Post First Game Questions
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Post First Game Questions

  1. #1

    Default Post First Game Questions

    Hey all,

    Just had my first game of ASOIF using Starks Vs Lannisters and I have a few Questions based on the game

    1) If I use Robb Starks "Tactical Regroup" Card, can i elect not to do the retreat action and gain the D3 wounds?
    2) If I use the "Tactical Regroup" Card, Retreat yet fail to become unengaged, do I gain the D3 Wounds?
    3) Are the number of Tactics Cards in your hand limited to 3, of does taking the space on the board that lets you Draw 2 cards raise the cards above your "limit"?

    and finally are there any other beginner traps to be aware of?

    Cheers

  2. #2

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daboarder View Post
    Hey all,

    Just had my first game of ASOIF using Starks Vs Lannisters and I have a few Questions based on the game

    1) If I use Robb Starks "Tactical Regroup" Card, can i elect not to do the retreat action and gain the D3 wounds?
    2) If I use the "Tactical Regroup" Card, Retreat yet fail to become unengaged, do I gain the D3 Wounds?
    3) Are the number of Tactics Cards in your hand limited to 3, of does taking the space on the board that lets you Draw 2 cards raise the cards above your "limit"?

    and finally are there any other beginner traps to be aware of?

    Cheers
    #3 is an easy one, as it's covered in the "Clean-Up Phase" on page 8:

    There is no limit to the amount of Tactics cards a player may have in their hand, but they will only draw additional cards at the end of the round if their hand contains less than 3.

    I don't believe a question about Tactical Regroup has come up before, so I can't point to an official ruling. But reading the card as written, I believe you could get the d3 in either scenario. The card states you "may" make the free retreat, and doesn't specify that you "and then" restore the wounds.

    I'll note, however, that not taking the retreat would be denying the person playing the card its full benefit. Since this is a free retreat that the unit takes before their action, you're going to want to immediate re-charge into the enemy unit you disengaged from so you'll get the benefit of the charge bonus.
    "I did warn you not to trust me." -Littlefinger

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by serbaelish View Post
    #3 is an easy one, as it's covered in the "Clean-Up Phase" on page 8:

    There is no limit to the amount of Tactics cards a player may have in their hand, but they will only draw additional cards at the end of the round if their hand contains less than 3.

    I don't believe a question about Tactical Regroup has come up before, so I can't point to an official ruling. But reading the card as written, I believe you could get the d3 in either scenario. The card states you "may" make the free retreat, and doesn't specify that you "and then" restore the wounds.

    I'll note, however, that not taking the retreat would be denying the person playing the card its full benefit. Since this is a free retreat that the unit takes before their action, you're going to want to immediate re-charge into the enemy unit you disengaged from so you'll get the benefit of the charge bonus.
    Oh Id wanted to retreat, but my outriders were pinned entirely in a corner by a unit of halbedeers so....yeah....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Contact Us  |   The Legion


Copyright © 2001-2018 CMON Inc.

-->