Wrath of Kings Official FAQ - Page 15
Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 5131415
Results 281 to 295 of 295

Thread: Wrath of Kings Official FAQ

  1. #281

    Default

    Thank you. Well... This is still sad that any model move up to X*4" inches from across the board because of how this works. It just helps to miraculously move your models across all board - in Kor's example (or Bloodchild/Greathorn/etc) it means moving very mean model from one flank to the other in no time at all.

    Is this realy how it suppose to work?

  2. #282

    Default

    Seems so, but you are constrained by having to move towards each disengaging model per increment. And your opponent will likely have an activation before the moved model can go. So you could just move towards your death.

    it's good, and there may be potential for abuse, but Im not sure its game-breaking. Id like to see examples of abuse though. If youre encountering that, it will help to know exactly what's happening.

  3. #283

    Default

    Well, I'll try to pull out something nasty with it and documentalise it with photos =)

    Just now I'm thinking somethig like:

    Skirmish. Elsis + Howl (Commander) + Masks + Greathorn + Bloodchild. On Elsis Inspire fastmove to the enemy and on knockbacks pull Greathorn and Bloodchild from behind the lines for the last two activations. Enemy would not be happy.

    Or it could help to quickly reposition Bloodchild and Shadowveils after delivering civilians. Or even to help them quicken themselves before final charge into enemy DZ - because they can go through enemy lines.
    Last edited by Laier Blackleaf; 12-12-2017 at 11:58 AM.

  4. #284

    Default

    Well, as I promised - a fieldtest were done.

    It wasn't game breaking in my opinion, and in opninion of my opponents. But to be truly honest - I weren't try to do something ridiculous and just tried to play in my advantage.

    All tests was on Patrol level.

    First three games with Greathorn, Howl and Hakar, seven Masks and five Ashmens. There was pretty long moves for Greathorn - for 8" and for 12" - making hime a much more mobile treat that lurked behind Masks front and ocasionly nuking specialists, leaders and unfortunate infantry.
    But much more useful were bonus moves for Masks combined with Howls Inspire - you no longer worry about one Mask breaking the line because her mate can follow her! And it was no less useful to move Ashmans i contact with enemy so the can (at last!) gain benefits from their Hakar Inspire!

    Two secong games were with same setup, but with two Longhorns instead of Greathorn. Why not give a try to a mass forced disengagement? So I did and it was glorious - so much control over enemy and so much battle-movement that eve Goritsi were awed. Also it really helped with Stad your Ground motivation when my Ashmens moved closer, so the could activate, Interact and dart back with markers on them for my opponent frustration, that was tarpitted by everlatching Masks.

    My conclusion - it is a good Trainig as it is. The movement shenanigans any way will not be able at first turns - because there is no contact with enemy at that points. And then it happening pretty ocasionly and in limited way - towards enemy, wich pretty comparable and even much less, the Goritsis mobility.
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Laier Blackleaf; 12-22-2017 at 06:35 PM.

  5. #285

    Default

    I have question about Bloodchild's attack - Elemental Blast.

    It says: "For each hit generated by this attack, this model may perform a [1] magic attack on an enemy within 3” of the target."

    Can I allocate all additional hits to the target itself? The taget is "enemy" and "within 3"" of itself.
    Last edited by Laier Blackleaf; 01-21-2018 at 06:04 AM.

  6. #286

    Default

    Question RE placing objectives: when placing a marker "anywhere in a deployment zone" (eg, Burn it Down), must it be COMPLETELY within that zone? Or can just the tiniest part be in.

    We played with Burn it down, and my opponent asked (it was his motivation). Nothing indicated it had to be completely in, so he placed two with just a sliver in the D deployment zone, hanging out into No Mans Land, and I placed 1 with just a sliver in D and the rest into my C to keep it as far back as possible.

    Just making sure we understand this right.

  7. #287

    Default

    We've always played it that objectives are completely within a DZ, as that's how you have to deploy models.

    @Laier - You can do that.

  8. #288

    Default

    Got my answers from Derek Osbourne on FB page (1 in regard of Howl's Training and 2 in regard Bloodchild's attack):

    "1. Yes any Nasier model in the force may move 4" towards that model. But bear in mind that this will only trigger once per enemy model, only one model gets to move 4".

    2. Yes you can allocate any amount of dice to the original target. An ability name is just a name, that's it, however Blast in this case would be the verb form 'to blow up or break apart'."
    Last edited by Laier Blackleaf; 01-28-2018 at 03:53 PM.

  9. #289

    Default

    And a bundle of joy for Goritsi's players. From FB (https://www.facebook.com/groups/WGCW...22435808450/):

    1. Can Mesmers do a Combined Will Attack and mix in "WHISPERS OF MADNESS" (to damage) and "ALLURING SEDUCTION" (to lure in models). And what exactly would happen assuming the enemy is 4" away?
    2. What response from Bloodchild's ability "Elemental Feedback" will be to a Combined Will attack (or just Will Attack on several dices) if say one dice does a hit and one missed? For example Night Mistress's "Horrific Visions" attack, that requires only one hit to be succesful.
    3. In Organized Pack #2 there is a card "Enhanced Trainig" that gives Goritsi's Leader ability to heal or wound enemy if in a Combined Activation "an active model killed an enemy this turn". How many times this ability would trigger if every model in Combined Activation kill two enemies each? (Only once for activation? Once for every active model? Once for every killed enemy?)

