The rules for the lvl 2 widowmaker bow are very unclear. If its played exactly how it says. For every hit you get to roll another dice. Which usually results in 15 to 20 hits before you run out. Is this right? Seems wrong a lvl 2 weapon can one shot anything in the game.

Or do just the intial rolled hits get re-rolls? Which would bring the damage down to a max of 4 (barring critical hits) which is still a good weapon but doesn't break the game?

Has there been any official clarification for this?