Cunning Ploy
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cunning Ploy

  1. #1

    Default Cunning Ploy

    Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  37.0 KB

    According to the Cunning Ploy card description, a player may choose to perform a bonus action with chosen unit instead of performing an action with the unit that was activated in the first place. In additional, originally activated unit gains an activation token.

    QUESTIONS:

    1) The unit which gains bonus action does not count as been activated? i.e will not trigger morale check from corpse pile in the feast for crows mission?

    2) Original unit (initial target of the card) "passes" his action (and gains activation token) to the previously activated unit - does it mean that (as example) if we target a cavalry unit with this card - unit still may perform a free maneuver action (unit passes his "main" action, but not free maneuver).
    To be more specific - trigger for Cunning Ploy "when friendly unit activates" and the trigger for free maneuver action is "at the start of units activation" = so it should be possible to perform a free maneuver BEFORE unit gains an activation token.

    To simplify the question - first cavalry passes his action to the second cavalry. Which one is allowed to perform a free maneuver action?

  2. #2

    Default

    1. Actions are not Activations.

    2a. Cavalry get a free Maneuver action before they take their "Activation" action.
    Initially I would have said "Yes, they get that free Maneuver action, and merely pass their "normal action"(and no, I did not think this is intention), BUT, reading Cunning Ploy, the text says "Instead of the unit performing an action...", which would encompass any action they would take, period (aka, if they're performing any action, they aren't meeting the criteria set forth by the card). So no, by wording of the card, Cavalry would not be able to perform their free Maneuver, nor would, a hypothetical example, a unit be able to perform any "free action" in similar circumstance.

    2b. If you targeted a Cavalry to gain an action with Cunning Ploy it would not get a free Maneuver, as that only triggers when they actually ​activate.

  3. #3

    Default

    Answer Q1: Just as they don't have to make a Moral check if you give them a bonus attack action when claiming the combat zone, they don't have to do it now either. But the unit who gets activated (read the trigger) they have to do the moral check.

    Q2) If the unactivated unit has a free action when activated (before or after) they still have it. If the second unit has a free action when activated, they don't get it.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thank you for answers!

    Guys, looks like we do require official answer on question 2 ?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericoze View Post
    Thank you for answers!

    Guys, looks like we do require official answer on question 2 ?
    Wouldn't hurt.

    So far (until clarified) I personally would play it like this:
    - The activating unit (that will not do its action this turn) will get all the benefits (or negative effects) of being the activated unit. So free maneuver if Cavalry, and so on.
    - The unit making the action this turn (that did not activate this turn, but will do the action) does not get the benefits (or negative effects) of being the activated unit. So no free maneuver if Cavalry, and so on.

  6. #6

    Default

    Does someone remember seeing official answer for this question?

    "Original unit (initial target of the card) "passes" his action (and gains activation token) to the previously activated unit - does it mean that (as example) if we target a cavalry unit with this card - unit still may perform a free maneuver action (unit passes his "main" action, but not free maneuver)."

  7. #7

    Default

    Can you please make link for official answer?

  8. #8

    Default

    Thanks to serbaelish, he found the official source, linking it here:

    http://www.coolminiornot.com/forums/...l=1#post883940

    Quote Originally Posted by CMON Michael Shinall View Post
    Cunning Ploy is played when the unit activates, this would be before any action is perfomed.

    The stipulation also says "instead of performing an action..." meaning if the unit performs any action it can no longer meet the criteria for the rest of the effect. This is not limited to Cavalry, though they would be the most common example of, essentially, sacrificing "multiple actions" to fulfill this card (if, for example, you had a unit that could for whatever reason perform multiple actions in the same turn).
    [...]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->