Total Novice Primer Issues

Thread: Total Novice Primer Issues

Default Total Novice Primer Issues

OK I want to preface this question with the statement that I am wholly new to mini painting. I just build my first Warhammer 40K minis and have primed them. My concern is that the paint feel like it is not going on as evenly as I had hoped even though I feel like I'm following all the directions i have seen on several "how to" videos. I am using a standard modeling primer that I have used on many larger models and never really had any issues but I feel like with the mini's the paint is covering up some of the finer details. I have 4 minis that I am working on and on two of them I have done a single coat and on the other two I have done two coats of primer. I feel like the single coat has more details but its not a solid white covering. The dual coat models have a perfect base primer appearance but it seems like some of the extreme definition is missing. Am I doing something wrong? Is this just part of painting mini's? I thought I might lose some definition but this feels wrong to me. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

if you are loosing definition after 2 coats you are applying it heavily, BUT it doesn't need to be uniform white and what's more it's not a problem if some of the deeper recesses are not primed at all.
    The first wash will settle there anyway and as noone touches those parts it won't flake off or anything.
    The most important imho is that most of the parts get some 'tooth' where the paint can get a grip, mostly important on the raised surfaces.

So my advice:
    - show a photo how they look
    - use only one coat. Should be enough. Hell, some here(for example Sproket) don't use any primer at all and paint wonderful pieces.
    Forgot, that it works again.