Thread: The artistic/design split in WoK

Default The artistic/design split in WoK

Something that has bothered me ever since Rising Conflicts came out is that it seems the art direction seems to be splitting. One of the draws for me to WoK was the artwork and character designs. I love the initial artwork and concepts by Edouard Guiton. They are so unique and are positively dripping with character and life. However, lately more artists have been brought on to WoK. As an artist myself, I get needing more bandwidth in an art department, Guiton is busy on another project or what have you. What I don't understand is that the new art and models look like they belong to a conceptually different world than the WoK world. All the contributing artists are great and I appreciate the artwork produced for the books despite the jarring differences. To be clear, I am a fan of all kinds of art but I am a stickler for artistic continuity. The outcome that is perplexing, as I roughly stated above, is that now models in the WoK line don't look like they belong to the same game. I think the sculpts are great for what they are and I would never want to take that away from the artists. I just see a weird divide in artistic continuity and it leaves me kind of feeling blase' about the new minis. I love the game and I strongly believe it's a game that should be very popular and have a very strong footing in stores, but one of the major contributing factors of getting me into the game is going away. This game looked like nothing else on the table thanks to the crazy designs by Guiton, but now a lot of the identity is lost when the art direction changes so drastically.