Canadian Cadian army

Thread: Canadian Cadian army

Newbie, please be gentle Caggles's Avatar

Default Canadian Cadian army

Hi all, I'm very new to painting, but I do have a voracious appetite for YouTube videos and tutorials.

Yes, I misheard Cadian. Yes, I then thought hell, why not make them Canadian.

I'm aware that I need to thin my paint even more - I am using 1 : 1 or 2 : 1 water to paint right now, but find if I put more water than that it just pools everywhere and the colour doesn't stay where I want it.

Glazing looks like something I ought to try, but we'll see how that goes!

Anyway, you're here to look at pretty pictures, not listen to me witter on, so here goes.

Name:  IMG_20161229_111636-800x600.jpg
Views: 561
Size:  77.2 KB

Name:  IMG_20161229_111628-800x600.jpg
Views: 503
Size:  79.8 KB

Name:  IMG_20161230_235009-800x600.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  87.6 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Generally pretty good for early efforts. Your highlighting is a little bit too... everywhere. It makes it hard to determine where the light source is that's causing them.
    There are some great OSL articles in the articles section that can help you with that.

When you're mixing your paint, you generally want it to be about the consistancy of milk. I find this seams to be at about the 2.5:1 ratio of water to paint, but this can vary
    with what kind of paints you use. Practice makes perfect, as they say.

Being a canuck, myself, I love the Canadian theme on them.

Keep on painting. We only get better, the more we do it.

Appreciate the comments, Naukhel.

Finished off the crewman to go with the lascannons today, and have tried (tried!) to keep the highlights consistent with an overhead light source.

Name:  IMG_20161231_163944-768x1024.jpg
Views: 207
Size:  137.8 KBName:  IMG_20161231_164045-1024x768.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  132.6 KBName:  IMG_20161231_164115-1024x768.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  134.3 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images