2

    Default

    I'm really digging the new layout! I have a question about Enlightenment. In a combined activation, if some models are within range to gain an insight and some aren't, how does that work? They all have to choose an identical insight, but some don't have access to that insight.

  3. #3

    Default

    The ones outside would not gain the benefits of that Insight (but would not prevent the ones that can from getting it). If one is selected, all eligible ones must choose the same one.

  4. #4

    Default

    Really like the way Enlightenment reads. Now to get some table time to test it out.

  5. #5

    Default

    The faction in most need of a revamp has really got it from what I can see. Legionnaires are still mediocre in terms of stats, but the much-improved way Enlightenment works will, I think, make the faction function as it is supposed to. i.e. generalists with impressive flexibility rather than the specialist offensive /defensive / denial / speed freek styles elsewhere. Oh, has anyone found out what Guard does? I can't find it (assuming it will be in the new version of the rules) and think the general effectiveness of Legionnaires might depend a lot of what this does with the Keeper.

    I don't know if the Wrath are going to be great. They have some rules which look like they might be hard to proc in practice but I'll reserve judgement until I've seen them on the table.

    Still not 100% on the Dragon. Mr Chompy is still not all that chompy I think. Having said that, I guess it exemplifies the army by having a solid melee and ranged attack, plus having some good support buffs. Not going to win battles on his own (even if he looks like he should!) but maybe his Insights will let him make the first strike then support the chaff infantry as they flood in to back him up?

    I want to get them on the table to try them out but I really feel like they are in a good place right now.

    Oh, and BTW - the Deathbloom is flipping amazing. Fast, impossible to tie down, with some good Insights and solid innate offensive abilities.

  6. #6

    Default

    Do the insights stack?

    For example, the Fulung Devourers have the Offensive Insight Setting Sun Strike, as they have enlightenment 2, can they pick it twice for Critical Blow (+2)?

  7. #7

    Default

    Guard should be defined on the Keepers card, we'll get it fixed:

    Guard(x):Replace(X) lowest Strike(s) on this model’s defense chart with Parry.

    The Dragon is by far one of my favorite game changers.

    An Insight can only be applied once.

    Throne of Angels

    Are you WATCHING?

    AKA - AngelicOne

  8. #8
    Senior Member blkdymnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Shelton, Washington, United States
    Posts
    143
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    I'm normally extremely good at getting complex rules, but Enlightenments and Insights are going completely over my head.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blkdymnd View Post
    I'm normally extremely good at getting complex rules, but Enlightenments and Insights are going completely over my head.
    When a model with Enlightenment activates, if it is within range of a model with an Offensive Insight, it may apply that ability to it's activation. If a model is the target of an attack and has Enlightenment and is within range of a model with a Defensive Insight, it may apply that ability to it's defensive state.
    Throne of Angels

    Are you WATCHING?

    AKA - AngelicOne

  10. #10

    Default

    I had a similar question about enlightenments. What does the number mean? i.e. Enlightenment(2). Does this mean the model can benefit from 2 insights? Would really appreciate an in-depth example.

    Thanks!

  11. #11
    Senior Member blkdymnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Shelton, Washington, United States
    Posts
    143
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    So if a Dragon Legionairre is within 6" of Deathbloom, it could gain Stalker for just being within 6", correct? Does Deathbloom benefit from her own Insights?

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elin View Post
    I had a similar question about enlightenments. What does the number mean? i.e. Enlightenment(2). Does this mean the model can benefit from 2 insights? Would really appreciate an in-depth example.

    Thanks!
    Hi Elin,

    Yes a model with Enlightenment(2) can benefit from two different Enlightenments.

    To give an example:

    I have a Dragon Legionnaire that is within 6" of a Dragon Legion Keeper and a Big Sister and I engage a pair of Deepmen Spearmen. During my activation with this model I can apply the [Offensive Insight] Mind's Eye Strike from the Big Sister which allows me Precision(1) if I am in contact with two or more enemy models. I kill one of these models, leaving my Legionnaire engaged with one Spearman. During my opponents activation he activates the Spearman that is still engaged with my Legionnaire. My Legionnaire is still within 6" of my Dragon Legion Keeper so I apply the [Defensive Insight] Diamond Wall Stance to him. I am not however in contact with a friendly model, so the Guard(1) bonus that it would grant me does not apply.

    If I swap out the Legionnaire for the Fulung Devourer who has Enlightenment(2) not only would I apply the Big Sister's Offensive Insight, but I can also apply the Fulung's [Offensive Insight] Setting Sun Strike also. The same would apply with the [Defensive Insight] Radiance of Dawn Stance and the [Defensive Insight] Diamond Wall Stance. As long as I am within the range of an Insight I can apply 2 different insights including the one the model itself generates.

    Does that help?
    Throne of Angels

    Are you WATCHING?

    AKA - AngelicOne

  13. #13

    Default

    Yes, that makes so much more sense. Thanks!

    Is it correct to say that for a model with Enlightenment(1), you can use the enlightenment for an offensive insight when attacking, and another when an attack is being resolved against it? Wasn't sure if this was the case, or if once you choose an offensive insight, your enlightenment is 'used up' until the model's next activation.

    Also, to take your Big Sister example further, let's say we're activating a Big Sister within 6" of a Death Bloom, and also a Dragon Legion Keeper:

    Since it has Enlightenment(1), when attacking (assuming I stay within 6" of the Death Bloom), I would be able to benefit from both Mind's Eye Strike (an offensive insight on the Big Sister's card), and Blessing of the Celestial Winds?

    And after its activation, assuming the Big Sister stays within 6" of the Dragon Legion Keeper, it would be able to benefit from Diamond Wall Stance?

    Thanks again!

  14. #14
    Senior Member blkdymnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Shelton, Washington, United States
    Posts
    143
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Probably a silly question, but that's why I'm here

    Deathbloom - Feint and sweep. Sweep counts as one attack and not 1-3 attacks, so you could only feint against one model and not 1-3 models, correct?

  15. #15

    Default

    @Elin - you are correct on the application of enlightenments, you can use an offensive enlightenment and then a defensive enlightenment whenever it is applicable (so if your model were the target of different attack actions). For the Big Sister, she would have to choose which one to apply, she only gets the effect of a single offensive insight, she can use her's or the Deathblooms, but not both, and yes she would benefit from the Diamond Wall Stance if she is within range.

    @blkdymnd - Feint is a weapon ability and since Feint alters the chart of a defender, you would apply it to all targets she attacks.
    Throne of Angels

    Are you WATCHING?

    AKA - AngelicOne

  16. #16
    Senior Member blkdymnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Shelton, Washington, United States
    Posts
    143
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Thanks Derek, my Shael Han buddy is really going to like that.

  17. #17

    Default

    And thank you guys for the support!
    Throne of Angels

    Are you WATCHING?

    AKA - AngelicOne

  18. #18

    Default

    Looking at the cards, the Fulung is a Rank 3 Monster, now.
    Is it a typo?
    Because all other monsters are still Rank 2.
    If they are Rank 3, Is it still possible to field four of them into battle?

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Teskal View Post
    Looking at the cards, the Fulung is a Rank 3 Monster, now.
    Is it a typo?
    Because all other monsters are still Rank 2.
    If they are Rank 3, Is it still possible to field four of them into battle?

    That is indeed a typo and has been logged, we'll get that corrected asap! Thanks!

  20. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Mr. Black View Post
    That is indeed a typo and has been logged, we'll get that corrected asap! Thanks!
    Thanks for the fast answer, someone posted it in the comments of the KS project and my hope to get here a faster answer was fullfilled. :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->