Painting a snotling!

Thread: Painting a snotling!

Default Painting a snotling!

I'm new to mini painting. I want to get really good. I really like the gw style and want to try to copy it. Here I want to do high contrast edge highlighting as opposed to having a light source. It took me 4 hours to do that side of the face but a lot of that time is me figuring out how to use the paint. I notice that light colors are very chalky and need to be extremely thin to the point where the first application is not even visible. Also I notice that I have to soak out almost all the water or the paint runs everywhere. This guy is so small that I'm using paint on primer instead is spray primer so I don't obscure the details. I find that I enjoy the satisfaction of finishing a full shadow plus highlight and like to do only part of the mini in each sitting so that I don't have to wait days for the joy of seeing a finished paint job. All advice and critiques welcome. Also I'm starting w something extremely small so I don't get discouraged. My hero is dareen lantham head of evay metal. He says that his basic single figure minis take him 2-3 days of working 8 hours a day, so even though I'm new I want to focus on quality right fm the start and don't care how long it takes me to paint.

Oh oh also in just using three colors. Goblin green as base coat. Dark angles green as shadow and rotting flesh as highlight.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Welcome
    Nice smooth and tidy painting. The step from dark to midtone is a bit harsh, get a few glazes on to decrease the 'step'
    Keep posting!
    1. 'Painting is a companion with whom one may hope to walk a great part of life's journey.' W. Churchill
    Thank you for asking but I don't do commissions.

This is very cool,if you don't 2 brush blend the shadows and the highlights ,then Def agree with tel ball a few yellow green glazes will help unify the layering you've worked so hard to paint on.more posts bud ,your doing fantastik.