Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 278

Thread: Wrath of Kings Official FAQ

  1. #1

    Default Wrath of Kings Official FAQ

    Here are the links to the Official FAQ Document for Wrath of Kings:


    Errata and FAQ: http://wrathofkings.com/…/wp…/uploads/2015/05/WoKFAQ2015.pdf


    Errata and FAQ (Printer Friendly):
    http://wrathofkings.com/ks/wp-conten...FAQ2015_PF.pdf
    Senior Developer
    Dark Age, Massive Darkness, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Xenoshyft
    CMON Inc.

  2. #2

    Default

    Appreciate the FAQ

    Some interesting rulings, seems that (-) abilities of the same name do not stack with each other but can stack with another ability that does the same thing but has a different name. That will make play with pieces like Zaalaks, Ooroth and Hestra play a little differently

  3. #3

    Default

    The 2nd Goritsi question is saying the looming dreads don't stack, right? Not that Hestra doesn't get it twice if the force's using her training?

    The third question means Skorza can kill something, move 2" into another model, fail to kill it but can still sprint with an Alpha's inspire?
    Last edited by EvilDave; 05-17-2015 at 08:25 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    That is how I read the answers

  5. #5

    Default

    Two Skorza do a combined attack, kill the model and move 2" into contact with a new enemy. Can they combine attack it with their 1d10 attacks?

    A skorza kills a model, moves 2" into contact with a mew model that another Skorza is in contact with but hasn't attacked yet. Can they combine attack it?

    I'm assuming yes for the first (same combined attack) and no for the second (they weren't doing a combined attack when the first Skorza killed the first enemy).
    Last edited by EvilDave; 05-18-2015 at 10:58 PM.

  6. #6

    Default

    It is a no for each case. Combined attack is an action that gets declared, the Skorza ability to move and attack is a trigger and each one happens individually. So in both cases the Skorza would kill a figure then each Skorza that was part of the combined attack would move 2" and if they coome into contact with and enemy each would make an individual 1 die attack.

  7. #7

    Default

    But where is that specifically spelled out for the first example?

  8. #8

    Default

    No, in nether case could the models perform another Combined Attack. A Combined Attack is a very specific action the models are taking, the Inspire allows them to move and perform X attack, it does not say they may perform a Combined Attack or anything other than exactly what it says they may do.
    Senior Developer
    Dark Age, Massive Darkness, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Xenoshyft
    CMON Inc.

  9. #9

    Default

    How about the Deepman Kaxe's Inspire?

    3. Deepmen Kaxes

    Kaxes' Inspire : "The first time this model kills an enemy with Resonate this activation it may move up to 3” and perform 1 of its melee attacks."

    How does this work in combined activations? Is it all models participating in attack or only the model that actually deals the killing blow? What if more HP strikes are generated than the defending model has HP to absorb? (I mean the attack generates 3 HP but the model only has 2 HP).

    The rules say:

    "If any of the attacks selected for the Combined Attack had special abilities associated with them (Such as Offensive Expertise(x) or Sundering(x)), then these effects are applied to the Combined Attack as well."

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Mr. Black View Post
    No, in nether case could the models perform another Combined Attack. A Combined Attack is a very specific action the models are taking, the Inspire allows them to move and perform X attack, it does not say they may perform a Combined Attack or anything other than exactly what it says they may do.
    OK, it definitely needs a FAQ then.

    Brutal Savagery says I can perform a [1] d10 melee attack.

    As per combined attacks:
    The Skorza are already participating in a combined attack in the first scenario I listed.
    Their attacks are all the same type (melee)
    1 enemy model is being selected and each attacker can see it/is in range of it

  11. #11

    Default

    It really does not need a FAQ, the rules are straight forward. The Combined attack is defined, you make a combined attack, whatever happens after that is not part of the combined attack, and since you cannot take 2 actions a turn, you cannot make a second combined attack. There are no triggers in the game that allows for a second combined attack at this time.

    As for the Kaxes, during a combined attack, all models are making the attack, so if a model is killed by a combined attack, all models participating in that attack would get to use the inspire (move 3" and perform a melee attack)

    I don't understand the question about if more damage is generated than the model has HP. Once a model is dead, its dead, it doesn't matter how much additional damage you apply to it, its still just dead.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swan View Post
    As for the Kaxes, during a combined attack, all models are making the attack, so if a model is killed by a combined attack, all models participating in that attack would get to use the inspire (move 3" and perform a melee attack)
    Yeah, all the models that benefit from the Inspire move 3" and perform a melee attack, but is that separate melee attacks or another combined melee attack?

