overload
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: overload

  1. #1

    Default overload

    When you play cards with a star that are less then +4 ie +2 does the upset card work on the face value or the new doubled number?

  2. #2

    Default

    Upset works on the card face value not the adjusted total. So if the Klockwerkers overload a +2 it is not upset.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcs1213 View Post
    Upset works on the card face value not the adjusted total. So if the Klockwerkers overload a +2 it is not upset.
    Are we sure this is correct? Overload doubles the value of the card, not the total. So, a +2 start becomes a +4, etc, right? I honestly thought Upset would work as a minor balance against Overload given how powerful it is.

  4. #4

    Default

    The balance for Overload is the damage it does to the Klockwerker who activated it. I understand where you are coming from but my understanding is Upset works on an energy card of +4 or higher. So the example of a +2 or +3 would not activate the Upset auto win by 3. Just like a stim pack does not activate the Upset ability.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcs1213 View Post
    The balance for Overload is the damage it does to the Klockwerker who activated it. I understand where you are coming from but my understanding is Upset works on an energy card of +4 or higher. So the example of a +2 or +3 would not activate the Upset auto win by 3. Just like a stim pack does not activate the Upset ability.
    2 things:

    1- If you have Hardy the damage is irrelevant

    2- Why is the wording different on Stimpack and Hardy then; just poor wording? Stimpack says it doubles the Total, while Overload says it doubles the Value, which is why I question it.

  6. #6

    Default

    Great use of Hardy btw.

    I still say the that Overloading does not trigger Upset. Now that I have the card in front of me and it comes down to semantics. Upset says "+4 or higher energy card or a dead card" while overload does double the value of the card it is still a +2 or + 3 energy card.

    TLDR: Bad/inconsistent wording.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcs1213 View Post
    Great use of Hardy btw.

    I still say the that Overloading does not trigger Upset. Now that I have the card in front of me and it comes down to semantics. Upset says "+4 or higher energy card or a dead card" while overload does double the value of the card it is still a +2 or + 3 energy card.

    TLDR: Bad/inconsistent wording.
    An I agree that the wording could be at fault; and likely is. Cthulhu has wording that might lead you to believe that you need to discard 1 card for each figure you want to prevent from being knocked down, but it was clarified otherwise, and just bad wording.

  8. #8

    Default

    I don't have the words in front of me but doesn't stim pack double the total (thus adding in all other bonuses) while the Overload ability only doubles the value of the card? Is that why they are worded differently? Or I could just be totally off...

  9. #9

    Default

    No, you're right, joshua. That is the differerence between Overload and Stimpack, one doubles the card, the other doubles your total. Upset is still only concerned with the actual printed value of the energy card played, and that does not change.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Loophole Master View Post
    No, you're right, joshua. That is the differerence between Overload and Stimpack, one doubles the card, the other doubles your total. Upset is still only concerned with the actual printed value of the energy card played, and that does not change.
    Thanks for making it clear that Upset only looks at the printed value. That's certainly one for the FAQ.

  11. #11

    Default

    Definitely missed the total vs value difference. We'd been applying Stim bonus to just the face value card and not the contest total. Good to know!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->