Tyranid Hive tyrant First time painter WIP

Thread: Tyranid Hive tyrant First time painter WIP

Newbie, please be gentle Darkfenix's Avatar

Default Tyranid Hive tyrant First time painter WIP

Hello everyone,

I'm a first time painter and am looking for input and advice on how to improve my skills for my future models. I am posting pictures I've taken over the past 2-3 weeks as I've worked on my Hive tyrant. The final colour scheme is going to be a white/cream skin with dark blue carapace with some chitin highlights. For the weapon I'm leaning towards a pale flesh tone but I don't know how that will mesh with the dark chitin plates on top. Thoughts? I am also unsure of a colour to do the blades and hoofs. I was thinking of a dark blue again with similar highlights??? Any thoughts or comments are welcome both positive and negative.
    This first picture is just the model primed with chaos black from a range of about 1ft/30cm with light off and on spraying to get a thin coat. Total time so far is about 1hr for cutting parts off the frame, gluing with super glue and priming outside. If i could do it again I would not glue the legs to the torso as they became tougher to paint later on.

This picture shows the first base coat very roughly done with a plain white to make the next few layers brighter in contrast. It took about 1hr to do as I was trying to apply a thin layer so as to not clog the details.

After applying a second white base coat as seen on the left I went over it again with a cream colour as seen on the chest area. Again it was still messy and needed touch ups at this point. The second white coat plus the next two cream coats took about 2-2.5 hours to do since the model has a lot of little groves and the legs being attached didn't help.