Guawol's WIP Log
Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Guawol's WIP Log

Default Guawol's WIP Log

I just got an air brush and case of vallejo game air paints for Christmas which has drawn me back into painting again after a long break. I will be posting picture of projects I am working on, I am kind of jumping around doing multiple models at a time so the updates will be kind of random, depending on what I decided to work on. I have never used an air brush before so its definitely a new experience and any suggestions are always welcome, as well as any tips for photos and painting techniques.

Default Crashed Ultramarine Ship

Name:  Crashed Ultramarine Ship.jpg
Views: 522
Size:  91.5 KB
    Hopefully the pic gets bigger, I'm new to this thread so it will take sometime to learn the ins and outs. This crashed ship terrain is what I decided to use to test the air brush and begin learning the skills required to handle it. I use the air brush for the blue, silver, and gold parts of the model and did some minor brush work here and there on some of the smaller details. I have recently started dry brushing the ground around the ship and will post a photo of that later this evening.

Default Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon

Name:  Deathwing.jpg
Views: 505
Size:  111.3 KB
    This was a model I started a long time ago, but then got burnt out from painting and never finished it. Recently I did the last few touch ups and highlights to finish it. This was all done by brush no air brush work, especially as I am still trying to figure out the best way to use the air brush on models other than terrain and vehicles.

Hi Guawol. Your painting looks great so far.

With the airbrush, don't be tempted to use it too much on small models. I tend to use mine for priming and the main base coat, occasionally for a highlight on round surfaces like space marine shoulder pads. The Vallejo Air series is great but keep in mind you'll probably want to thin them down a little further.