    Ignore that bit about extra damage. Can't remember what I was referring to when I wrote that.

  13. #13

    Default

    Just like the question about the Skorza, the extra attack are all individual attacks, not combined attacks. Triggers do not allow additional attacks to be combined attacks. In the future, there may be a trigger that does so, but at he moment, every attack triggered by an event (in this case, the death of a Resonated model) is an individual instance, and needs to be resolved individually

  14. #14

    Default

    Thanks, Swan. Very clear now.

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Swan View Post
    It really does not need a FAQ, the rules are straight forward. The Combined attack is defined, you make a combined attack, whatever happens after that is not part of the combined attack, and since you cannot take 2 actions a turn, you cannot make a second combined attack. There are no triggers in the game that allows for a second combined attack at this time.
    If they were as straight forward as you're saying we wouldn't be having this conversation and Chinkster wouldn't be asking a very similar question. Given that, a FAQ would help clear it up.

    Additional clarity is needed for what happens after a combined attack is resolved. Nothing in the rules is saying that the additional attacks a Skorza gets from Brutal Savagery should NOT be considered part of the combined attack. There's a paragraph explaining how special abilities are resolved, so there needs to be something similar for these kinds of effects. Otherwise, it's not too far of a logical jump to think "I can use special abilities with a combined attack, I must be able to use these effects as well".

    There's nothing saying that these additional effects are outside the unit's action.
    Last edited by EvilDave; 05-19-2015 at 02:22 PM.

  16. #16

    Default

    But there is a clear definition of what a combined attack is. The rules are also very clear that they tell you what you are allowed to do. If they do not state that you can make an additional combined attack, you cannot. This premise has been stated several times by CMoN. The issues generally come into play when, as you stated it, people decide "it's not too far of a logical jump to think...". Take the rules as they are written, do what is stated on the card, and you will be right in almost every case. The FAQ is there to explain those few times that this doesn't work (or in most cases in the FAQ, it explains why you should follow what is written, and not interpret the rules).



  17. #17

    Default

    I agree with Swan about the Skorza. The card clearly states that you get to make a 1die melee attack. Melee attacks and combined attacks have separate entries in the rule book, and are separate actions (even though they can function in similar ways):

    From the rulebook
    "Melee attacks function as described above, except that they may target multiple elements. When choosing a melee attack action, the attacker may assign dice among any number of legal targets."

    Nothing allowing combined attacks in that language.

    I agree about the logical assumptions causing a lot of the confusion. I know Im certainly guilty of it. I often have to re-read sections multiple times now to make sure Im just taking what is written.

    For the rest of the FAQ, I am pleased with the clarification on (-) abilities as I think it is likely to give other leaders in those factions more chances to command.

  18. #18

    Default

    I guess where the confusion lies is that a model only gets one action per activation. Brutal Savagery is effectively giving the model a bonus second action, but I'm trying to cram it into the combined attack.

    So put simply into ASCII art, where () is an activation, [] is a stage, and {} is a bonus stage that can potentially be triggered, it's this:

    ( [maneuver] [combined attack] {melee attack from Brutal Savagery} {sprint from Alpha's Inspire} )

    Not:

    ( [maneuver] [combined attack & melee attack from Brutal Savagery] {sprint from Alpha's Inspire} )

  19. #19

    Default

    Yeah I agree that is the root of the confusion. It becomes much clearer if instead of thinking of it as a bonus second action, to think of it as a separate free melee attack (with 1 die). Until this thread I had thought of combined attacks as being sort of interchangeable with other types of attacks but after re-reading with a rules as written mindset I made the distinction separating them.

  20. #20

    Default

    Just to confirm, Madam Mui's Unleashing the Storm:
    A: Unleashing the Soul Storm can only trigger once per model, not each time an Overpower result is generated.
    Are we talking about once per FRIENDLY model or once per ENEMY model? In other words Madam Mui can attack up to 6 times per activation, switching targets for each attack: can she only Unleash the Storm once per activation, or is it once per attack?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2016 CMON Inc.

-->