Starting a Mini company, what does it take? Thank you all in
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting a Mini company, what does it take? Thank you all in

Default Starting a Mini company, what does it take? Thank you all in

I'm generally a lurker here, browsing through the interesting posts that appear when I can during my work day. But I feel as many of you out there may feel, I eventually want to escape the daily rat race of traditional corporate employment. I've been developing game worlds (as an amateur) for many years and I have recently decided to bite the bullet and bring one to life using the medium of a miniature war game. Now I know that this may be a FAQ located somewhere on this very forum, but with the very specific focus on the miniature manufacturing company what are the steps to get started if you are serious (i.e. willing to seriously invest time and money) about getting your company up and running. If someone is willing take the time to break it down for me and others like me that would be awesome (and probably become an instant sticky)but by that same token if this resource already exists somewhere I would be just as grateful if you were to point me in the right direction.

I've just started doing this, and it appears that the steps are just about the same as any other company.

1. Identify a niche your models would fill, i.e. target audience.
    2. Test if there is demand; for example, running a survey or a pilot.
    3. Identify your suppliers - concept artists, sculptors, 3D printers, project managers, casters, etc.
    4. Have a clear vision of what you are trying to achieve, as well as on a per-model basis.
    5. Invest the money and have the models done up.
    6. Have a clear marketing and advertising strategy; word-of-mouth is seldom enough.
    7. Build a solid logistics chain - if a supplier drops out somewhere, your production is impacted.
    8. Go get them!

** DO NOT underestimate costs, especially shipping.