Painting a mini before full assembly or gluing to its base...

Thread: Painting a mini before full assembly or gluing to its base...

Default Painting a mini before full assembly or gluing to its base...

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to painting, but as I am not painting to game, I'm already interested in doing some more intricate designs on bases etc. Also, potentially painting some aspects of the mini prior to assembly (where an arm, or similar, would be so close to the body it prevents access to part of the body etc).

I've seen a few people post WIP pics where they have the mini connected to a cork or some other device for holding the mini, or head of the mini etc... and I wanted to ask how people do this?

My assumption is that they grab a cork, grab some wire, drill a small hole in the base of the mini's feet (or similar) and then push wire into a cork and into the drilled hole... is that correct? If so, are there any particular tips or tricks to be most effective with this?

Overall workflow guess... Best I can guess is that I should be blue-tacking the piece together to assess fits etc... Including feet to base... I can then glue whatever parts together that I wish to, then for any parts I don't want to glue yet, I can again blu-tack the model in place and base-coat. Once the base coat is dry, I can pull apart and paint. I figure that the blu-tack will leave the plastic exposed in relevant places (such as where the feet would connect on a base) that would allow me to paint around this and then, later, glue it together with the glue going directly to the exposed plastic for best meld.

I'd really appreciate anyone reading the above and telling me where I am off or any other tips/tricks etc of the best way to achieve this for minimal issues in the process.
    | Ghastly Awards Judge | Collects 1st Appearances & Classic Cover Comics | Newbie Painter |