    Answers from Derek Osborne:

    1. "Yes - review the Combined Activation rules, specifically these: If any of the attacks selected for the Combined Attack had special abilities associated with them (Such as Offensive Expertise(x) or Sundering(x)), then these effects are applied to the Combined Attack as well. In the case of multiple models sharing the same ability (Offensive Expertise(1), for example), always apply the highest (x) value to the Combined Attack."



    (
    Pretty powerfull. Every dice in my second question becomes a "lure" and "attack" at the same time then. Good to know.)

    2. "
    If either dice comes up as a success (equals or exceeds a targets Willpower) is a successful attack.

    Same goes for the Night Mistress's Horric Visions. One die comes up as a success, the attack is successful. If both dice fail then the Bloodchild's Elemental Feedback would trigger."

    (And combined force of Mesmers can melt poor Bloodchild in no time with unlikely retribution. And even if failed - only one time, not for every failed dice!)

    3."It states your answer in the first sentence: 'If an active model kills an enemy this turn, this leader may make a Will Check (1)." The condition is whether or not an active model kills an enemy. It will trigger any time an active model kills an enemy regardless of the type of attack or activation."

  10. #290

    Default

    1. Yes, they can do a Combined Attack with both effects, and will succeed on 1 or more, well, Successes. Note, however, that each of these effects only checks to see if it Passed or Failed, you would not generate the effect for each Success. It's yes/no.

    2. In the event that all dice resulted in a Failure, each model that participated in the Attack would suffer the effects of Elemental Feedback.

    3. The effect checks only once to see if the trigger was met, e.g. the most it would allow to be healed per activation is 1 Wound.
    Designer and Senior Developer
    A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft

  11. #291

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paradox1 View Post
    Question RE placing objectives: when placing a marker "anywhere in a deployment zone" (eg, Burn it Down), must it be COMPLETELY within that zone? Or can just the tiniest part be in.

    We played with Burn it down, and my opponent asked (it was his motivation). Nothing indicated it had to be completely in, so he placed two with just a sliver in the D deployment zone, hanging out into No Mans Land, and I placed 1 with just a sliver in D and the rest into my C to keep it as far back as possible.

    Just making sure we understand this right.

    Objectives must be placed completely within their listed Deployment Zones, subject to the same rules as deploying models.
    Designer and Senior Developer
    A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft

  12. #292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Mr. Black View Post
    1. Yes, they can do a Combined Attack with both effects, and will succeed on 1 or more, well, Successes. Note, however, that each of these effects only checks to see if it Passed or Failed, you would not generate the effect for each Success. It's yes/no.

    2. In the event that all dice resulted in a Failure, each model that participated in the Attack would suffer the effects of Elemental Feedback.

    3. The effect checks only once to see if the trigger was met, e.g. the most it would allow to be healed per activation is 1 Wound.
    Mr. Black thank you for your attention. But please tell me what are official answer to my questions so I can adress it to my community (that counts almost 50 players by now!)? We should ignore answers from Derek? Maybe we all just could have new faq?

    And in regard to my questions to be clear:

    1. What if 4 Mesmers and one Night Misterss participate in combined attack. Mesmers chooses WHISPERS OF MADNESS (requires succes to deal 1 damage) and Misterss choose COME HITHER (For each success, force the target up to 3’’ towardthis model.). They cast 7 dices and for example they got 6 succesesses. What would happen?

    P.S.: And are my questions about Howl's Trainig maikng turbo-boosts and Bloodchild's "implosion" attack was answered right by others?!
    Last edited by Laier Blackleaf; 01-29-2018 at 01:56 PM.

  13. #293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Laier Blackleaf View Post
    Mr. Black thank you for your attention. But please tell me what are official answer to my questions so I can adress it to my community (that counts almost 50 players by now!)? We should ignore answers from Derek? Maybe we all just could have new faq?

    And in regard to my questions to be clear:

    1. What if 4 Mesmers and one Night Misterss participate in combined attack. Mesmers chooses WHISPERS OF MADNESS (requires succes to deal 1 damage) and Misterss choose COME HITHER (For each success, force the target up to 3’’ towardthis model.). They cast 7 dices and for example they got 6 succesesses. What would happen?

    P.S.: And are my questions about Howl's Trainig maikng turbo-boosts and Bloodchild's "implosion" attack was answered right by others?!
    Derek is no more an official answer to any questions than anyone else posting a response.

    1. The target would suffer 1 damage and be moved 3" per success, though in most cases anything above 3 successes would be superfluous as the range of he attack was 9" to begin with.

    2. Regards to the Howl, are you asking if there is a range? If so, no, any model can be moved.

    3. Models are always within range of their own effects, so yes, the target can be selected for the magic attacks.
    Designer and Senior Developer
    A Song of Ice and Fire, Dark Age, Rum & Bones, World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch, Wrath of Kings, Xenoshyft

  14. #294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Michael Shinall View Post
    Yes, his effect would prevent models from being moved in any way, this includes effects that would place them elsewhere.
    Is there no difference between place and move effects then?

  15. #295

    Default

    A few questions regarding Skorza:
    If a combined attack involves some (say, 3) Skorza Skirmishers and a Skorza Alpha and everyone uses a combined attack and kill an enemy:

    1) Can all 4 of them move 2" and attack? (The first time each turn this model kills an enemy with this attack it may move up to 2" and perform a [1] melee attack)
    1.1) Can this movement be made even if there are no valid targets to attack?

    2) Can all 4 of them sprint at the end of the activation ? (Inspire: If this model kills an enemy model it may Sprint at the end of its activation)

    If so, after if they all attack and kill someone in a combined activation they could potentially move 8" right after, correct?

    Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->