Rule question Nova Bolt
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Rule question Nova Bolt

  1. #1

    Default Rule question Nova Bolt

    Nova bolts ability "If this rolls any Crit, may target an additional Enemy close to the Target."

    Question does the second target also need Line of Site, or does it arc to whom ever you choose in the square next to it?

    Thanks in advance. Loving the game glad to have backed it.

    Jim

  2. #2

    Default

    I would say since it says 'may target an additional enemy' it needs to meet the requirement of both being a valid target and being close to the target. So I would argue you need LOS for the additional target.

    So if I couldn't target it with Novabolt, then I can't target it with the crit hit. I think that is reasonable.

    There are different effects which hit close enemies without the requirement for the targeting. Might be time for a community FAQ thread or something.

  3. #3

    Default

    I actually read it the opposite. I would consider it "splash damage", and you don't need to see the target for them to get caught in the explosion.

  4. #4

    Default

    And this is the family Dilema..... Both sides are seen... So We ask for a ruling! A clarification of the the valid target being as normal targeting rules or targeting by splash damage regardless of no line of sight.

  5. #5

    Default

    The only requisite for the extra target of Nova Bolt is that it be Close to the primary target.

  6. #6

    Default

    As worded currently on the card, I would agree this is more like splash damage with the only requirement being that the additional target is close.

  7. #7

    Default

    pg 18 of the rulebook, First section. even uses the Nova Bolt as example.

    yes, it acts as "splash damage", remember all targets hit suffer just the dice rolled once. The active player decides the order of who gets to defend first

  8. #8

    Default

    When you target multiple enemies with attacks (such as this, or with Cleave) do all the target Monsters get reaction attacks?

  9. #9

    Default

    I don't think you targeted the splash damage victim so I don't see a payback reaction. But great question

    Edit: Pg 20 of rulebook says only one monster gets payback. But once again that says if a group is targeted. I don't know is splash is a target. The example they give is cleave which is different.
    Last edited by Sannop2; 10-22-2014 at 10:17 AM. Reason: New read of rules

  10. #10

    Default

    From the rules: "If a Hero’s attack targets more than one Monster at once, only one of the targeted Monsters is activated; the player to the right chooses which one."

    And Nova Bolt says "If this rolls any Crit, may target an additional Enemy close to the Target."

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by donnbobhardy View Post
    From the rules: "If a Hero’s attack targets more than one Monster at once, only one of the targeted Monsters is activated; the player to the right chooses which one."

    And Nova Bolt says "If this rolls any Crit, may target an additional Enemy close to the Target."
    Thank you that is perfect. So if I happen to target 3 monsters, the player can choose one of the three to React.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by donnbobhardy View Post
    From the rules: "If a Hero’s attack targets more than one Monster at once, only one of the targeted Monsters is activated; the player to the right chooses which one."

    And Nova Bolt says "If this rolls any Crit, may target an additional Enemy close to the Target."

    Great catch!

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwcoleman73 View Post
    Nova bolts ability "If this rolls any Crit, may target an additional Enemy close to the Target."

    Question does the second target also need Line of Site, or does it arc to whom ever you choose in the square next to it?

    Thanks in advance. Loving the game glad to have backed it.

    Jim
    The rule states that you may target the additional model, and lets you know what the requirements to be met are (close).

    Rules on card trump rules in the book, so even if you don't have LOS, you can target that extra model.

    That's rules as written. Someone from CMON could errata this to be different, but I don't know why they would.

  14. #14

    Default

    In regards to the nova bolt "splash damage" if the splash damage is to hit a player can that player defend?

  15. #15

    Default

    Any target affected by the attack is able to defend. Monsters and heroes. Splash damage and original target.

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by odinsgrandson View Post

    Rules on card trump rules in the book

    Do they? While other games have explicit rules where 'Specific > general' or 'Card > Book', If nothing in the rulebook actually says that, you could also take the path of 'do no harm' which would require meeting all the rules on a subject, not just the most specific.

    Right now, I can't really see much guidance from the rulebook on how to apply rules in order or what wins on conflicting rules unless I missed something.

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrrrupp View Post
    Any target affected by the attack is able to defend. Monsters and heroes. Splash damage and original target.
    OK Great! Thank you.

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nkelsch View Post
    Do they? While other games have explicit rules where 'Specific > general' or 'Card > Book', If nothing in the rulebook actually says that, you could also take the path of 'do no harm' which would require meeting all the rules on a subject, not just the most specific.

    Right now, I can't really see much guidance from the rulebook on how to apply rules in order or what wins on conflicting rules unless I missed something.
    It's assumed because it's kind of a common thing in gaming. If a card says a ranged attack also targets an additional enemy, you are technically breaking the rules in the rulebook. The card takes precedence of the rulebook.

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrrrupp View Post
    It's assumed because it's kind of a common thing in gaming. If a card says a ranged attack also targets an additional enemy, you are technically breaking the rules in the rulebook. The card takes precedence of the rulebook.
    Not really... Targeting an additional enemy doesn't break the rules... but an additional enemy out of LOS potentially would. It is perfectly possible to target an additional enemy which is close to the target without breaking the rules for making a ranged attack. A lot of this is also driven by 'fluff' because peopel are assuming an explosion (hits nearby targets due to a splash) opposed to a flurry of bolts saturating an area (hitting nearby targets due to multiple bolts coming from the source via LOS). 'splash damage' is not a rule or a mechanic, so why is it referenced as such?

    So either the new 'rule' replaces the default rule, or expands the default rule and we have nothing clearly telling us how to expand. 'Do no harm' is just as valid as 'specefic > general'.

  20. #20

    Default

    @ nkelsch - Maybe that wasn't the best example, but there are tons of special rules on cards and characters that don't work if the rules in the book always take precedence.

    For example, if you have a Magic Melee attack that doesn't require you to be close to your target, that breaks the rules. Bowie's ability to move a second time during his activation breaks the rule that you only get one move, or Viktor's ability to make a second attack breaks the rules because each hero gets one attack.

    There are tons of examples of this, and the game ceases to function if we only let them happen when they don't break the core rules of the game.

    The card states that a close enemy can be targeted, therefore he can be targeted, just like Viktor's card says that he can attack a second time and that Seth's card states that the enemy does not roll defense dice against his magic attacks.
    Last edited by odinsgrandson; 10-29-2014 at 03:34 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->