Kuribo's Mansions of Madness WIP
Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Kuribo's Mansions of Madness WIP

Default Kuribo's Mansions of Madness WIP

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Cool Mini or Not and getting back into painting after a ten year hiatus. I've been playing Mansions of Madness Second Edition and was reminded how much fun painting minis can be. I love MoM and decided it would be way more fun to play with nicely painted minis. As you may know, these are not the greatest or most detailed minis but I have seen some painted well and I hope I can get them painted to a decent standard and improve my abilities along the way.

While I did paint Games Workshop stuff before, I did not learn proper techniques and used toothpicks more than a brush to create clean but simple paint jobs. I would say they almost looked cartoony because of this crazy painting method. I want to learn how to paint at a higher level than that and perhaps at some point I'll share some pictures of my old style (I still have most of my best work stashed away).

I hope that all of you good people can give me suggestions for how to improve and we can chart my progress here on this thread. With that goal in mind, I'm going to show off my early progress on the cultist mini. I'm batch painting five of these and I figure what better place to start than with the weakest villain in the game? In MoM's art, they are depicted as having plain black robes but I think that would make for a boring mini so I'm going with red and gray.

So far I only have base coats down and need to decide what color to paint the staff but with Agrax Earthshade in the mail, it won't be long before I get this mini looking better. I've never done a wash correctly so I'm hoping this will be one of the first new techniques I learn!

Since this is my first time taking pictures of minis, please let me know if the image is too large. It looks like it could be that way to me and I'm happy to lower the image resolution in the future