Question on Primers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on Primers

Wink Question on Primers

Hey everyone hope your having a great day. I had a quick question. I am new to painting miniatures and I noticed that it seems like that most primers are for airbrushing. Im not close to using an airbrush yet and I was wondering if you could use a paint brush and paint on the air brush primer or if that wouldn't work or if it could ruin a miniature? Any information would be greatly appreciated thank you all in advance.

It will not ruin a miniature. Worst case, soak figure in Simple Green for 24 hours, scrub with old tooth brush under hot water and start over.

I've used Vallejo airbrush polyurethane primer both by manual brush and air brush. It works better from an airbrush, but it works acceptably via manual brush as well. I like this primer on reaper bones, the hard resin Battle front uses for tanks, plastics, but not for metal models. You just don't don't want top brush on too much -- aim for a thin coat.

For metal models, I prefer flat black or flat white spray paint from a rattle/spray can.

The airbrush primers are quite thin and don't paint so well. Can you not use aerosol cans ? That will stick better being a solvent based product but you'd need to do it outside or in a garage or something as it will stink your house up real quick and that's not healthy.
    In the kingdom of the blind, the one eyed man is king.

Quote Originally Posted by eyeayen View Post
    The airbrush primers are quite thin and don't paint so well. Can you not use aerosol cans ? That will stick better being a solvent based product but you'd need to do it outside or in a garage or something as it will stink your house up real quick and that's not healthy.