Octavian's 1st WIP
Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Octavian's 1st WIP

Default Octavian's 1st WIP

Hey all! I'm new to CMON and this is my first post (hopefully I don't screw it up). I have recently started painting again after a 12 year hiatus. I am trying to learn some new advanced techniques. The model below doesn't really reflect that yet but it's my first one in a long time so I'm still getting back into the swing of things.
    I'm trying for some NMM on the armor bits and on the sword. The armor I'm thinking of going for a bronze-ish feel and I started with a basecoat of 1:1 mix of RMS Leather Brown and Chestnut Gold. At this point idk if I should go for a wash and then highlight up from there? Or blend/glaze the shadows and highlights. Even after watching/reading so many tutorials on this subject I am still in need of some guidance. So, I thought what better place to get it than on CMON!
    Also, the sword is giving me trouble. Since it technically has three planes/faces, I'm not sure how to attack the brights and darks of the light reflecting off the blade. Any advice regarding that would be very much appreciated.

Name:  Boris Evil Fighter WIP.jpg
Views: 609
Size:  1.63 MB

Welcome to the site! You have a solid foundation. A little more work on the flesh will take this piece a long way.
    It's only a flesh wound!!!

Funnily enough I'm working on the skin right now. After basecoating the armor the skin seemed too orange. I thought I'd contrast it up a little and try got a paler, colder time. We'll see if this pays off lol

If you havent looked at painting buddhas videos on youtube that is a good place for great tutorials, the are high end painting, but you can always try some things from them and take with you while you grow in your painting.

https://www.youtube.com/user/paintingbuddha

/K
    work is boring when it gets in the way of my painting.