Brood Masterminds and Defender Lineman question - Teknes Patrol List
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Brood Masterminds and Defender Lineman question - Teknes Patrol List

  1. #1

    Default Brood Masterminds and Defender Lineman question - Teknes Patrol List

    I find myself building a Teknes list and have a question: Does the Brood Mastermind training work in connection with the Defender Lineman rescue ability? The training, as written, does not require that the unit be engaged, just that it was engaged to start the turn.

    Quote Originally Posted by Addanii Brood Mastermind: Training
    This model’s melee attacks gain Precision(+1) against enemies that began the turn engaged with another friendly model.
    Quote Originally Posted by Defender Lineman: Rescue
    Target 1 engaged friendly model within 3”. Place that model in contact with this model. You may then place this model anywhere in contact with an enemy the friendly model was engaged with.
    Also, does Rescue count as disengaging (meaning the unit cannot engage an enemy again this turn)?

    Additionally, can an ABW count as their own "another friendly model" for the purposes of the ABM's Inspire:
    Quote Originally Posted by Addanii Brood Mastermind: Inspire
    This model’s melee attacks gain [+1]die and Backstab against enemies that began the turn engaged with another friendly model.
    For example, ABW starts the turn engaged with an enemy, is rescued by a linesman, re-engages the same enemy and now has access to Backstab?

    The List (courtesy of EvilDave's WoK Army Builder)
    1 x Addanii Brood Mastermind (Commander)
    3 x Addanii Brood Warriors
    1 x Defender Lineman Controller
    6 x Defender Lineman
    1 x Zaalak
    1 x Galvanic Defender

    NOTES:
    • The tactic is to leverage the above questions
    • I only have access to the year one models
    • I'm thinking of swapping both specialists for Taur (he's just too cool looking).


    Thoughts?

  2. #2

    Default

    Yes, the Addanii could be rescued on the Linemen's turn as the Lineman's action. They can then activate later and engage the same enemy as the Linemen and benefit from their Mastermind's training and inspire. You can't do it all in one activation, as Linemen and Addanii can't combine activate.

    Rescue doesn't count as disengaging. Your placing models, not moving them.

  3. #3

    Default

    Cool. I realize it couldn't happen on one activation (that would be borderline OP).

    The not disengaging and the bit about "another friendly model" were what had me worried about the combo.

    Now it's just a matter of countering someone coming after me with AoE attacks as I'll have to bunch up pretty badly...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->