Steam Crow's Painted Rivets

Thread: Steam Crow's Painted Rivets

Red face Steam Crow's Painted Rivets

I've been watching a bunch of films about WWI, which influenced me to make my Rivets nice and dirty-like.

I figure that this unit has been woefully underfunded; when new soldiers arrive, they just hand them used helmets and equipment... and it's all shoddy. Nobody has time to clean this gear, and there's really no reason anyway.

Name:  IMG_4208.jpg
Views: 1238
Size:  181.4 KB

I'm not an expert painter, but I tried my best. I have to admit, this has been a big project!

Name:  IMG_4213.jpg
Views: 716
Size:  173.6 KB

The more I painted these guys, the dirtier they got.

Name:  IMG_4215.jpg
Views: 1055
Size:  155.5 KB

I carved in bullet holes, chips, and other damage into some of these troopers.

Name:  IMG_4219.jpg
Views: 658
Size:  244.7 KB

I had a mishap with a wash that I put on in the end; it ended up creating this chalky residue where it pooled. I tried to remove it, but you can see it in some spots.

Name:  IMG_4231.jpg
Views: 594
Size:  142.7 KB

These cycles were a big challenge for me to paint. Though I've been painting for years and years, I'm not terribly skilled. (Should be much better since I started in the 80's.) But, these are for tabletop fun, seen at a distance of 2 feet - so that's just fine.

Name:  IMG_4236.jpg
Views: 635
Size:  179.8 KB

The damn dirty rogues! The lighting in our game room isn't this bright, so I had to exaggerate just a little.

Name:  IMG_4237.jpg
Views: 582
Size:  182.5 KB

I debated whether or not to texture the bases, but I'm glad that I did so that they blended in with the trench table a bit better. Used the same paints for the earth.

Name:  IMG_4238.jpg
Views: 573
Size:  159.8 KB