Sicks' humble WIP thread
Page 1 of 91 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Sicks' humble WIP thread

Default Sicks' humble WIP thread

so thought id brave it and make one of these threads, hopefully i can get some advice on how to improve and maybe get a nice visual guide to any improvements made over the coming weeks/months/years?

anyway, im currently working on this chap:

need some advice for the axe and the skin at the moment, while priming i thought he looked pretty badass/imposing with dark skin but im unsure if i need to bring up the highlights more, and also on the axe think i've overdone the shades a bit, i'm not too good at finding the placement for shade/highlight on metals yet, any advice would be appreciated , still a lot of work to do on him, theres tons of tiny details on the model that need to be done and some touch ups from brush slips etc.

edit: also is there a way to hide the attatchments panel from below? the resized images are more true to how he looks than the huge ones, the camera seems to fudge it a bit at that size
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by Sicks; 05-10-2015 at 11:18 AM.

Real good start. The highlights jump to much leaving a step between the colours. You can either layer the highlights in more colour stages or glaze back over to try and remove the 'step'.
    1. 'Painting is a companion with whom one may hope to walk a great part of life's journey.' W. Churchill
    Thank you for asking but I don't do commissions.

ive done a bit more work today, unfortunately the glorious sunshine outside has washed out the colour in the pic ive managed to get, but cant complain too much, it is sunny for a change after all, anyways, axe progress! (and some other details added)

GW nuln oil stains quite dark so ive been using my insane detail brush (army painter) to do it in tiny steps but i think this is an improvement